Asta Gröting

May 1 – June 13, 2010



Curator: Marius Babias


Asta Gröting, n.b.k. installation view, 2010
Kartoffeln (Potatoes, 2006) and Käfig (Cage, 1995)
Photo: Jens Ziehe

Astra Gröting’s individual show at Neuer Berliner Kunstverein is the artist’s first international exhibition in Berlin. The exhibition emerged in cooperation with Lentos Kunstmuseum Linz, which until May 9 will be holding the largest solo show of work by the artist to date in Austria.

Gröting, born in 1961, now lives in Berlin and teaches at Hochschule der Künste in Braunschweig. She studied at Düsseldorf’s Kunstakademie under the influence of Joseph Beuys. Since the 1980s, her sculptures have enjoyed international recognition, and beginning in the 1990s her work expanded in terms of media use, now incorporating video and performance.

The exhibition at n.b.k. shows 15 recent works and thus points to a broad oeuvre. In her sculptures, the most varied materials are used, such as pearls, magnets, bronze, glass, cable, or motors. The work
Käfig (Cage, 1995) is a floating cube made of 2,000 glass pearls, which are hung on nylon threads. In so doing, despite a minimal use of material a large volume emerges. In Einen Funken Leidenschaft (A Spark of Passion, 2008), every few seconds a spark leaps between two cables that are installed in a 2cm large hole in the wall. Gröting’s sculptures combine what is apparently visible and the invisible, and explore human corporeality. Gröting understands this less individually, as in a field of tension between the self and the community. In her sculpture, she thus refers to various forms of subjectivation.

In the filmic block of works
The Inner Voice (1993-2004), Gröting developed a video series with ventriloquists around the world and select authors such as Tim Etchells and Deborah Levy. The dummy, in dialog with the ventriloquists and the audience, reflects the unsaid, the suppressed as well as the trivial. In the foreground of this series are everyday psycho-social acts as artistic material, contrasting with the materiality of the sculptures.

The live performance
Abbaya (2010) by Asta Gröting will take place daily from May 1 to June 13, except for Mondays, between 4 and 6 pm.


Asta Gröting,
The Inner Voice/ YOU´RE GOOD, 1999 / Photo: Asta Gröting


Program
Thursday, May 6, 2010
7pm Sculpture Today Discussion with Asta Gröting (artist and professor in sculpture, Berlin/Braunschweig) and Jan Hoet (artistic director, documenta 9 [1992], Brussels)
Moderation: André Rottmann (chief editor Texte zur Kunst, Berlin)

Thursday, May 20, 2010
7pm Exhibition talk with Sophie Goltz (communication/education n.b.k.)

Thursday, June 3, 2010
7pm Artist talk with Asta Gröting (artist) and Marius Babias (director n.b.k.)

Sunday, June 13, 2010
Summer Festival
from 5 pm Cooking performance with Hocine Bouhlou, Sebastian Stöhrer (artists, Frankfurt am Main)
from 7 pm Concert with Dirty Mirrors (Frank Lutz, John Miller, Greg Parma Smith, Aura Rosenberg, New York/Berlin)


An exhibition in cooperation with Lentos Art Museum Linz

The exhibition and program have been made possible with the financial support of:

Asta Gröting

1. Mai – 13. Juni 2010



Kurator: Marius Babias


Asta Gröting, n.b.k. Installationsansicht, 2010
Kartoffeln (2006) und Käfig (1995)
Foto: Jens Ziehe


Die Einzelausstellung von Asta Gröting (*1961) im Neuen Berliner Kunstverein ist die erste institutionelle Ausstellung der Künstlerin in Berlin. Die Ausstellung entstand in Kooperation mit dem Lentos Kunstmuseum Linz, das noch bis zum 9. Mai die größte Einzelausstellung der Künstlerin in Österreich ausrichtet.

Gröting lebt in Berlin und lehrt an der Hochschule der Künste in Braunschweig. Sie studierte an der Kunstakademie in Düsseldorf unter dem Einfluss von Joseph Beuys. Seit den 1980er Jahren sind ihre Skulpturen international anerkannt, ab den 1990er Jahren erweitert sich ihr Werk medial durch Video und Performances.

Die Ausstellung im n.b.k. zeigt 15 Arbeiten aus den letzten Jahren und verweist damit auf ein breites Oeuvre Grötings. In ihren Skulpturen kommen die unterschiedlichsten Materialien zur Anwendung wie Perlen, Magnete, Bronze, Glas, Porzellan, Kabel oder Motoren. Die Arbeit
Käfig (1995) ist ein schwebender Kubus aus 2.000 Glasperlen, die an Nylonschnüren aufgehängt sind. So entsteht trotz minimalen Materialeinsatz ein großes Volumen. In Einen Funken Leidenschaft (2008) springt alle paar Sekunden ein Zündfunken zwischen zwei Kabelenden, die in einem 2 cm großen Wandloch installiert sind. Grötings Skulpturen verbinden das scheinbar Sichtbare mit dem Unsichtbaren und thematisieren die menschliche Körperlichkeit. Gröting begreift diese weniger individuell, als vielmehr im Spannungsfeld zwischen Ich und Gemeinschaft. In ihren Skulpturen bezieht sie sich so auf verschiedene Formen der Subjektivierung.

Im filmischen Werkblock
The Inner Voice (1993-2004) entwickelt Gröting eine Videoserie mit BauchrednerInnen weltweit und ausgewählten AutorInnen wie Tim Etchells und Deborah Levy. Die von ihr geschaffene Puppe spiegelt im Dialog mit den BauchrednerInnnen und dem Publikum das Ungesagte, das Verdrängte sowie das Triviale. Im Vordergrund dieser Serie stehen alltägliche psycho-soziale Handlungen als künstlerisches Material – im Gegensatz zur Materialität der Skulpturen.

Die Live-Performance
Abbaya (2010) von Asta Gröting findet vom 1. Mai bis zum 13. Juni täglich, außer montags, zwischen 16 und 18 Uhr statt.


Asta Gröting,
The Inner Voice/ YOU´RE GOOD, 1999 / Foto: Asta Gröting

Publikation
Zur Ausstellung erscheint eine Publikation im Verlag der Buchhandlung Walther König, Köln.


Programm Kunstvermittlung

Donnerstag, 6. Mai 2010, 19 Uhr
Skulptur heute
Diskussion mit Asta Gröting (Künstlerin und Professorin für Bildhauerei, Berlin/Braunschweig) und Jan Hoet (Künstlerischer Leiter documenta 9 [1992], Brüssel)
Moderation: André Rottmann (Leitender Redakteur Texte zur Kunst, Berlin)

Donnerstag, 20. Mai 2010, 19 Uhr
Ausstellungsrundgang mit Sophie Goltz (Kommunikation/Kunstvermittlung n.b.k.)

Donnerstag, 3. Juni 2010, 19 Uhr
Ausstellungsgespräch mit Asta Gröting (Künstlerin) und Marius Babias (Direktor n.b.k.)

Sonntag, 13. Juni 2010, ab 17 Uhr
n.b.k. Sommerfest
Koch-Performance mit Hocine Bouhlou, Sebastian Stöhrer (Künstler, Frankfurt am Main)
Konzert mit Dirty Mirrors (Frank Lutz, John Miller, Greg Parma Smith, Aura Rosenberg, New York/Berlin)


Eine Ausstellung in Kooperation mit dem Lentos Kunstmuseum Linz

Ausstellung und Programm werden ermöglicht durch die finanzielle Förderung von: