Filipa César / Suleimane Biai
Regulado.

May 27 – July 25, 2014



Mobile cinema, Birbam, Guinea-Bissau, photo: Filipa César, 2014Filipa César / Suleimane Biai, Regulado, 2014, exhibition view Neuer Berliner Kunstverein, photo: Jens Ziehe
Filipa César, in her films and installations, explores the post-colonial constellations that were spawned by the recent history of Portugal. Since 2011, her research is focused on the film production in Guinea-Bissau, the beginnings of which were closely linked to the struggle for liberation. In February 2014, in Birbam, about three hours north of the capital Bissau, for the period of three weeks she has been documenting, together with the filmmaker Suleimane Biai, the construction of a house that will serve the surrounding villages as a meeting space. Alongside his work as a filmmaker, Suleimane Biai is the régulo in this region and hence has assumed the duties of the head and conciliator of the community. Regulado, an installation conceived for Neuer Berliner Kunstverein in cooperation with Arsenal - Institute for Film and Video Art, is named after the régulo’s scope of responsibility, usually an association of several villages. The installation results from a confrontation, which occurred in the course of shooting in Birbam and by which the cinematic action was called upon in unforeseen ways. Centered around two related videos, each of them shot in one take, the installation sketches relationships between various discursive and physical spaces, which intertwine within this encounter: the régulo’s scope of responsibilities and the staging space in front of the film camera, but also the assembly hall built off-scene, a mobile cinema in Birbam and the showroom in Berlin.

Curator: Tobias Hering

Suleimane Biai (b. 1968 in Farim, Guinea- Bissau) works as a director, producer and screenwriter at the Instituto Nacional do Cinema e Audiovisual in Bissau and since 2010, also as the régulo for the villages around his native town Farim. He studied film directing at the Escuela Internacional de Cine y Televisión in Cuba and alongside the realization of his own films and documentaries (including Djitu ten ku ten, 1997) worked as an assistant to Flora Gomes (including Pó di Sangui, 1995) and to Sana na N’Hada (Xime, 1993).

The works of
Filipa César (b. 1975 in Porto, living in Berlin) are consistently shown in solo and group exhibitions, biennials and festivals, including most recently: Kunstmuseum St. Gallen (2013); Jeu de Paume, Paris (2012); Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Berlin (2011); Manifesta 8, Cartagena (2010); 29th São Paulo Biennial (2010); 63rd Berlinale (2013); International Filmfestival Rotterdam (2013, 2010); Mudam Luxembourg (2012). Under the title Luta ca caba inda she has recently produced a number of works and presentation formats that deal with the lot of re-emerged film footage from the 1970s in the National Film Institute INCA in Bissau.

After
Cuba (2012), Regulado (2014) is Filipa César’s second collaboration with Suleimane Biai. The exhibition is part of the project Visionary Archive located at Arsenal - Institute for Film and Video Art. As part of this research project on African film archives, both filmmakers, together with Sana na N’Hada, organize a mobile laboratory on the film history of Guinea-Bissau under the title Von Boé nach Berlin (From Boé to Berlin). The central module of this project is a mobile cinema throughout Guinea-Bissau, where the recently re-emerged archive material shall be brought up to date, among other things, in the places of their origin.


Program

Sunday, May 25, 2014, 3 pm
Visionary Archive – It all depends #3:
From Boé to Berlin - A mobile laboratory on the film history of Guinea-Bissau

Presentation, film screening and artist talk with Suleimane Biai and Filipa César
Venue: Arsenal Cinema,
www.arsenal-berlin.de

Filipa César / Suleimane Biai
Regulado.

27. Mai – 25. Juli 2014



Mobiles Kino, Birbam, Guinea-Bissau, Foto: Filipa César, 2014Filipa César / Suleimane Biai, Regulado, 2014, Ausstellungsansicht Neuer Berliner Kunstverein, Foto: Jens Ziehe
Filipa César setzt sich in ihren Filmen und Installationen mit den post-kolonialen Konstellationen auseinander, die die jüngere Geschichte Portugals hervorgebracht hat. Seit 2011 gelten ihre Recherchen der Filmproduktion Guinea-Bissaus, deren Anfänge eng mit dem Befreiungskampf verknüpft waren. Im Februar 2014 hat sie gemeinsam mit dem Filmemacher Suleimane Biai in Birbam, etwa drei Stunden nördlich der Hauptstadt Bissau, drei Wochen lang den Bau eines Hauses dokumentiert, das den umliegenden Dörfern als Versammlungsraum dienen soll. Suleimane Biai ist neben seiner Arbeit als Filmemacher auch der régulo in dieser Region und hat damit die Aufgaben eines Gemeindevorstands und Schlichters übernommen. Die für den Neuen Berliner Kunstverein in Kooperation mit dem Arsenal – Institut für Film und Videokunst konzipierte Installation Regulado ist nach dem Wirkungsbereich des régulo benannt, meist ein Verbund mehrerer Dörfer. Sie resultiert aus einer Konfrontation, die sich am Rande der Dreharbeiten in Birbam ereignete und durch die das filmische Handeln auf unvorhergesehene Weise in Anspruch genommen wurde. Um zwei aufeinander bezogene, jeweils in einer Einstellung gedrehte Videos skizziert die Installation Bezüge zwischen verschiedenen diskursiven und physischen Räumen, die sich in dieser Begegnung verschachteln: der Verantwortungsbereich des régulo und der inszenatorische Raum vor der Filmkamera, aber auch das im Off errichtete Versammlungshaus, ein mobiles Kino in Birbam und der Showroom in Berlin.

Kurator: Tobias Hering

Suleimane Biai (*1968 in Farim, Guinea-Bissau) arbeitet als Regisseur, Produzent und Drehbuchautor am Instituto Nacional do Cinema e Audiovisual in Bissau und ist seit 2010 auch der régulo für die Dörfer um seinen Geburtsort Farim. Er hat Filmregie an der Escuela Internacional de Cine y Televisión in Kuba studiert und neben der Realisierung eigener Spiel- und Dokumentarfilme (u. a. Djitu ten ku ten, 1997) als Assistent für Flora Gomes (u. a. Pó di Sangui, 1995) und Sana na N'Hada (Xime, 1993) gearbeitet.

Filipa Césars (*1975 in Porto, lebt in Berlin) Arbeiten werden regelmäßig in Einzel- und Gruppenausstellungen, auf Biennalen und Filmfestivals gezeigt, zuletzt u. a.: Kunstmuseum St. Gallen (2013); Jeu de Paume, Paris (2012); Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Berlin (2011); Manifesta 8, Cartagena (2010); 29. São Paulo Biennale (2010); 63. Berlinale (2013); Internationales Filmfestival Rotterdam (2013, 2010); Mudam Luxembourg (2012). Unter dem Titel Luta ca caba inda hat sie zuletzt mehrere Arbeiten und Präsentationsformate produziert, die sich mit einem im nationalen Filminstitut INCA in Bissau wieder aufgetauchten Konvolut von Filmmaterial aus den 1970er Jahren auseinandersetzen.

Nach
Cuba (2012) ist Regulado (2014) Filipa Césars zweite Zusammenarbeit mit Suleimane Biai. Die Ausstellung ist Teil des am Arsenal – Institut für Film und Videokunst angesiedelten Projekts Visionary Archive. Im Rahmen dieses Rechercheprojekts zu afrikanischen Filmarchiven organisieren beide FilmemacherInnen gemeinsam mit Sana na N'Hada unter dem Titel Von Boé nach Berlin ein mobiles Labor zur Filmgeschichte Guinea-Bissaus. Zentrales Modul dieses Vorhabens ist ein mobiles Kino durch Guinea-Bissau, bei dem das unlängst wieder aufgetauchte Archivmaterial u. a. an den Orten seiner Entstehung reaktualisiert werden soll.


Programm Kunstvermittlung
Sonntag, 25. Mai 2014, 15 Uhr
Visionary Archive – It all depends #3:
Von Boé nach Berlin – Ein mobiles Labor zur Filmgeschichte Guinea-Bissaus
Präsentation, Filmscreening und Artist Talk mit Suleimane Biai und Filipa César
Ort: Kino Arsenal,
www.arsenal-berlin.de