Ciprian Mureșan

July 3 – August 22, 2010



Curator: Marius Babias


Rhinocèros, Video, 2006, Photo: Dan Acostioaei

This show with over 15 works is Ciprian Mureșan’s first solo exhibition in an art institution context. His works have been displayed recently in the Centre Pompidou (Paris), the Renaissance Society (Chicago), and the New Museum (New York), as well as at the 17th Sydney Biennale. In 2009, he was one of the artists representing Romania at the 53rd Venice Biennale. Mureșan is a member of the editorial team of the art and culture journal IDEA arts+society, one of the most influential art journals in Eastern Europe.

Recent work by Mureșan (born 1977 in Cluj) ranges from drawings and animated films to photography, sculpture, and video. Taking as his point of departure the changes in post-Communist states after 1989, he addresses issues of cultural identity and collectivization processes in his works. Throughout, he draws on art history, which leads him to idiosyncratic interpretations of the present.

In the two animated films
Baptised (2009) and Pioneer (2010), two belief systems stand in opposition to each other: a screaming child is lowered into the baptismal font by a priest, whilst pioneer sniffs glue out of a plastic bag. The animations, made up of a series of individual drawing, take stock in cartoon-film style of the social changes in the New Europe. In the installation Incorrigible Believers (2009), made up of benches and a prayer stand, Mureșan transforms n.b.k. into a sacral space, yet one which is devoid of icons, a crucifix, or a priest. The sculpture The End of The Five-Year Plan (2004) is a reinterpretation of a work by Maurizio Cattelan, La Nona Ora (1999), which caused a scandal when it was first shown. However, instead of Pope John Paul II., here Patriarch Teoctist from the Romanian Orthodox Church is struck by a meteorite. Further works on display include the videos Rhinocèros (2006), Choose (2005), and the animated film 3D Rubliov (2004).

The social critique that enters into play in Mureșan’s works is a hallmark of the “Cluj-Generation,” yet the scope of this criticism extends far beyond the geopolitical situation in south-eastern Europe, without denying this context. This generation is involved in reshaping the role of contemporary art in the transcultural post-migrant society.

Further works by Ciprian Mureșan are on display in Berlin at Galeria Plan B until July 31, 2010.


Book series n.b.k. exhibitions

On the occasion of the exhibition, a catalog will be published by Verlag der Buchhandlung Walther König, Cologne, with an essay by Hedwig Saxenhuber, an interview with Raluca Voinea, and a foreword by Marius Babias, 176 pages with color illustrations, German/English, 19.80 EUR/15.00 EUR (members).


Program

Thursday, July 08, 2010, 7 pm
Artist talk with Ciprian Mureșan (artist, Cluj) and Bojana Pejić (curator of Gender Check: Femininity and Masculinity in the Art of Eastern Europe [Vienna/Warsaw 2009/10], Berlin)
In English Language

Thursday, July 15, 2010, 7 pm
What does art need its autonomy for?
Conversation between Hartmut Böhme (Professor of Cultural Studies, HU Berlin) and Boris Buden (philosopher, Berlin)
In German Language

Sunday, August 22, 2010, 9 pm
Music-Performance with Zigaretten Rauchen (Berlin)


The exhibition and program have been made possible with the financial support of:

Ciprian Mureșan

3. Juli – 22. August 2010



Kurator: Marius Babias


Rhinocèros, Video, 2006, Foto: Dan Acostioaei

Die Werkschau mit über 15 Arbeiten ist die erste Einzelausstellung von Ciprian Mureșan in einer Institution. Seine Werke waren jüngst im Centre Pompidou (Paris), in der Renaissance Society (Chicago), im New Museum (New York) sowie auf der 17. Sydney Biennale zu sehen. 2009 war er einer der Vertreter Rumäniens auf der 53. Venedig Biennale. Mureșan ist Redaktionsmitglied der Kunst- und Kulturzeitschrift IDEA arts+society, die als eine der einflussreichsten Osteuropas gilt.

Das junge Werk Mureșans (*1977 in Cluj) reicht von Zeichnungen und Animationsfilmen über Fotografie bis zu Skulptur und Video. Ausgehend von den Veränderungen in den postkommunistischen Staaten nach 1989, thematisiert er in seinen Arbeiten Fragen kultureller Identität und Prozesse der Vergemeinschaftung. Dabei greift er auf die Kunstgeschichte zurück und gelangt so zu eigenwilligen Interpretationen der Gegenwart.

In den zwei Animationsfilmen
Baptised (2009) und Pioneer (2010) stehen sich zwei Glaubenssysteme gegenüber: Das schreiende Kind wird von einem Geistlichen in die Taufwanne getaucht, während der Pionier aus einer Plastiktüte Leim schnüffelt. Die Animationen aus gezeichneten Einzelblättern sind zeichentrickhafte Bestandsaufnahmen der gesellschaftlichen Veränderungen im Neuen Europa. Mit der Installation Incorrigible Believers (2009), bestehend aus Sitzbänken und Gebetspult, verwandelt Mureșan den n.b.k. in einen sakralen Raum, in dem die Heiligenbilder, das Kruzifix und der Priester fehlen. Die Skulptur The End of Five-Year Plan (2004) ist eine Neuinterpretation der skandalträchtigen Arbeit La Nona Ora (1999) von Maurizio Cattelan. Doch statt Papst Johannes Paul II. wird hier der Patriarch Teoctist der rumänisch-orthodoxen Kirche von einem Meteoriten erschlagen. Zu sehen sind ferner z. B. die Videoarbeiten Rhinocèros (2006), Choose (2005) und der Animationsfilm 3D Rubliov (2004).

Die soziale Kritik, die in Mureșans Arbeiten wirksam wird und bezeichnend für die „Cluj-Generation“ ist, geht weit über ihre geopolitische Situation in Südosteuropa hinaus, ohne sie jedoch zu leugnen. Diese Generation arbeitet an einer Neubestimmung der Rolle zeitgenössischer Kunst in der transkulturellen postmigrantischen Gesellschaft.

Weitere Werke von Ciprian Mureșan sind parallel bis zum 31. Juli 2010 in der Galerie Plan B in Berlin zu sehen.


Buchreihe n.b.k. Ausstellung

Zur Ausstellung erscheint im Verlag der Buchhandlung Walther König, Köln, eine Publikation mit einem Aufsatz von Hedwig Saxenhuber, einem Interview mit Raluca Voinea und einem Vorwort von Marius Babias, 176 Seiten mit farbigen Abb., Deutsch/Englisch, 19,80 Euro (15,00 Euro ermäßigt).


Programm Kunstvermittlung

Donnerstag, 08. Juli 2010, 19 Uhr
Künstlergespräch mit Ciprian Mureșan (Künstler, Cluj) und Bojana Pejić (Kuratorin
Gender Check: Femininity and Masculinity in the Art of Eastern Europe [Wien/Warschau 2009/10], Berlin)
In englischer Sprache

Donnerstag, 15. Juli 2010, 19 Uhr
Wozu braucht die Kunst noch Autonomie?
Gespräch zwischen Hartmut Böhme (Professor für Kulturtheorie, HU Berlin) und Boris Buden (Philosoph, Berlin)

Sonntag, 22. August 2010, 21 Uhr
Musik-Performance mit Zigaretten Rauchen (Berlin)


Ausstellung und Programm werden ermöglicht durch die finanzielle Förderung von: