David Zink Yi

March 3 – April 29, 2012



Curator: Kathrin Becker


David Zink Yi,
Horror Vacui, 2009

David Zink Yi (b. 1973) is one of the most successful artists of his generation. After graduating from the master class of Lothar Baumgarten at the Universität der Künste Berlin (2003), he was awarded the Schmidt-Rottluff scholarship, the Ars-Viva Prize (both in 2004) and the MAK-Schindler scholarship (2005). His works are represented in public and private collections around the world, including Museum Ludwig, Cologne, Museum of Contemporary Art, Los Angeles and Museo de Arte, Lima. After numerous international solo and group exhibitions, the exhibition at Neuer Berliner Kunstverein is the first of its kind in a German institution.

The exhibition at the Neuer Berliner Kunstverein is premiering the video installation
Horror Vacui (2009) in Berlin, as well as a new series of photographs from the series Twilight Images. The pictures, gelatin silver prints on baryta paper, show a public park in Havana at night. The site the artist chose is significant with regard to his field research; different themes and areas of interest in Zink Yi’s work intersect in the portrait of Havana: the utopian visions of social revolutionaries, the stark reality of socialism, the cults and rites of the Afro-Cuban population. The black-and-white time exposures document a subtle play of light, a twilight heightened by the presentation in the exhibition space. The photographs are set into recesses of identical size, which are integrated into the exhibition architecture and presented in such a fashion that natural as well as artificial light shines through them, revealing, depending on its intensity, a wide variety of structures and shadings within the picture. As the lighting conditions change, the pictorial space changes accordingly.

The centerpiece of the exhibition at the Neuer Berliner Kunstverein as well as the artist’s book published with it is the two-channel video installation
Horror Vacui. The work, which runs for two hours, documents rehearsals of the Latin band De Adentro y Afuera, founded by Zink Yi together with Cuban musicians, and combines these pictures with footage showing rituals rooted in Afro-Cuban culture: the three ceremonies known as Cajon, Tambor Batá, and Wiro from Palo Monte, an Afro-Cuban cult related to Santería and the religion of the Yoruba, which is practiced primarily in Nigeria and Benin and is at the root of a range of religious traditions in several countries of the Americas. By juxtaposing the band rehearsals and the ritual practices as equipollent elements in his video, Zink Yi examines the structural similarities between music-making and religious performance. The key to this semblance is that both think the emerging musical space as a collective plethora, a polyrhythm made possible by the rhythmical structure of the clave that pervades the entire piece. The interval-like structure of the clave are opening up ways for the musicians to find “empty moments” in the composition of a piece they build together, which they may complement and fill individually. The polyrhythm gives rise to a timeless and spaceless sonic body, putting the bodies into a trance in the music as well as in the rituals. Zink Yi’s Horror Vacui sheds light on practices that allow individual and collective identities to emerge outside of models that assert identity by means of aggressive oppositions. The artist highlights alternatives to restrictive notions of cultural identity built on relations of power and inferiority.


Book Series “n.b.k. Exhibitions”
On the occasion of the 2011 advancement award “Catalogs for Young Artists” given to David Zink Yi by the Alfried Krupp von Bohlen und Halbach-Stiftung a comprehensive publication will be issued, which Zink Yi projected as an artist’s book. The photo double volume, comprising making-of material and photographs of Horror Vacui, as well as a text insert with contributions by Marius Babias, Kathrin Becker, Diedrich Diederichsen, Sophie Goltz and David Zink Yi, is published by Buchhandlung Walther König, Köln 2012, German / English, both 232 pages.


Program

Thursday, March 8, 2012, 7 pm
Artist talk with David Zink Yi(artist, Berlin / Lima) and Kathrin Becker (head of n.b.k. Video-Forum)

Thursday, March 29, 2012, 7 pm
Exhibition tour with Sophie Goltz (head of communication and curator n.b.k.)

David Zink Yi

3. März – 29. April 2012



Kuratorin: Kathrin Becker


David Zink Yi,
Horror Vacui, 2009

David Zink Yi (*1973) ist einer der erfolgreichsten Vertreter seiner Generation. Nach einem Meisterschulstudium bei Lothar Baumgarten an der Universität der Künste (2003) erhielt er u. a. das Schmidt-Rottluff-Stipendium, den Ars Viva-Preis (beide 2004) und das MAK-Schindler-Stipendium (2005). Seine Werke sind in öffentlichen und privaten Sammlungen weltweit vertreten, u. a. Museum Ludwig, Köln, Museum of Contemporary Art, Los Angeles und Museo de Arte, Lima. Nach zahlreichen internationalen Einzel- und Gruppenausstellungen ist die Ausstellung im Neuen Berliner Kunstverein die erste in einer deutschen Institution.

Die Ausstellung im n.b.k. präsentiert neben der erstmals in Berlin gezeigten Videoinstallation
Horror Vacui (2009) die neue Fotoserie aus der Reihe Twilight Images. Die Motive der Silvergelatine-Prints auf Barytpapier zeigen einen öffentlichen Park in Havanna bei Nacht. Der Ort, den der Künstler wählte, ist bedeutsam im Hinblick auf seine Feldforschung; im Bild Havannas und Kubas überlagern sich die Themen und Interessensgebiete Zink Yis: sozialrevolutionäre Utopie, nackte sozialistische Realität, die Kulte und Riten der afro-kubanischen Bevölkerung. Die Schwarz-Weiß-Langzeitbelichtungen dokumentieren ein feinsinniges Lichtspiel, ein Zwielicht, das durch die Präsentation im Ausstellungsraum verstärkt wird. Die Fotografien werden in formatidentischen Aussparungen der Ausstellungsarchitektur eingepasst und so präsentiert, dass das natürliche und künstliche Licht im Ausstellungsraum gleichermaßen durch sie hindurchfällt und je nach Intensität vielfältige Strukturen wie Schattierungen des Bildes offenlegt. Durch die sich wechselnden Lichtverhältnisse verändert sich auch der Bildraum.

Im Mittelpunkt der Ausstellung und des zur Ausstellung erscheinenden Künstlerbuchs steht die zweikanalige Videoinstallation
Horror Vacui. Die zweistündige Arbeit dokumentiert Proben der Latin-Band De Adentro y Afuera, die Zink Yi gemeinsam mit kubanischen MusikerInnen gründete, kombiniert mit Aufnahmen von Ritualen afro-kubanischen Ursprungs: die drei Rituale Cajon, Tambor Batá und Wiro aus dem Palo Monte, einem afro-kubanischen, mit der Santería verwandten Kult und der Religion der Yoruba, die – hauptsächlich in Nigeria und Benin praktiziert – den Ursprung einer ganzen Reihe von religiösen Traditionen in unterschiedlichen Ländern Lateinamerikas bilden. Zink Yi, der die Proben der Band und die rituellen Praktiken im Video gleichberechtigt nebeneinander stellt, thematisiert die strukturelle Ähnlichkeit zwischen der Musikproduktion und den religiösen Handlungen. Der Schlüssel zu dieser Ähnlichkeit ist die Eigenschaft, den entstehenden musikalischen Raum als kollektive Fülle, als Polyrhythmus zu denken, ermöglicht durch die rhythmische Struktur der Clave, die sich durch das ganze Musikstück zieht. Die intervallartige Struktur der Clave bietet den Musikern die Möglichkeit, im gemeinsamen Aufbau eines Stückes „leere Momente“ zu finden, diese zu ergänzen und individuell zu füllen. Durch den Polyrhythmus entsteht ein zeit- und raumloser Klangkörper, geraten die Körper in der Musik wie in den Ritualen in Trance-Zustand. Zink Yi beleuchtet in Horror Vacui Praktiken der individuellen und gemeinschaftlichen Identitätsstiftung, die jenseits von Modellen der Identitätsbehauptung in aggressiven Gegensatzpaaren entstehen können. Der Künstler zeigt uns Alternativen zu restriktiven, auf Machtverhältnissen und Inferiorität beruhenden Vorstellungen kultureller Identität auf.


Buchreihe „n.b.k. Ausstellungen“
Mit dem 2011 an David Zink Yi verliehenen Förderpreis Kataloge für junge Künstler der Alfried Krupp von Bohlen und Halbach-Stiftung liegt erstmals eine umfassende Publikation vor, die Zink Yi als Künstlerbuch konzipierte. Das Foto-Doppelbuch mit Making-of-Material und Fotografien von Horror Vacui sowie mit einem Textinsert mit Beiträgen von Marius Babias, Kathrin Becker, Diedrich Diederichsen, Sophie Goltz und David Zink Yi erscheint im Verlag der Buchhandlung Walther König, Köln 2012, Deutsch/Englisch, je 232 Seiten.


Programm Kunstvermittlung

Donnerstag, 8. März 2012, 19 Uhr
Künstlergespräch mit David Zink Yi (Künstler, Berlin / Lima) und Kathrin Becker (Leiterin n.b.k. Video-Forum)

Donnerstag, 29. März 2012, 19 Uhr
Ausstellungsrundgang mit Sophie Goltz (Leiterin Kommunikation und Kuratorin n.b.k.)