Gruppenbild
1: Karolin Meunier – Timing and Consistency

February 16 – March 26, 2010




Karolin Meunier, Timing and Consistency (2010), n.b.k. Showroom
exhibition view, Foto: Jens Ziehe

Gruppenbild
is a five-part exhibition series with the artists Karolin Meunier, Discoteca Flaming Star, Azin Feizabadi, Ming Wong, and Shirin Homann-Saadat in the showroom of the Neuer Berliner Kunstverein. The participating artists work with performance and spatial installations. Over the course of a year they will be giving form to this experiment in conjunction with curators Kathrin Becker and Sophie Goltz. In every artistic intervention, existing installations will be altered and new elements added to them. The contributions of the individual artists will thus give rise to a collective conceptual model.

The series begins with the 2-channel video installation
Timing and Consistency (7:30 min) by Karolin Meunier. It is part of a series of works in which Karolin Meunier uses performance, text and film to explore various techniques of speaking and announcing. In this video work, produced specially for the n.b.k. exhibition, Meunier used the recording room in a radio studio as the backdrop against which to perform two texts. One scene, shot through a pane of glass, shows a series of answers being recited, whilst the speech delivered straight into the camera has a formal structure reminiscent of a call to action or a guideline. Here, both answers and instructions reference daily, yet undefined situations of conversation or interrogation. Stripped of any narrative context, the text passages refer to the possibilities and limitations of the public pronouncements people make about themselves, and the ambivalent intentions of such assertions.

Making restrained use of the camera, performance and the position of the viewers, Meunier picks up on the working methods deployed in earlier conceptual video and performance art. In the process however, she creates a sense of distance vis-à-vis her own position in the role of narrator or presenter.

Thursday,
March 18, 2010, 7 pm, Performance with Karolin Meunier in the Exhibition space (groundfloor)

Karolin Meunier (*1975) lives and works as an artist and writer in Berlin and London. She studied at Hochschule für Bildende Künste in Hamburg and attended Jan van Eyck Akademie in Maastricht as researcher. Meunier is co-editor of
Wenn sonst nichts klappt: Wiederholung wiederholen (2005) and takes part in Cinenova – Women’s Film and Video Distributor in London. Exhibitions (Selection): Künstlerhaus Stuttgart (2008), Bonner Kunstverein (2007), MuHKA, Antwerpen (2006), Kunstverein Hamburg (2006), Lenbachhaus München (2006).

Exhibition and program made possible by the financial support of:

Gruppenbild
1: Karolin Meunier – Timing and Consistency

16. Februar – 26. März 2010




Karolin Meunier, Timing and Consistency (2010), n.b.k. Showroom
Ausstellungsansicht, Foto: Jens Ziehe

Gruppenbild
ist eine fünfteilige Ausstellungsserie mit den KünstlerInnen Karolin Meunier, Discoteca Flaming Star, Azin Feizabadi, Ming Wong, Shirin Homann-Saadat im Showroom des Neuen Berliner Kunstvereins. Die beteiligten KünstlerInnen und arbeiten mit Performance und Rauminstallation. Sie gestalten über die Dauer eines Jahres gemeinsam mit den Kuratorinnen Kathrin Becker und Sophie Goltz dieses Experiment. Mit jeder künstlerischen Intervention werden bestehende Installationen variiert und neue Elemente hinzugefügt. Aus den einzelnen Beiträgen entsteht so ein kollektives Denkbild.

Den Anfang markiert die 2-Kanal-Videoinstallation
Timing and Consistency (7:30 min) von Karolin Meunier. Diese Videoarbeit ist Teil einer Serie von Arbeiten, in denen Karolin Meunier mittels Performance, Text und Film unterschiedliche Techniken des Sprechens und Mitteilens untersucht. In der eigens für die Ausstellung im n.b.k. produzierten Videoarbeit hat Meunier den Aufnahmeraum eines Radiostudios als Kulisse für die Aufführung zweier Texte genutzt. Die durch eine Glasscheibe gefilmte Szene zeigt das Aufsagen einer Reihe von Antworten, während die frontal zur Kamera gesprochene Rede formal einem Aufruf oder einer Handlungsanweisung gleicht. Sowohl Antworten als auch Instruktionen beziehen sich dabei auf alltägliche, jedoch nicht näher bestimmte Gesprächs- oder Verhörsituationen. Herausgelöst aus jedem narrativen Kontext verweisen die Textpassagen auf die Möglichkeiten und Grenzen öffentlicher Selbstauskünfte und deren ambivalente Intentionen.

Mit dem reduzierten Einsatz von Kamera, Auftritt und BetrachterInnenposition knüpft Meunier an die Arbeitsweisen früher konzeptueller Video- und Performancekunst an. Sie stellt dabei allerdings eine sprachliche Distanz zur eigenen Sprecherposition her.

Am Donnerstag, den
18. März 2010 um 19 Uhr findet eine Performance mit Karolin Meunier im n.b.k. Ausstellungsraum (Erdgeschoss) statt.

Karolin Meunier (*1975) arbeitet als Künstlerin und Autorin in Berlin und London. Sie studierte an der Hochschule für Bildende Künste Hamburg und war Researcher an der Jan van Eyck Akademie Maastricht. Meunier ist Mitherausgeberin von
Wenn sonst nichts klappt: Wiederholung wiederholen (2005) und Mitglied von CinenovaWomen's Film and Video Collective in London. Ausstellungen (Auswahl): Künstlerhaus Stuttgart (2008), Moskau Biennale (2008), Bonner Kunstverein (2007), MuHKA, Antwerpen (2006), Kunstverein Hamburg (2006)

Ausstellung und Programm werden ermöglicht durch die finanzielle Förderung von: