Laura Horelli
Hannah-Höch-Förderpreis 2011

November 29, 2011 – January 20, 2012



Curator: Kathrin Becker, Sophie Goltz



Video still: Laura Horelli,
You Go Where You're Sent, 2003


Laura Horelli, born in Helsinki in 1976, studied at the Kuvataideakatemia in Helsinki and with Thomas Bayrle at Frankfurt’s Städelschule. Living in Berlin since 2001, she has created a complex body of work within a few years, for which she will be the first recipient of the Hannah-Höch-Förderpreis awarded by the Governing Mayor of Berlin, within the frame of the Women Artist’s Program.

Besides text-based works and photography, the artist is now working more intensely with the medium of video, including multichannel video installations. She centers her investigations on communicative processes and their preconditions in the media, politics, and society within a globalized world. Horelli’s conceptual approach consists in formulating subjective ways of approximating “reality,“ in order to take urban environments, events, and relationships from her former as well as current places of residence and from her travels, to remove them from their original contexts, and to link them in new ways. This results in an intertext that interconnects the various tides of events as well as their subtexts, at the same time subverting the representative-documentary aspect.

Book Series “n.b.k. Exhibitions”
On the occasion of the exhibition, a publication with an extensive documentation and with texts by Maeve Connolly and Dieter Roelstraete will be published by Verlag der Buchhandlung Walter König, Cologne, 2011, 184 pages with color images.

Parallel to the exhibition at Neuer Berliner Kunstverein Laura Horelli is presenting the video installation
The Terrace (2011) from November 25, 2011 to January 7, 2012 at Galerie Barbara Weiss, Berlin.

Laura Horelli
Hannah-Höch-Förderpreis 2011

29. November 2011 – 20. Januar 2012



Kuratorinnen: Kathrin Becker, Sophie Goltz



Videostill: Laura Horelli,
You Go Where You're Sent, 2003


Laura Horelli, 1976 in Helsinki geboren, studierte an der Kuvataideakatemia in Helsinki sowie bei Thomas Bayrle an der Städelschule in Frankfurt/Main. Seit 2001 in Berlin lebend, schuf sie in wenigen Jahren ein komplexes Werk, für das sie 2011 im Rahmen des Künstlerinnenprogramms mit dem erstmals vom Regierenden Bürgermeister von Berlin verliehenen Hannah-Höch-Förderpreis ausgezeichnet wird.

Neben textbasierten Werken und Fotografien arbeitet die Künstlerin verstärkt mit dem Medium Video, teilweise auch in mehrkanaligen Videoinstallationen. Sie stellt kommunikative Prozesse und deren medialen, politischen und sozialen Voraussetzungen in einer globalisierten Welt ins Zentrum ihrer Recherchen. Horellis konzeptueller Ansatz besteht darin, sich der „Realität“ auf subjektive Weise zu nähern, um urbane Umwelten, Ereignisse und Beziehungen aus ihren früheren und aktuellen Wohnorten sowie auf Reisen aufzugreifen, sie aus ihren ursprünglichen Zusammenhängen herauszunehmen und neu zu verknüpfen. Dadurch entsteht ein Intertext, der verschiedene Zeitläufte wie deren Subtexte miteinander verbindet und dabei zugleich das Dokumentarisch-Repräsentative unterläuft.

Buchreihe „n.b.k. Ausstellungen“
Zur Ausstellung erscheint ein umfassender Werkkatalog (1999–2011) mit Texten von Maeve Connolly und Dieter Roelstraete im Verlag der Buchhandlung Walther König, Köln, 184 Seiten mit zahlreichen farbigen Abbildungen.

Parallel zur Ausstellung im Neuen Berliner Kunstverein ist die Videoinstallation
The Terrace (2011) von Laura Horelli vom 25. November 2011 bis zum 7. Januar 2012 in der Galerie Barbara Weiss, Berlin, zu sehen.