Sounds
Radio – Art – New Music

February 13 – March 28, 2010




From November 11, 2010 to March 27, 2011, the exhibition will be shown at ZKM | Museum of Contemporary Art, Karlsruhe.


Juan Allende-Blin, Susanne Amatosero, Andreas Ammer, Alfred Andersch, Beate Andres, Antonin Artaud, Ingeborg Bachmann, Walter Bauer, Samuel Beckett, Walter Benjamin, Barry Bermange, Andreas Bick, Friedrich Walter Bischoff, Ursula Block/gelbe MUSIK, Hermann Bohlen, Alessandro Bosetti, Alfred Braun, Peter Leonhard Braun, Bertolt Brecht, Klaus Buhlert, Frieder Butzmann, John Cage, Christian Calon, Velimir Chlebnikov, Carlfriedrich Claus, Console, Alvin Curran, Peter Cusack, Tacita Dean, Eduard Roderich Dietze, Esther Dischereit, Peter Dittmer, Alfred Döblin, Oswald Egger, Günter Eich, Barbara Eisenmann, William Faulkner, Raymond Federman, Luc Ferrari, Walter Filz, Hans Flesch, FM Einheit, Werner Fritsch, Tetsuo Furudate, Martin Gantenbein, Hartmut Geerken, Ulrich Gerhardt, Thomas Gerwin, Stefano Giannotti, Michael Glasmeier, Heiner Goebbels, Patricia Görg, Guido Graf, Kai Grehn, Giuseppe Patroni Griffi, Frank Halbig, Ludwig Harig, Hanna Hartman, Helene Hegemann, Elke Heinemann, Helmut Heißenbüttel, Niklaus Helbling, Paul Hindemith, Hofmann&Lindholm, Steffen Irlinger, Ernst Jandl, Elfriede Jelinek, Bernadette Johnson, Arsenije Jovanovic, Mauricio Kagel, Schorsch Kamerun, Dora Kaprálová, Hermann Kasack, Walter Kempowski, Oskar Kokoschka, Thomas Köner, Stephan Krass, Ferdinand Kriwet, Jean-Claude Kuner, Paul Laven, Michael Lentz, LIGNA, Bruno Maderna , Friederike Mayröcker, Sergej Medwedew, Jonathan Meese, Thomas Meinecke, Michaela Melián, Franz Mon, Herbert Morrison, Move D, Heiner Müller, Wolfgang Müller, Albert Ostermaier, Georges Perec, Helmut Peschina, Eberhard Petschinka, Paul Plamper, René Pollesch, Werner Pöschko, Rimini Protokoll, Eduard Roderich, Jon Rose, Dieter Roth, Joseph Roth, Gerhard Rühm, Walter Ruttmann, Rafael Sanchez, Eran Schaerf, Christoph Schlingensief, Ernst Schnabel, Ernst Schoen, Nadja Schöning, Kateřina Šedá, Theodor Siebs, Rolf Simmen, Walter Spies, Tim Staffel, Andrzej Stasiuk, Ronald Steckel, Ulrike Syha, George Tabori, Andrej Tarkowskij, Asmus Tietchens, Jáchym Topol, Naoya Uchimura, Anja Utler, Mario Verandi, Michel Vinaver, Miloš Vojtĕchovský, Wolf Vostell, Antje Vowinckel, Stefan Weigl, Marianne Weil, Kurt Weill, Friedrich Wolf, Ror Wolf, Paul Wühr

Curatorial Team: Marius Babias, Gaby Hartel, Frank Kaspar,
Katrin Klingan
Exhibition Design: Ruudi Beier, Peter Wellch
(id3d-berlin themengestaltung)
Assistant: Silvia Ploner


Samuel Beckett during the production of
He Joe, 1966 / Photo: Wilhelm Papst


During the age of the historical avant-gardes, the arts formed a mutually enriching synthesis before the separation and specialization into individual disciplines set in during the 1930s. Radio was a place in which this interplay of the arts was attempted over and over, also against the dominance of the dialog-centered radio play. The exhibition project
Sounds- Radio – Art – New Music makes radio accessible as an artistic medium, and makes it possible to experience it in a spatial context. Based on the polyvocality of radio art and a fascination with the disembodied character that shaped the early years of radio, the exhibition opens surprising perspectives on radio art and its potential to create complex experiential spaces.

Five radio works that emerged in the framework of the German/Czech radio art project
rádio d-cz formed the starting point of the exhibition. Writers, artists, dramaturges, sound collectors, and musicians went on a journey of discovery in German-Czech lifeworlds for rádio d-cz. Using actual and fictional history, the radio features, radio plays, and sound collages tell of adventures and self-made men, fences that separate and sounds that connect. The five pieces encounter in the exhibition historical and contemporary references that make it possible for us to understand their respective stylistic resonance. Furthermore, for the duration of the exhibition Ursula Block will open her archive on the history of new music and acoustic art and move her Berlin music store “gelbe MUSIK” temporarily inside the exhibition space of Neuer Berliner Kunstverein.

An additional 25 referential pieces from 80 years of radio history stand for the five elementary force fields of radio that fascinated writers and artists since the beginning of the medium: the flexible mobility with which radio abolishes geographic distance, its puzzling play with the limits of public and private space, its art of creating fictional spaces with original sounds, its ability to sensitize us to the complex sound textures of an everyday sound environment, and the inherent paradox of a disembodied medium that emphasizes the physical quality of the voice. The exhibition will explore these five force fields using radio plays, features, and sound compositions that circle around the main pieces.

The archive part of the exhibition presents 100 additional radio art productions from the participating broadcasters.

Publication
The exhibition is accompanied by a book published by Verlag der Buchhandlung Walther König, Cologne.

An exhibition project in cooperation with Zipp – German-Czech Cultural Projects, an initiative of Federal Cultural Foundation.



Exhibition and program made possible by the financial support of:



In cooperation with Deutschlandradio Kultur, Südwestrundfunk, Westdeutscher Rundfunk, Österreichischer Rundfunk, and Czech Radio, as well as the friendly support of Bayerischen Rundfunks / Hörspiel und Medienkunst.



Media partners



Sponsor

Sounds
Radio – Kunst – Neue Musik

13. Februar – 28. März 2010




Die Ausstellung wird vom 11. November 2010 bis zum 27. März 2011 im ZKM | Museum für Neue Kunst, Karlsruhe, gezeigt.


Juan Allende-Blin, Susanne Amatosero, Andreas Ammer, Alfred Andersch, Beate Andres, Antonin Artaud, Ingeborg Bachmann, Walter Bauer, Samuel Beckett, Walter Benjamin, Barry Bermange, Andreas Bick, Friedrich Walter Bischoff, Ursula Block/gelbe MUSIK, Hermann Bohlen, Alessandro Bosetti, Alfred Braun, Peter Leonhard Braun, Bertolt Brecht, Klaus Buhlert, Frieder Butzmann, John Cage, Christian Calon, Velimir Chlebnikov, Carlfriedrich Claus, Console, Alvin Curran, Peter Cusack, Tacita Dean, Eduard Roderich Dietze, Esther Dischereit, Peter Dittmer, Alfred Döblin, Oswald Egger, Günter Eich, Barbara Eisenmann, William Faulkner, Raymond Federman, Luc Ferrari, Walter Filz, Hans Flesch, FM Einheit, Werner Fritsch, Tetsuo Furudate, Martin Gantenbein, Hartmut Geerken, Ulrich Gerhardt, Thomas Gerwin, Stefano Giannotti, Michael Glasmeier, Heiner Goebbels, Patricia Görg, Guido Graf, Kai Grehn, Giuseppe Patroni Griffi, Frank Halbig, Ludwig Harig, Hanna Hartman, Helene Hegemann, Elke Heinemann, Helmut Heißenbüttel, Niklaus Helbling, Paul Hindemith, Hofmann&Lindholm, Steffen Irlinger, Ernst Jandl, Elfriede Jelinek, Bernadette Johnson, Arsenije Jovanovic, Mauricio Kagel, Schorsch Kamerun, Dora Kaprálová, Hermann Kasack, Walter Kempowski, Oskar Kokoschka, Thomas Köner, Stephan Krass, Ferdinand Kriwet, Jean-Claude Kuner, Paul Laven, Michael Lentz, LIGNA, Bruno Maderna , Friederike Mayröcker, Sergej Medwedew, Jonathan Meese, Thomas Meinecke, Michaela Melián, Franz Mon, Herbert Morrison, Move D, Heiner Müller, Wolfgang Müller, Albert Ostermaier, Georges Perec, Helmut Peschina, Eberhard Petschinka, Paul Plamper, René Pollesch, Werner Pöschko, Rimini Protokoll, Eduard Roderich, Jon Rose, Dieter Roth, Joseph Roth, Gerhard Rühm, Walter Ruttmann, Rafael Sanchez, Eran Schaerf, Christoph Schlingensief, Ernst Schnabel, Ernst Schoen, Nadja Schöning, Kateřina Šedá, Theodor Siebs, Rolf Simmen, Walter Spies, Tim Staffel, Andrzej Stasiuk, Ronald Steckel, Ulrike Syha, George Tabori, Andrej Tarkowskij, Asmus Tietchens, Jáchym Topol, Naoya Uchimura, Anja Utler, Mario Verandi, Michel Vinaver, Miloš Vojtĕchovský, Wolf Vostell, Antje Vowinckel, Stefan Weigl, Marianne Weil, Kurt Weill, Friedrich Wolf, Ror Wolf, Paul Wühr

Konzeptionsteam: Marius Babias, Gaby Hartel, Frank Kaspar,
Katrin Klingan
Ausstellungsdesign: Ruudi Beier, Peter Wellach
(id3d-berlin themengestaltung)
Projektassistenz: Silvia Ploner


Samuel Beckett während der Produktion von
He Joe, 1966 / Foto: Wilhelm Papst

Zur Zeit der historischen Avantgarden bildeten die Künste eine sich gegenseitig befruchtende Synthese, ehe ab den 1930er Jahren eine Separierung und Spezialisierung in einzelne Disziplinen einsetzte. Das Radio ist ein Ort, an dem dieses Zusammenspiel der Künste auch gegen die Dominanz eines dialogzentrierten Hörspiels immer wieder erprobt und vorangetrieben wurde. Das Ausstellungsprojekt
Sounds. Radio – Kunst – Neue Musik macht Radio als künstlerisches Medium begehbar und räumlich erlebbar. Ausgehend von der medieneigenen Vielstimmigkeit der Radiokunst und der Faszination der Körperlosigkeit, die die frühen Radiojahre prägte, eröffnet die Ausstellung überraschende Perspektiven auf die Radiokunst und ihr Potenzial, komplexe Erfahrungsräume zu schaffen.

Fünf Radioarbeiten, die im Rahmen des deutsch-tschechischen Radiokunstprojekts
rádio d-cz entstanden, bilden den Ausgangspunkt der Ausstellung. AutorInnen, KünstlerInnen, HörspieldramaturgInnen, GeräuschesammlerInnen und MusikerInnen begaben sich für rádio d-cz auf Entdeckungsreise in deutsch-tschechische Lebenswelten. Aus tatsächlicher und fiktiv gestalteter Zeitgeschichte erzählen die Radio-Features, Hörspiele und Soundcollagen von Abenteurern und Selfmade-Männern, über trennende Zäune und verbindende Geräusche. Diese fünf Stücke begegnen in der Ausstellung jeweils historischen und zeitgenössischen Referenzstücken, die ihren jeweiligen stilistischen Echoraum erfahrbar machen. Darüber hinaus öffnet Ursula Block für die Dauer der Ausstellung ihr Archiv zur Geschichte der Neuen Musik und akustischen Kunst und zieht mit ihrem Berliner Laden gelbe Musik temporär in den Ausstellungsraum des Neuen Berliner Kunstvereins.

Weitere 25 Referenzstücke aus achtzig Jahren Rundfunkgeschichte stehen für fünf elementare Kraftfelder des Radios, die AutorInnen und KünstlerInnen seit den Anfängen des Mediums faszinierten: die geschmeidige Mobilität, mit der das Radio geographische Distanzen aufhebt, sein vexierbildhaftes Spiel mit den Grenzen von öffentlichem und privatem Raum, seine Kunstfertigkeit, mit Originaltönen fiktive Räume zu schaffen, seine Fähigkeit, für die komplexen Geräuschtexturen des alltäglichen Klangumfelds zu sensibilisieren und sein ureigenes Paradox, in einem „körperlosen“ Medium die Physis der Stimme herauszustellen. Diese fünf Kraftfelder werden in Ausschnitten aus Hörspielen, Features und Klangkompositionen zu erleben sein, die die Hauptstücke umkreisen.

Im Archivteil der Ausstellung sind ferner über 100 weitere Radiokunst-Produktionen der beteiligten Sender versammelt.


Ein Ausstellungsprojekt in Zusammenarbeit mit Zipp – deutsch-tschechische
Kulturprojekte, eine Initiative der Kulturstiftung des Bundes.



Ausstellung und Programm werden ermöglicht durch die finanzielle Förderung von:



In Kooperation mit Deutschlandradio Kultur, Südwestrundfunk, Westdeutscher Rundfunk, Österreichischer Rundfunk und Tschechischer Rundfunk, sowie mit freundlicher Unterstützung des Bayerischen Rundfunks / Hörspiel und Medienkunst.



Medienpartner



Sponsor