Thomas Kilpper. State of Control

June 20 – July 26, 2009




Installation view linoleum cuts, canteen in the former Ministry for State Security of the GDR, 2009
Photo: n.b.k./Jens Ziehe


Opening: Friday, June 19

7 pm opening, former GDR Ministry for State Security (MfS), Normannenstr. 19
Speakers include:
Marius Babias (director n.b.k.)
Dr. Eugen Blume (director Hamburger Bahnhof)
from 10 pm Basso-Bar

6-9 pm opening, n.b.k., Chaussestr.128/129, 10115 Berlin-Mitte


Twenty years after the fall of the Berlin Wall, Neuer Berliner Kunstverein is realizing a project with artist Thomas Kilpper at the former GDR Ministry for State Security (MfS), which is being made accessible to the public for the first time. Additional works by the artist will be shown at the same time in the spaces at Neuer Berliner Kunstverein.
In his floor cuttings, Berlin artist Thomas Kilpper, born in Stuttgart, engages with German history. His large-scale intervention on 1,600 square meters offers a historical retrospective on various state concepts of surveillance and repression, from the Nazi period to the digital present.
The divided history of Germany that can be read in this building and in the cut motifs and imprints in the floor is also one of resistance against systems of injustice. In this work, Klipper chronicles the history of both German states and the events from 1989/90 until today.

Curated by Marius Babias



Karl Marx (philosopher), Stephan Dillemuth (artist), dance macabre (15th cent.), Henry Abraham (pensioner), wood cuts from: The Ring, 2000; State of Control, blend of linoleum cuts, 2009; Reinhard Gehlen, head of Fremde Heere Ost, FHO (1942-1945) and president of the Federal Intelligence Service, BND (1956-1968), from: Don`t look back, 1998
Photo: n.b.k./Jens Ziehe



Book series n.b.k. Exhibition
s
A catalog will be published by Verlag der Buchhandlung Walther König, Cologne, including a preface by Marius Babias and an interview with Clemens Krümmel, 144 pages with color illustrations, German/English, 19.80 EUR (15 EUR reduced).




Locatio
n




Former GDR Ministry for State Security (MfS),
Normannenstr. 19, 10365 Berlin-Lichtenberg
(near Research Center and Memorial Site Normannenstraße, so-called Stasi-Museum)
Thursday – Sunday  11 am – 7pm





Programm
e
(Artist talk and guided tours will be held in German.)



Thursday, June 25, 2009, n.b.k. (Chausseestraße 128/129
)

7 pm Artist talk with Thomas Kilpper (artist) and Marius Babias (curator)


Thursday, July 09, 2009, former MfS (Normannenstraße 19
)

8 pm Concert
Erste Stufe Haifisch (GER) / Victim (GB)


Thursday, July 16, 2009, former MfS (Normannenstraße 19
)

5 pm Guided tour Research Center and Memorial Site Normannenstraße (so called Stasi-Museum) and exhibiton walk tofether with Thomas Kilpper (artist) und Sophie Goltz (Communication / Education n.b.k.)


Saturday, July 18, 2009, n.b.k. (Chausseestraße 128/129
)

8 pm Concert
Arnold Dreyblatt Ensemble




Exhibition and programme were made possible through the financial support of:

Thomas Kilpper. State of Control

20. Juni – 26. Juli 2009




Ausstellungsansicht Linolschnitt, Kantine im ehemaligen Ministerium für Staatssicherheit der DDR, 2009
Foto: n.b.k./Jens Ziehe


Eröffung: Freitag, 19. Juni 2009

19 Uhr Eröffnung, ehemaliges Ministerium für Staatssicherheit
der DDR (MfS), Normannenstr. 19
Es sprechen:
Marius Babias (Direktor n.b.k.)
Dr. Eugen Blume (Leiter Hamburger Bahnhof)
ab 22 Uhr Basso-Bar

18-21 Uhr Eröffnung, n.b.k., Chaussestr.128/129, 10115 Berlin-Mitte


Zwanzig Jahre nach Mauerfall realisiert der Neue Berliner Kunstverein mit dem Künstler Thomas Kilpper ein Kunstprojekt im ehemaligen Ministerium für Staatssicherheit der DDR (MfS), das erstmalig der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich gemacht wird. Weitere Arbeiten des Künstlers werden zeitgleich in den Räumen des Neuen Berliner Kunstvereins gezeigt.
Thomas Kilpper, geboren in Stuttgart und in Berlin lebend, setzt sich in seinen Bodenschnitten mit deutscher Geschichte auseinander. Seine groß angelegte Intervention auf 1.600 qm bietet eine geschichtliche Rückschau auf verschiedene staatliche Konzepte von Überwachung und Repression – vom Nationalsozialismus bis zur digitalen Gegenwart.
Die geteilte Geschichte Deutschlands, die sich in diesem Gebäude, aber auch in den geschnitzten Motiven im Boden und den Drucken ablesen lässt, ist auch eine des Widerstands gegen Unrechtssysteme. Kilpper wird mit dieser Arbeit im ehemaligen MfS zum Chronisten beider deutscher Staaten und den Ereignissen um 1989/90 bis heute.

Kurator: Marius Babias



Karl Marx (Philosoph), Stephan Dillemuth (Künstler), Totentanz (15. Jhdt.), Henry Abraham (Rentner), Holzschnitte aus: The Ring, 2000; State of Control, Linoleumverschnitt, 2009; Reinhard Gehlen, Leiter Fremde Heere Ost, FHO (1942-1945) und Präsident Bundesnachrichtendienst, BND (1956-1968) aus: Don`t look back, 1998
Foto: n.b.k./Jens Ziehe



Buchreihe n.b.k. Ausstellunge
n
Zu Ausstellung und Projekt erscheint im Verlag der Buchhandlung Walther König, Köln, eine Publikation mit einem Vorwort von Marius Babias und einem Interview von Clemens Krümmel, 144 Seiten mit farbigen Abb., deutsch/englisch, 19,80 EUR (15 EUR ermäßigt).




Standor
t




Ehemaliges Ministerium für Staatssicherheit der DDR (MfS)
Normannenstr. 19, 10365 Berlin-Lichtenberg
(nahe Forschungs- und Gedenkstätte Normannenstraße, Stasi-Museum)
Donnerstag – Sonntag  11 – 19 Uhr




Programm Kunstvermittlun
g

Donnerstag, 25. Juni 2009, n.b.k. (Chausseestraße 128/129
)
19 Uhr Ausstellungsgespräch mit Thomas Kilpper (Künstler) und Marius Babias (Kurator)

Donnerstag, 09. Juli 2009, ehemaliges MfS (Normannenstraße 19
)
20 Uhr Konzert
Erste Stufe Haifisch (D) / Victim (U.K.)

Donnerstag, 16. Juli 2009, ehemaliges MfS (Normannenstraße 19
)
17 Uhr Besuch Forschungs- und Gedenkstätte Normannenstraße (Stasi-Museum) und Ausstellungsrundgang zusammen mit Thomas Kilpper (Künstler) und Sophie Goltz (Kommunikation / Kunstvermittlung n.b.k.)


Samstag, 18. Juli 2009, n.b.k. (Chausseestraße 128/129
)
20 Uhr Konzert
Arnold Dreyblatt Ensemble




Ausstellung und Programm werden ermöglicht durch die finanzielle Förderung von: