Ursula Biemann
Egyptian Chemistry – Deep Weather – Sahara Chronicle

March 2 – April 28, 2013



Ursula Biemann, Egyptian Chemistry (2012), exhibition view, 2013, photo: Jens ZieheUrsula Biemann, exhibition view, 2013, photo: Jens Ziehe
Ursula Biemann (b. 1955) is an artist, theorist, and curator. Since 2002 she has been researching at the Institute for Theory at Zurich University for the Arts. Biemann was awarded an honorary doctorate by the University of Umeå (2008) and the Prix Meret-Oppenheim (2009). Lately her works were exhibited at: Alexandria (2012); LENTOS Museum, Linz (2012); Center for Art and Media Karlsruhe (2011); Cooper Union, New York (2011) and 7th Shanghai Biennial (2008); 10th Istanbul Biennial (2007); Liverpool Biennial (2004), among others.

The exhibition
Egyptian Chemistry – Deep Weather – Sahara Chronicle at Neuer Berliner Kunstverein presents a selection of Biemann’s large-scale projects in spatial staging, focusing on two current works that are shown for the first time on the European continent: the single channel projection Deep Weather (2013), which offers insights into the global causes and impacts of climate change, and Egyptian Chemistry (2012), an installation with a water laboratory and a five channel video that sheds light on the hybrid ecology of Egypt and the role of the Nile in this system. To complement the two new works, Sahara Chronicle (2006–2009) investigates clandestine migration routes within northern Africa, but also the points where labor migration and the overexploitation of resources like uranium and fisheries intersect.

Subtle and profound, Biemann’s work makes use of existing knowledge, reflecting upon correlations and subjective impressions and combining them with academic findings. Biemann’s artistic approach creates a new way of organizing knowledge and provides a platform for all actors upon which they can leave aside their classical roles as victim and enter into a differentiated dialogue on a par with the beholders. The non-linear narrative structure that characterizes Biemann’s works presents a narrative and visual mosaic of impressions that ultimately compose a complex image. For this reason, her impressive works are not documentaries in the representative sense, but rather coalesce subjective statements of eyewitnesses with academic questions and contrast knowledge from the public media with surprising images and contrary viewpoints from politics, history, culture, and sociology.

Curated by Kathrin Becker.


Publication
The exhibition is accompanied by the catalog Ursula Biemann: Mission Reports—Künstlerische Praxis im Feld, published by Verlag für moderne Kunst Nürnberg, with a preface by Marius Babias, Simon Maurer, and Stella Rollig and contributions by Ursula Biemann, T. J. Demos, Brian Holmes, and Jörg Huber, in German language, 208 pages with numerous color illustrations.


Program
Thursday, March 21, 2013, 7pm
Artist talk and video screening with Massimiliano De Serio (artist, Turin), moderated by Kathrin Becker (Head of n.b.k. Video-Forum) and Silke Wittig (n.b.k. Video-Forum)
In cooperation with Artists Film International (AFI), initiated by Whitechapel Gallery, London
In English language

Tuesday, April 9, 2013, 7pm
Exhibition tour with Kathrin Becker (n.b.k. Curator)
In German language

Tuesday, April 16, 2013, 7pm
On the Aesthetics and Politics of Ecology
Discussion with Ursula Biemann (artist, Zurich), T. J. Demos (Lecturer Modern and Contemporary Art, University College London), Irit Rogoff (Prof. Visual Cultures, Goldsmiths University of London), moderated by Inke Arns (Director, Hartware MedienKunstVerein, Dortmund)
In English language

Sunday, April 28, 2013, 8pm
Concert with Dangerpony (Berlin)


Admission free

Ursula Biemann
Egyptian Chemistry – Deep Weather – Sahara Chronicle

2. März – 28. April 2013



Ursula Biemann, Egyptian Chemistry (2012), Ausstellungsansicht, 2013 , Foto: Jens ZieheUrsula Biemann, Ausstellungsansicht, 2013, Foto: Jens Ziehe
Ursula Biemann (*1955) ist Künstlerin, Theoretikerin und Kuratorin. Seit 2002 forscht sie am Institut für Theorie an der Zürcher Hochschule der Künste. Biemann erhielt die Ehrendoktorwürde durch die Universität Umeå (2008) verliehen und wurde mit dem Meret-Oppenheim-Preis (2009) ausgezeichnet. Zuletzt waren ihr Arbeiten u. a. zu sehen in: Alexandria Contemporary Arts Forum, Alexandria (2012); LENTOS Museum, Linz (2012); Zentrum für Kunst und Medientechnologie, Karlsruhe (2011); Cooper Union, New York (2011) sowie 7. Shanghai Biennale (2008); 10. Istanbul Biennale (2007); Liverpool Biennale (2004).

Die Ausstellung
Egyptian ChemistryDeep WeatherSahara Chronicle im Neuen Berliner Kunstverein präsentiert eine Auswahl groß angelegter Projekte Biemanns in räumlicher Inszenierung. Sie konzentriert sich zunächst auf zwei aktuelle Werke, die erstmals in Europa gezeigt werden: Die 1-Kanal-Projektion Deep Weather (2013), die Einblick in die globalen Ursachen und Auswirkungen des Klimawandels gibt, und Egyptian Chemistry (2012), eine Rauminstallation mit Wasserlabor und einer 5-Kanal-Videoinstallation, die die hybride Ökologie Ägyptens und die Rolle des Nils in diesem System beleuchtet. In Ergänzung zu diesen beiden neuen Arbeiten thematisiert Sahara Chronicle (2006 – 2009) die klandestinen Migrationsbewegungen innerhalb Nordafrikas, aber auch die Schnittstellen von Arbeitsmigration und dem Raubbau von Uran- und Fischressourcen.

Feinsinning und hintergründig bedient sich Biemann bestehenden Wissens, reflektiert Zusammenhänge und subjektive Eindrücke und verbindet diese mit wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnissen. Biemanns künstlerische Vorgehensweise schafft eine neue Wissensorganisation und ermöglicht einen Blick auf das Geschehen, so dass „Involvierten“ eine Plattform eröffnet wird, auf der sie als Akteure die klassisch zugeschriebenen „Opferrollen“ verlassen und mit den BetrachterInnen in einen gleichwertigen differenzierten Dialog treten können. Die nicht-lineare Erzählstruktur, die Biemanns Werke auszeichnet, präsentiert auf erzählerischer und visueller Ebene ein Mosaik von Eindrücken, das zu einem komplexen Bild zusammengefügt wird. Deshalb sind ihre beeindruckenden Arbeiten keine Dokumentationen im repräsentativen Sinne, vielmehr perspektivieren sie subjektive Aussagen von AugenzeugInnen mit wissenschaftlichen Fragestellungen und kontrastieren ein öffentlich-mediales Wissen mit überraschenden Bildern sowie gegenläufigen Thesen aus Politik, Geschichte, Kultur und Soziologie.

Kuratorin: Kathrin Becker


Publikation
Zur Ausstellung erscheint der Katalog Ursula Biemann. Mission Reports – Künstlerische Praxis im Feld im Verlag für moderne Kunst, Nürnberg, mit einem Vorwort von Marius Babias, Simon Maurer und Stella Rollig sowie Beiträgen von Ursula Biemann, T. J. Demos, Brian Holmes und Jörg Huber, 208 Seiten mit zahlreichen farbigen Abbildungen.


Programm Kunstvermittlung
Donnerstag, 21. März 2013, 19 Uhr
Künstlergespräch und Videopräsentation mit Massimiliano De Serio (Künstler, Turin), moderiert von Kathrin Becker (Leiterin n.b.k. Video-Forum) und Silke Wittig (n.b.k. Video-Forum)
In Kooperation mit Artists Film International (AFI), initiiert von Whitechapel Gallery, London
In englischer Sprache

Dienstag, 9. April 2013, 19 Uhr
Ausstellungsrundgang mit Kathrin Becker (n.b.k. Kuratorin)

Dienstag, 16. April 2013, 19 Uhr
Zur Ästhetik und Politik der Ökologie
Diskussion mit Ursula Biemann (Künstlerin, Zürich), T. J. Demos (Lecturer Modern and Contemporary Art, University College London), Irit Rogoff (Prof. Visual Cultures, Goldsmiths University of London), moderiert von Inke Arns (Direktorin, Hartware MedienKunstVerein, Dortmund)
In englischer Sprache

Sonntag, 28. April 2013, 20 Uhr
Konzert mit Dangerpony (Berlin)


Eintritt frei