Friday, September 12, 2014, 6 pm
Audio Trouble

The video collection of Neuer Berliner Kunstverein at Centre d’art contemporain La Halle des bouchers, Vienne, France

September 13 – November 9, 2014
Opening Friday September 12, 2014, 6pm

Participating artists: Claus Blume, Anetta Mona Chişa & Lucia Tkáčová, Christoph Girardet, Ron Hays, Gary Hill, Hajnal Németh, Ingrid Oppenheim, Larissa Sansour, Richard Serra & Nancy Holt, Dmitry Vilensky

Curator: Marc Bembekoff

The Centre d’art contemporain “La Halle des bouchers” in Vienne (France) in collaboration with the Video-Forum of Neuer Berliner Kunstverein (n.b.k.) opens the exhibition
Audio Trouble and presents video works from this prestigious German collection.



At one point in the video
Boomerang (1974) by Richard Serra & Nancy Holt, the picture disappears for a few minutes, probably due to technical reasons. It is then replaced by a blue background title – “Audio Trouble” – telling the viewer that there is a problem of sound synchronization. Taking this inadequacy as a starting point, this selection of video works from the n.b.k. collection highlights how sound can have a significant impact on film and video editing, whether it is from a formal and structural point of view or as a political or social statement. If some works, developing an abstract and structural shape (Ron Hays), recall in some ways the visual symphonies conceived by the 1920s avant-garde filmmakers, others apply a strict sense of coordinated editing where an image corresponds to a sound, thus producing sampling works, sometimes ironic (Claus Blume, Christoph Girardet), poetic (Gary Hill) or critical (Dmitry Vilensky) regarding the intensification of signs present in our contemporary society. As for other artists, they question the gap generated between sound and image to reveal the irony of a political situation (Anetta Mona Chişa & Lucia Tkáčová, Larissa Sansour). Finally, faced with the uninterrupted flow of noisy pictures, some works embody a strong statement of being mute (Hajnal Németh, Ingrid Oppenheim), thus generating some kind of a dysfunction, an audio trouble between sound and image.



The Centre d’art contemporain “La Halle des bouchers” is located in the very heart of the city of Vienne (Isère), in a 16th-Century building used as meat market. Opened in March 2014, the aim and program of this contemporary art center is to offer a privileged access to contemporary art through demanding projects and exhibitions.



The collaboration between Centre d’art contemporain “La Halle des bouchers” and the n.b.k. Video-Forum has been made possible through the Jeunes commissaires program from the Bureau des arts plastiques of the Institut français Deutschland (
www.jeunescommissaires.de). The display of this exhibition has been conceived with Crea Factory.

Venue:
Centre d’art contemporain “La Halle des bouchers”
7 rue Teste du Bailler
F-38200 Vienne
Email: info.cac@mairie-vienne.fr
Telephone: +33 (0)4 74 54 51 37
http://culture.vienne.fr / http://www.facebook.com/CAC.LaHalledesbouchers
Open from Wednesday to Sunday from 1pm to 6pm

Freitag, 12. September 2014, 18 Uhr
Audio Trouble

Die Video-Sammlung des Neuen Berliner Kunstvereins im
Centre d’art contemporain La Halle des bouchers, Vienne, Frankreich


13. September – 9. November 2014
Eröffnung: Freitag, 12. September 2014, 18 Uhr

Teilnehmende KünstlerInnen: Claus Blume, Anetta Mona Chişa & Lucia Tkáčová, Christoph Girardet, Ron Hays, Gary Hill, Hajnal Németh, Ingrid Oppenheim, Larissa Sansour, Richard Serra & Nancy Holt, Dmitry Vilensky

Kurator: Marc Bembekoff

Das Centre d’art contemporain „La Halle des bouchers“
in Vienne (Frankreich) eröffnet in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Video-Forum des Neuen Berliner Kunstvereins die Ausstellung Audio Trouble und präsentiert Videoarbeiten aus den Beständen des n.b.k.


Eine Sequenz der Videoarbeit
Boomerang (1974) von Richard Serra und Nancy Holt besteht aus einem minutenlangen Bildausfall technischen Ursprungs. An Stelle des Bewegtbildes tritt der Zwischentitel „Audio Trouble“, der die BetrachterInnen darauf hinweist, dass es ein Problem mit der Tonsynchronisation gibt. Dieser bewusst inszenierte Lapsus der Arbeit bildet den Ausgangspunkt für die Auswahl von Videoarbeiten aus der Sammlung des Neuen Berliner Kunstvereins: Der Ton kann erhebliche Auswirkungen auf das Editieren von Filmen und Videos haben, sei es aus formaler und struktureller Perspektive oder als politisches oder soziales Statement. Während einige Werke, die eine abstrakte Form entwickeln (Ron Hays), auf die eine oder andere Weise an die Bildsymphonien der avantgardistischen FilmemacherInnen der 1920er Jahre erinnern, bedienen sich andere eines streng koordinierten Schnitts, bei dem jeweils eine Bildsequenz einem Ton entspricht, und produzieren auf diese Weise gesampelte Werke, die ironisch (Claus Blume, Christoph Girardet), poetisch (Gary Hill) oder kritisch (Dmitry Vilensky) auf die Intensivierung der in unserer Gesellschaft gegenwärtigen visuellen Zeichen reagieren. Andere KünstlerInnen hinterfragen die Diskrepanz zwischen Ton und Bild, um die Ironie einer politischen Situation offenzulegen (Anetta Mona Chişa & Lucia Tkáčová, Larissa Sansour). Und schließlich stellen einige Werke dem Strom lauter Bilder die Abwesenheit des Tons gegenüber und bleiben stumm (Hajnal Németh, Ingrid Oppenheim). Auf diese Weise erzeugen sie eine Art Fehlfunktion, eine akustische Störung (audio trouble) zwischen Ton und Bild.


Das Centre d’art contemporain „La Halle des bouchers“
befindet sich mitten im Stadtzentrum von Vienne (Isère) in einem Gebäude aus dem 16. Jahrhundert, das seinerzeit als Fleischmarkt genutzt wurde. Das Programm des Hauses zielt auf die Vermittlung von Projekten und Ausstellungen zeitgenössischer Kunst.



Die Zusammenarbeit zwischen dem Centre d’art contemporain „La Halle des bouchers“ und dem Video-Forum des Neuen Berliner Kunstvereins wurde durch das Programm Jeune commissaires des Bureau des arts plastiques / Institut français Deutschland ermöglicht (
www.jeunescommissaires.de). Das Ausstellungsdisplay wurde gemeinsam mit Crea Factory konzipiert.

Ort:
Centre d’art contemporain “La Halle des bouchers”
7 rue Teste du Bailler
F-38200 Vienne
Email: info.cac@mairie-vienne.fr
Telefon: +33 (0)4 74 54 51 37
http://culture.vienne.fr / http://www.facebook.com/CAC.LaHalledesbouchers
Geöffnet von Mittwoch bis Sonntag von 13 bis 18 Uhr