Thursday, March 5, 2015, 7 pm
Back to the Future – Civilizational Histories in Visual Arts

Panel discussion with Susanne von Falkenhausen (Professor of Modern Art History, Humboldt Universität zu Berlin), Hilke Thode-Arora (curator, Five Continents Museum, Munich) and Judith Welter (collection curator, Migros Museum für Gegenwartskunst, Zurich), moderated by Britta Schmitz (Head Custodian Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart, Berlin)

Susanne von Falkenhausen is an art historian and, since 1993, has taught Modern Art History at Humboldt Universität zu Berlin. She completed her PhD on futurism and the art policy of fascism in Italy and her habilitation on Italian monumental painting in the Risorgimento. Amongst others, she does research on art, architecture, and power since the French Revolution, the theory and practice of representation, rhetoric and the coding of media in art since 1945, and the relationship between art history and visual studies as well as cultural studies.

Hilke Thode-Arora is a social anthropologist and museum ethnologist and is specialized in the Pacific Rim. Her research focuses include inter-ethnic relations, non-European perspectives on material culture and the history of collections of ethnographic museums. She completed her PhD in 1999 on the theoretical and methodological foundations of research of interethnic marriages. Thode-Arora has worked for various collections and conducted field studies in New Zealand, the Pacific island country of Niue and Samoa. For the Five Continents Museum in Munich, she has curated the acclaimed exhibition From Samoa with Love? Samoan Travellers in Germany 1895-1911 – Retracing the Footsteps (2014).

Judith Welter is an art historian and works as collection curator at the Migros Museum für Gegenwartskunst, Zurich. She studied Art History, Spanish Literature and Religion at the University of Bern. Currently, Judith Welter completes her PhD on the effect, function and presentation of rumor and anecdote in contemporary art at the Institute of Modern and Contemporary Art History in Bern.

Britta Schmitz is Head Custodian at Hamburger Bahnhof - Museum für Gegenwart, Berlin. Since 1983, she has worked as a curator at Neue Nationalgalerie and, since 1996, she has supervised the contemporary stock of Nationalgalerie at Hamburger Bahnhof. Most recently, for Nationalgalerie she curated, among others: Gottfried Landauer. The Maori Portraits (2014); Martin Kippenberger: sehr gut / very good (2013); Ingeborg Lüscher (2012/2013); Hans-Peter Feldmann: The Dead (2012/2013); Tomás Saraceno. Cloud Cities (2011/2012); Who Knows Tomorrow (2010).

Donnerstag, 5. März 2015, 19 Uhr
Back to the Future – Civilizational Histories in Visual Arts

Podiumsdiskussion mit Susanne von Falkenhausen (Professorin für Neuere Kunstgeschichte, Humboldt Universität zu Berlin), Hilke Thode-Arora (Kuratorin, Museum Fünf Kontinente, München) und Judith Welter (Sammlungskonservatorin, Migros Museum für Gegenwartskunst, Zürich), moderiert von Britta Schmitz (Oberkustodin Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart, Berlin)

Susanne von Falkenhausen ist Kunsthistorikerin und lehrt seit 1993 an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin Neuere Kunstgeschichte.  Sie promovierte über Futurismus und die Kunstpolitik des Faschismus in Italien und habilitierte zur italienischen Monumentalmalerei im Risorgimento. Sie forscht u. a. zur Kunst, Architektur und Macht seit der Französischen Revolution, zu Theorie und Praxis von Repräsentation, zu Rhetorik und mediale Codierung in der Kunst seit 1945 sowie zum Verhältnis von Kunstgeschichte zu Visual Studies und Cultural Studies.

Hilke Thode-Arora ist Ethnologin, die sich auf den pazifischen Raum spezialisiert hat. Ihre Forschungsschwerpunkte umfassen interethnische Beziehungen, außereuropäische Perspektiven zu materieller Kultur und die Sammlungsgeschichte ethnografischer Museen. Sie promovierte 1999 zu den theoretischen und methodischen Grundlagen der Forschung über interethnische Ehen. Thode-Arora hat für verschiedenen Sammlungen gearbeitet sowie Feldstudien in Neuseeland, dem Pazifischen Inselstaat Niue und Samoa durchgeführt. Für das Museum Fünf Kontinente in München hat sie die viel beachtete Ausstellung From Samoa with Love? Samoa-Völkerschauen im Deutschen Kaiserreich – eine Spurensuche (2014) kuratiert.

Judith Welter ist Kunsthistorikerin und arbeitet als Sammlungskonservatorin am Migros Museum für Gegenwartskunst in Zürich. Sie studierte Kunstgeschichte, Spanische Literaturwissenschaft und Religionswissenschaft an der Universität Bern. Zur Zeit promoviert Judith Welter zur Wirkung, Funktion und Präsentation von Gerücht und Anekdote in der zeitgenössischen Kunst am Institut für Kunstgeschichte der Moderne und Gegenwart in Bern. 

Britta Schmitz arbeitet als Oberkustodin im Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart, Berlin. Seit 1983 ist sie als Kuratorin der Neuen Nationalgalerie tätig und betreut seit 1996 den zeitgenössischen Bestand der Nationalgalerie im Hamburger Bahnhof. Zuletzt kuratierte sie für die Nationalgalerie u. a.: Gottfried Landauer. Die Maori Portraits (2014); Martin Kippenberger: sehr gut / very good (2013); Ingeborg Lüscher (2012/2013); Hans-Peter Feldmann: Die Toten (2012/2013); Tomás Saraceno. Cloud Cities (2011/2012); Who Knows Tomorrow (2010).