Thursday, July 7, 2016, 7 pm
Zum subjektiven Blick im Krieg (On the subjective view at war)

Artist talk with Clemens von Wedemeyer (artist, Berlin), Gertrud Koch (professor of film studies at Freie Universität Berlin) and Volker Pantenburg (guest professor of film studies at Freie Universität Berlin)

In German
Free admission

On the occasion of the exhibition
P.O.V. at Neuer Berliner Kunstverein, in which Clemens von Wedemeyer examines the documentary footage of Captain Freiherr Harald von Vietinghoff-Riesch, who as an amateur cameraman filmed during the Second World War between 1938 and 1942 behind the front line, the possibilities of artistic approaches to the historically ambivalent material are discussed, particularly concerning questions of motifs and film grammar, the evaluation of home movies, for example in the context of television broadcasts, as well as the manner, in which ideologies are inscribed in private film footage.

Clemens von Wedemeyer studied photography and media at Fachhochschule Bielefeld and at the Academy of Fine Arts in Leipzig, where, since 2013, he is a professor of media art. His works have been shown in numerous international exhibitions and his films were shown at various film festivals, most recently, among others, at Forum Expanded, Berlin (2016); Filmfestival Diagonale, Graz (2016); Museum of Contemporary Art, Chicago (2015); Braunschweiger Kunstverein (2014); Museo nazionale delle arti del XXI secolo, Rome (2013); dOCUMENTA (13), Kassel (2012); Frankfurter Kunstverein (2011); Barbican Centre, London (2009); MoMA PS1, New York (2006).

Gertrud Koch is a professor of film studies at Freie Universität Berlin. Numerous guest professorships have taken her to Tel Aviv, New York, Vienna and Rio de Janeiro, among others. Furthermore, for her research she stayed at the Institute for Advanced Study in the Humanities in Essen, at the Getty Research Center in Los Angeles and others. Koch is co-editor of several German and international magazines, she published introductory volumes on Herbert Marcuse (together with M. H. Brunkhorst, 1987) and Siegfried Kracauer (1996), as well as the monographs „Was ich erbeute, sind Bilder“. Zur filmischen Repräsentation der Geschlechterdifferenz (What I’m capturing, are images. On cinematic representation of gender difference, 1988) and Die Einstellung ist die Einstellung. Zur visuellen Konstruktion des Judentums (The frame is the (mind) frame. On the visual construction of Judaism, 1992). Her latest publication Die Wiederkehr der Illusion – Der Film und die Kunst der Gegenwart (The return of illusion—film and art of today) (forthcoming) is dedicated to the fundamental role of film in the aesthetics of illusion.

Volker Pantenburg, since 2010, is an assistant professor of image theory with a focus on the research of moving image at the Bauhaus University Weimar. In summer 2016, he works as a guest professor of film studies at Freie Universität Berlin. He does research on cinematographic objects, experimental and documentary films and the intersection of cinema and contemporary art. His publications include Film als Theorie. Bildforschung bei Harun Farocki und Jean-Luc Godard (Film as theory. The image research of Harun Farocki and Jean-Luc Godard, 2006) and Ränder des Kinos. Godard – Wiseman – Benning – Costa (Borders of cinema, 2010); as a co-editor, he published, among others, Screen Dynamics. Mapping the Borders of Cinema (2012) and Wörterbuch kinematografischer Objekte (Dictionary of cinematographic objects, 2014). In 2015, he published the anthology Cinematographic Objects. Things and Operations.

Donnerstag, 7. Juli 2016, 19 Uhr
Zum subjektiven Blick im Krieg

Künstlergespräch mit Clemens von Wedemeyer (Künstler, Berlin), Gertrud Koch (Professorin für Filmwissenschaft an der Freien Universität Berlin) und Volker Pantenburg (Gastprofessor für Filmwissenschaft an der Freien Universität Berlin)

In deutscher Sprache
Eintritt frei

Anlässlich der Ausstellung
P.O.V. im Neuen Berliner Kunstverein, in der Clemens von Wedemeyer das dokumentarische Filmmaterial des Rittmeisters Freiherr Harald von Vietinghoff-Riesch untersucht, der zwischen 1938 und 1942 als Amateur-Kameramann im Zweiten Weltkrieg hinter der Front filmte, sollen Möglichkeiten des künstlerischen Umgangs mit dem historisch ambivalenten Material diskutiert werden, insbesondere im Zusammenhang mit Fragen nach Motivketten und Filmgrammatik, nach der Auswertung von privaten Filmen beispielsweise im Rahmen von Fernsehsendungen, sowie nach der Art und Weise, wie sich Ideologien in private Aufnahmen einschreiben.

Clemens von Wedemeyer studierte Fotografie und Medien an der Fachhochschule Bielefeld und an der Hochschule für Grafik und Buchkunst in Leipzig, wo er seit 2013 als Professor für Medienkunst tätig ist. Seine Arbeiten wurden in zahlreichen internationalen Ausstellungen gezeigt und seine Filme waren auf diversen Filmfestivals zu sehen, zuletzt u. a.: Forum Expanded, Berlin (2016); Filmfestival Diagonale, Graz (2016); Museum of Contemporary Art, Chicago (2015); Braunschweiger Kunstverein (2014); Museo nazionale delle arti del XXI secolo, Rom (2013); dOCUMENTA (13), Kassel (2012); Frankfurter Kunstverein (2011); Barbican Centre, London (2009); MoMA PS1, New York (2006).

Gertrud Koch ist Professorin für Filmwissenschaft an der Freien Universität Berlin. Zahlreiche Gastprofessuren führten sie u. a. nach Tel Aviv, New York, Wien und Rio de Janeiro; zudem hielt sie sich für ihre Forschungen u. a. am Kulturwissenschaftlichen Institut in Essen und am Getty Research Center in Los Angeles auf. Koch ist Mitherausgeberin mehrerer deutscher und internationaler Zeitschriften, sie veröffentlichte Einführungsbände zu Herbert Marcuse (zus. m. H. Brunkhorst, 1987) und Siegfried Kracauer (1996) sowie die Monographien „Was ich erbeute, sind Bilder“. Zur filmischen Repräsentation der Geschlechterdifferenz (1988) und Die Einstellung ist die Einstellung. Zur visuellen Konstruktion des Judentums (1992). In ihrer aktuellsten Publikation Die Wiederkehr der Illusion – Der Film und die Kunst der Gegenwart (im Erscheinen) widmet sie sich der grundlegenden Rolle des Films in der Illusionsästhetik.

Volker Pantenburg ist seit 2010 Juniorprofessor für Bildtheorie mit dem Schwerpunkt Bewegtbildforschung an der Bauhaus-Universität Weimar; im Sommer 2016 nimmt er eine Gastprofessor für Filmwissenschaft an der Freien Universität Berlin wahr. Er forscht zu kinematografischen Objekten, experimentellen und dokumentarischen Filmen und dem Schnittfeld von Kino und zeitgenössischer Kunst. Zu seinen Publikationen gehören Film als Theorie. Bildforschung bei Harun Farocki und Jean-Luc Godard (2006) und Ränder des Kinos. Godard – Wiseman – Benning – Costa (2010); als Mitherausgeber veröffentlichte er u. a. Screen Dynamics. Mapping the Borders of Cinema (2012) und Wörterbuch kinematografischer Objekte (2014). 2015 erschien der vom ihm herausgegebene Sammelband Cinematographic Objects. Things and Operations.