Thursday, June 23, 2016, 7 pm
Über Holger Meins – ein Versuch, unsere Sicht heute (1982)

Film projection and discussion with the directors Gerd Conradt and Hartmut Jahn, moderated by Siegfried Zielinski (media theorist, rector of the State Academy of Fine Arts Karlsruhe)

In German
Free admission

Über Holger Meins – Ein Versuch, unsere Sicht heute (1982) was jointly realized by Gerd Conradt and Hartmut Jahn, and within the oeuvre of the two filmmakers it represents a move towards the experimental and a rethinking of the possibilities of documentary film. This transition also manifests itself in the way they deal with the subject of the film. Apart from the research in archives, the medium video – at the time only manageable since about twelve years – served as a form of dissociation from television and as a tool to create their own audiovisual archive. An archive, too, of contemporary witnesses, here, primarily the father of the RAF member Meins is given a chance to speak. Conceived as a “search for traces”, the film reveals approaches of interpretation and narrative concepts and thus allows a new look at contemporary history.

The screening will take place as part of the retrospective
Gerd Conradt by Deutsche Kinemathek, Bundesplatz Kino and ORWOhaus.

Gerd Conradt (b. 1941), grown up in the GDR, is a director, cameraman, artist, author and lecturer. Together with Holger Meins, he was among the first students of the German Film and Television Academy (dffb) in Berlin, founded in 1966. His works take the shape of installations, television dramas, movies and video programs, which often, in a documentary way and frequently in the form of portraits, deal with contemporary history; besides, he is one of the pioneers of video poetry. His works include, among others, Farbtest Rote Fahne (1968), Hold Me, Love Me – Irene Moessinger und das Tempodrom (1995), Fernsehgrüße von West nach Ost (1986), Menschen und Steine (1998), Starbuck Holger Meins (2001), Farbtest.3 (2003, at the occasion of the 50th Venice Biennale), Sinfonie eines Flusses (2007) and Video Vertov (2012).

Hartmut Jahn (b. 1955) is a writer, director and producer. In 1982, together with Gerd Conradt, Monika Funke Stern and Hanno Baethe he founded the CONFU BAJA VIDEO Studio. At an early stage and in an experimental way, he explored the narrative forms of the medium television. Next to short and feature films he produced multimedia projects, worked at the Institute of Audiovisual Media of the University of Hildesheim and gave seminars at the Goethe Institutes in Hong Kong, Lima, New Delhi, Marseille and Mumbai. Since 1998, Jahn is a professor of filmmaking at the University of Applied Sciences Mainz and, since 2011, also the spokesman of the Institute for Media Design there.

Siegfried Zielinski (b. 1951) is a media theorist and, since 2016, Rector of the State Academy of Fine Arts Karlsruhe. From 2007 to 2016, he worked as a professor of media theory at the University of Arts in Berlin, where he also directed the Vilém Flusser Archive. Furthermore Zielinski is the Michel Foucault Chair and professor of media archeology and techno-aesthetics at the European Graduate School in Saas-Fee (since 2000), and among others, member of the Berlin Academy of Arts and, on an honorary basis, on the board of ZKM | Center for Art and Media Karlsruhe. He was Founding Rector of the Academy of Media Arts Cologne (1994–2000). His publications include Archäologie der Medien (2002), [... nach den Medien] (2012) and FLUSSIANA (2015, together with Peter Weibel and Daniel Irrgang).

Donnerstag, 23. Juni 2016, 19 Uhr
Über Holger Meins – ein Versuch, unsere Sicht heute (1982)

Filmprojektion und Diskussion mit den Regisseuren Gerd Conradt und Hartmut Jahn, moderiert von Siegfried Zielinski (Medientheoretiker, Rektor der Staatlichen Hochschule für Gestaltung Karlsruhe)

In deutscher Sprache
Eintritt frei

Über Holger Meins – Ein Versuch, unsere Sicht heute (1982) wurde gemeinsam von Gerd Conradt und Hartmut Jahn realisiert und beschreibt im Gesamtwerk der beiden Filmemacher eine Hinwendung zum Experimentellen und ein Neudenken der Möglichkeiten des Dokumentarfilms. Dieser Übergang vollzieht sich auch im Umgang mit den Inhalten des Films. Neben der Recherche in Archiven diente das Medium Video – zu dem Zeitpunkt erst ca. zwölf Jahre handhabbar – zur Abgrenzung vom Fernsehen und zur Anlage eines eigenen audiovisuellen Archivs. Eines Archivs auch der Zeitzeugen, indem etwa vornehmlich der Vater des RAF-Mitglieds Meins zu Wort kommt. Der als „Spurensuche“ verstandene Film legt dabei Interpretationsansätze und Erzählkonzepte offen und ermöglicht so einen neuen Blick auf Zeitgeschichte.

Das Screening findet im Rahmen der
Werkschau Gerd Conradt der Deutschen Kinemathek, dem Bundesplatz Kino und dem ORWOhaus statt.

Gerd Conradt (*1941), aufgewachsen in der DDR, ist Regisseur, Kameramann, Künstler, Autor und Dozent. Gemeinsam mit Holger Meins gehörte er zu den ersten Studenten der 1966 gegründeten Deutschen Film- und Fernsehakademie (dffb) in Berlin. Seine Werke gestalten sich als Installationen, Fernsehspiele, Filme und Videoprogramme, die sich oftmals dokumentarisch und häufig in Form von Porträts mit Zeitgeschichte auseinandersetzen; zudem gehört er zu den Pionieren der Video-Poesie. Zu seinen Arbeiten zählen u. a.: Farbtest Rote Fahne (1968), Hold Me, Love Me – Irene Moessinger und das Tempodrom (1995), Fernsehgrüße von West nach Ost (1986), Menschen und Steine (1998), Starbuck Holger Meins (2001), Farbtest.3 (2003, anlässlich der 50. Venedig Biennale), Sinfonie eines Flusses (2007) und Video Vertov (2012).

Hartmut Jahn (*1955) ist Autor, Regisseur und Produzent. 1982 gründete er mit Gerd Conradt, Monika Funke Stern und Hanno Baethe das CONFU BAJA VIDEO-Studio. Er setzte sich früh und experimentell mit den Erzählformen des Mediums Fernsehen auseinander. Neben Kurz- und Langfilmen schuf er Multimedia-Projekte, arbeitete am Institut für Audiovisuelle Medien der Universität Hildesheim und gab Seminare an den Goethe-Instituten in Hongkong, Lima, New Delhi, Marseille und Mumbai. Seit 1998 ist Jahn Professor für Filmgestaltung an der Hochschule Mainz und seit 2011 zudem Sprecher des dortigen Instituts für Mediengestaltung.

Siegfried Zielinski (*1951) ist Medientheoretiker und seit 2016 Rektor der Staatlichen Hochschule für Gestaltung Karlsruhe, von 2007 bis 2016 war er als Professor für Medientheorie an der Universität der Künste Berlin tätig, wo er auch das Vilém-Flusser-Archiv leitete. Weiterhin ist Zielinski Michel-Foucault-Professor für Medienarchäologie und Techno-Ästhetik an der European Graduate School in Saas-Fee (seit 2000) sowie u. a. Mitglied der Akademie der Künste Berlin und ehrenamtlich im Kuratorium des ZKM | Zentrum für Kunst und Medientechnologie Karlsruhe tätig. Er war Gründungsrektor der Kunsthochschule für Medien Köln (1994–2000). Zu seinen Veröffentlichungen gehören u. a. Archäologie der Medien (2002), [... nach den Medien] (2012) und FLUSSIANA (2015, zus. m. Peter Weibel und Daniel Irrgang).