Thursday, October 16, 2014, 7 pm
Die Macht der Einladung und die Ambivalenz des Generösen

Lecture by Beatrice von Bismarck (art historian and curator, Professor of Art History and Visual Studies, Academy of Visual Arts Leipzig)
In German language


In her lecture accompanying the exhibition Imperium by Luca Vitone at Neuer Berliner Kunstverein, Beatrice von Bismarck assumes that each exhibition produces a situation of “hospitality”, where invitations are given, people and objects behave as guests and, by making a variety of offers, an atmosphere of hospitality is created. She closely looks at the political moments of such situations, on the hierarchies, dependencies and exclusions that are part of the gestures of welcoming and generosity.

Beatrice von Bismarck (Leipzig / Berlin) teaches Art History, Visual Studies and Cultures of the Curatorial at the Academy of Visual Arts Leipzig. From 1989 to 1993, she worked in the Department of the 20th century at the Städel Museum, Frankfurt/Main. From 1993 to 1999, she was teaching at the University of Lüneburg, where she co-founded and co-directed the “Kunstraum” (Art Space) of the University of Lüneburg. In 2000, she co-founded and and co-directed the /D/O/C/K project space at the Academy of Visual Arts Leipzig and, in 2009, initiated the course “Cultures of the Curatorial”. In her current research, among others, she looks at approaches of cultural production that are linking theory and practice, curatorial activity and cultural practice as well as the effects of globalization. Publications include:
Timing – On the Temporal Dimension of Exhibiting (ed. with Rike Frank, Benjamin Meyer-Krahmer, Jörn Schafaff and Tomas Weski), Berlin 2014; Cultures of the Curatorial (ed. with Jörn Schafaff and Thomas Weski), Berlin 2012; Auftritt als Künstler (appearance as an artist), Cologne 2010.

Donnerstag, 16. Oktober 2014, 19 Uhr
Die Macht der Einladung und die Ambivalenz des Generösen

Vortrag von Beatrice von Bismarck (Kunsthistorikerin, Kuratorin, Professorin für Kunstgeschichte und Bildwissenschaft, Hochschule für Grafik und Buchkunst Leipzig)

In ihrem Vortrag im Rahmen der Ausstellung Imperium von Luca Vitone im Neuen Berliner Kunstverein geht Beatrice von Bismarck davon aus, dass jede Ausstellung eine Situation der „Gastfreundschaft“ herstellt, in der Einladungen ausgesprochen werden, Menschen und Objekte als Gäste auftreten und mit unterschiedlichen Angeboten Atmosphären der Gastlichkeit geschaffen werden. Sie widmet sich den politischen Momenten einer solchen Situation, den Hierarchien, Abhängigkeiten und Ausschlüssen, die Teil sind der Gesten des Willkommen-Heißens und der Generosität.

Beatrice von Bismarck (Leipzig / Berlin) lehrt Kunstgeschichte, Bildwissenschaft und Kulturen des Kuratorischen an der Hochschule für Grafik und Buchkunst Leipzig. 1989 bis 1993 war sie am Städelschen Kunstinstitut, Frankfurt/Main in der Abteilung 20. Jahrhundert tätig. Von 1993 bis 1999 lehrte sie an der Leuphana Universität Lüneburg, wo sie Mitbegründerin und -leiterin des „Kunstraums der Universität Lüneburg“ war. 2000 mitbegründete und -leitete sie den /D/O/C/K-Projektbereich der Hochschule für Grafik und Buchkunst Leipzig und war 2009 Initiatorin des Studiengangs „Kulturen des Kuratorischen“. Zu ihren aktuellen Forschungsgebieten zählen Theorie und Praxis verbindende Ansätze kultureller Produktion, kuratorisches Handeln sowie kulturelle Praxis und Globalisierungseffekte. Veröffentlichungen u. a.:
Timing – On the Temporal Dimension of Exhibiting (Hg. mit Rike Frank, Benjamin Meyer-Krahmer, Jörn Schafaff und Tomas Weski), Berlin 2014; Cultures of the Curatorial (Hg. mit Jörn Schafaff und Thomas Weski), Berlin 2012; Auftritt als Künstler, Köln 2010.