Sunday, November 6, 2016, 8 pm
DJ İpek İpekçioğlu
Eklektik Berlinİstan
Anadolu Turkey, MidEast, Balkan, Elektro Fusion


DJ-Gig

Berlin and Istanbul based queer DJ and producer İpek Ipekçioglu has established her reputation in the heterogeneous landscape of the international club scene. She enjoys playing with musical clichés and at the same time brings previously unknown tracks to the dance floor, where she seeks to cater for enthusiastic encounters and ecstatic border crossings—without passport controls and integration tests. In 2006 and 2009, she released two albums, both titled Beyond Istanbul and, in 2007, her compilation Import Export a la Turka, which comprises German-Turkish music from three decades. She is a resident DJ at renowned events like the Gayhane-HomOriental party at SO36—one of the main events of the Berlin LGBTQ scene—the Kanakwood-PostMigrantSounds, the Berlinale, as well as cultural institutions such as Radialsystem and Maxim-Gorki-Theater. In addition, appearances at festivals (incl. in Amsterdam, Salvador da Bahia, New York, Cairo, Yemen and Beijing) expand her radius.

Ipekçioglu, who studied social education, also passes on her knowledge in DJ workshops and lectures on hybrid and queer identities / multiple affiliations and transcultural clubbing. Finally, DJ Ipek is patron of “Schule ohne Rassismus – Schule mit Courage” (School without Racism—School with Courage) and is politically committed to the rights of migrants, lesbians and gays, she has written numerous essays on respective topics, as well as founded, inter alia, the intersectionally oriented association GLADT. In 2001, she published, as a co-author, the volume
Lebenswelten von Migrantinnen und Migranten in Berlin (Migrant Worlds in Berlin). İpek İpekçioğlu’s heterogeneous as well as poignant work seeks to communicate transcultural realities and at that makes use of various channels and methods.

At n.b.k., DJ İpek presents one of her eclectic sets: Psychedelic Turkish Funk meets Disco, Balkan Folk meets House, Kurdish Halay meets Electro, Turkish Tango meets Breakbeat, Bhangra meets Moombahton, Albanian Pop meets Twerk, Iranian Folk meets Techno.

www.soundcloud.com/djipek

Free admission

Sonntag, 6. November 2016, 20 Uhr
DJ İpek İpekçioğlu
Eklektik Berlinİstan
Anadolu Turkey, MidEast, Balkan, Elektro Fusion


DJ-Gig

Die in Berlin und Istanbul queer lebende DJ und Produzentin İpek İpekçioğlu hat sich in der heterogenen internationalen Clublandschaft einen Namen gemacht. Sie genießt das Spiel mit musikalischen Klischees und bringt zugleich bisher unbekannte Stücke auf die Tanzfläche, auf der sie für begeisterte Begegnungen und ekstatische Grenzüberschreitungen sorgen will – ohne Passkontrollen und Integrationstests. 2006 und 2009 veröffentlichte sie jeweils Alben unter dem Titel Beyond Istanbul, 2007 erschien ihre Kompilation Import Export a la Turka, die deutsch-türkische Musik aus drei Jahrzehnten umfasst. Sie ist Resident-DJ bei bekannten Veranstaltungen wie der GayHane-HomOriental-Party im SO36 – eines der wichtigsten Events der Berliner LGBTQ-Szene –, den Kanakwood-PostMigrantSounds, der Berlinale sowie Kultureinrichtungen wie dem Radialsystem und dem Maxim-Gorki-Theater. Auftritte auf Festivals (u. a. in Amsterdam, Salvador da Bahia, New York, Kairo, Jemen und Peking) erweitern ihren Radius zusätzlich.

İpekçioğlu, die Sozialpädagogik studierte, gibt ihr Wissen auch in DJ-Workshops und Lectures zu hybriden und queeren Identitäten / Mehrfachzugehörigkeiten und transkulturellem Clubbing weiter. Nicht zuletzt ist DJ Ipek Schirmherrin der Aktion „Schule ohne Rassismus – Schule mit Courage“ und engagiert sich politisch für die Rechte von MigrantInnen, Lesben und Schwulen, sie hat zahlreiche Aufsätze zu entsprechenden Themen verfasst, sowie u. a. den intersektional orientierten Verein GLADT gegründet. 2001 veröffentlichte sie als Ko-Autorin den Band
Lebenswelten von Migrantinnen und Migranten in Berlin. İpek İpekçioğlus heterogenes wie pointiertes Schaffen sucht transkulturelle Realitäten zu vermitteln und bedient sich dabei verschiedenster Kanäle und Methoden.

Im n.b.k. präsentiert DJ İpek eines ihrer eklektischen Sets: Psychedelic Turkish Funk trifft auf Disko, Balkanfolk auf House, kurdischer Halay auf Elektro, türkischer Tango auf Break Beat, Bhangra auf Moombahton, albanischer Pop auf Twerk, iranischer Folk auf Techno.

www.soundcloud.com/djipek

Eintritt frei