Thursday, January 19, 2017, 7 pm
Emil und die Detektive

Screening of the classic from 1931 (director: Gerhard Lamprecht, screenplay: Billy Wilder), followed by a talk with Kasper König (artistic director Skulptur Projekte Münster 2017), moderated by Marius Babias (director n.b.k.)

In German
Free admisson

Candida Höfer presents in the exhibition
Nach Berlin at Neuer Berliner Kunstverein numerous new photographs and projections. The title of the exhibition is a quotation from the movie Emil and the Detectives (1931), much valued by Candida Höfer, which, due to its cinematic portrayal of the city of Berlin and its surprising twists and turns, until today captures one’s imagination. “Nach Berlin” (To / After Berlin) can also signify the expectations of the visitors, who are meant to be disappointed—as in the film—because there are no photographs of libraries, for which the artist became famous. Instead, one can experience new perspectives in the artistic development of Candida Höfer—from wealth of forms to basic forms, from the view on the multifarious whole to the concentration on the abstract detail and from the static to the moving image. The exhibition gives an insight into a practice, which the artist has developed and which is complementary to her previous approach. At Neuer Berliner Kunstverein, these recent works are specifically put into relation to each other in order to explore how it could go on “after Berlin”. Nach Berlin stands for a new beginning of the artist, who opposes the expectations and looks for new artistic ways.

Emil und die Detektive is based on the novel of the same name by Erich Kästner (1929). The film is one of the main works of early sound film. Director: Gerhard Lamprecht, screenplay: Billy Wilder, 1931, 75 min

The curator Kasper König (b. 1943 in Mettingen, living in Berlin) is artistic director of
Skulptur Projekte Münster 2017. From 2000 to 2012, he was the head of Museum Ludwig in Cologne. König was one of the initiators of the Skulptur Projekte Münster (1977/1987/1997/2007), as well as the founding director of the exhibition hall Portikus in Frankfurt/Main (1987). He has curated several major exhibitions, which amongst others include Westkunst (1981), Von hier aus (1984), Der zerbrochene Spiegel (1993), and In-Between Architecture (2000). In 2014, he curated the 10th Manifesta in St. Petersburg. Apart from his work as a curator, from 1985 onward, Kasper König was teaching at the Kunstakademie Düsseldorf, and from 1988 onward, at the Städelschule in Frankfurt/Main, which from 1989 to 1999 he ran as rector.

Donnerstag, 19. Januar 2017, 19 Uhr
Emil und die Detektive

Screening des Filmklassikers von 1931 (Regie: Gerhard Lamprecht, Drehbuch: Billy Wilder), anschließend Gespräch mit Kasper König (Künstlerischer Leiter Skulptur Projekte Münster 2017), moderiert von Marius Babias (Direktor n.b.k.)

In deutscher Sprache
Eintritt frei

Candida Höfer zeigt in der Ausstellung
Nach Berlin im Neuen Berliner Kunstverein zahlreiche neue fotografische Arbeiten und Projektionen. Der Titel der Ausstellung ist ein Zitat aus dem von Candida Höfer geschätzten Film Emil und die Detektive (1931), der aufgrund seiner filmischen Darstellung der Stadt Berlin und seinen überraschenden Wendungen bis heute große Faszination ausübt. „Nach Berlin“ kann auch die Erwartungen der BesucherInnen meinen, die – wie im Film – enttäuscht werden sollen, denn es gibt keine Fotografien von Bibliotheken zu sehen, mit denen die Künstlerin berühmt wurde. Stattdessen können neue Sichtweisen in der künstlerischen Entwicklung Candida Höfers – vom Formenreichtum zu Grundformen, vom Blick auf das vielfältige Ganze zur Konzentration auf das abstrakte Detail und von der Statik zum Bewegtbild – erfahren werden. Die Ausstellung gibt Einblick in eine Arbeitsweise, die die Künstlerin komplementär zu ihrem bisherigen Vorgehen entwickelt hat. Im Neuen Berliner Kunstverein werden die neueren Werke gezielt zueinander in Beziehung gesetzt, um auszuloten, wie es „nach Berlin“ weitergehen könnte. Nach Berlin steht für einen Neuaufbruch der Künstlerin, die sich den Erwartungen widersetzt und neue künstlerische Wege sucht.

Emil und die Detektive basiert auf dem gleichnamigen Roman / Kinderbuchklassikers von Erich Kästner (1929). Der Film zählt zu den bedeutendsten Werken der frühen Tonfilmzeit. Regie: Gerhard Lamprecht, Drehbuch: Billy Wilder, 1931, 75 min.

Der Ausstellungsmacher Kasper König (*1943 in Mettingen, lebt in Berlin) ist künstlerischer Leiter der
Skulptur Projekte Münster 2017. Er leitete von 2000 bis 2012 das Museum Ludwig in Köln. König war Mitinitiator der Skulptur Projekte Münster (1977/1987/1997/2007) sowie Gründungsdirektor der Ausstellungshalle Portikus in Frankfurt/Main (1987). Er kuratierte zahlreiche Großausstellungen, darunter u. a. Westkunst (1981), Von hier aus (1984), Der zerbrochene Spiegel (1993) und In-Between Architecture (2000). 2014 kuratierte er die 10. Manifesta in St. Petersburg. Neben seiner Tätigkeit als Ausstellungsmacher lehrte Kasper König ab 1985 an der Kunstakademie Düsseldorf und ab 1988 an der Städelschule in Frankfurt/Main, die er von 1989 bis 1999 als Rektor leitete.