Thursday, December 8, 2016, 7 pm
Der fotografische Blick

Panel discussion with Doreen Mende (curator and theoretician, Berlin / Geneva), Michael Oppitz (professor emeritus in ethnology, University Zurich and head of the Ethnographic Museum Zurich), and Katharina Sykora (professor in art history, Braunschweig University of Art), moderated by Anselm Franke (head of visual arts and film, Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Berlin)

In German
Free admission

With
Nach Berlin, Neuer Berliner Kunstverein presents works by Candida Höfer, which visualize the range of artistic views by the well-known photographer – from the wealth of forms to basic forms, from the view on the multifarious whole to the concentration on the abstract detail and from the static to the moving image. Based on this extensive oeuvre, experts will discuss aspects of image theory that characterize Candida Höfer’s works – in particular the most recent ones.


Anselm Franke is an author, art critic and curator, and since the beginning of 2013, head of the Department of Visual Arts, Film, Digital Media at Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Berlin. He was the curator of the Shanghai Biennale (2014/2015) and the Taipei Biennial (2012), as well as co-curator of the Forum Expanded program at the Berlin International Film Festival (2012), the 1st Brussels Biennial (2008) and Manifesta 7 in Trentino-Alto Adige, Italy (with Adam Budak, Hila Peleg, Raqs Media Collective, 2008). From 2006 to 2010, Franke was the director of Extra City Kunsthal in Antwerp and from 2001 to 2006, exhibition director of Kunst-Werke - KW Institute for Contemporary Art, Berlin.

Doreen Mende is a curator and theoretician. She examines geopolitical constellations, image technologies, economics, display and boundaries of knowledge. Exhibitions, publications and projects with KP Brehmer, Candida Höfer, Armin Linke and Behnam Sadighi, as well as:
Travelling Communiqué (2013/2014), Doppelte Ökonomien (double economies) (2012/2013), Fehler #5 (mistake #5) (2007), Ear Appeal (2006) and the practice-led PhD The Itinerant (2014). She was a research fellow of the Arab Image Foundation, Beirut (2011) and a blog resident of the Manifesta Journal (2013/2014). Mende is a founding member of General Public and the Harun Farocki Institute in Berlin. Since 2015, she also is the director and a professor of the CCC Research Master Programme and PhD Forum at HEAD, Geneva School of Art and Design.

Michael Oppitz studied in Berkeley, Bonn and Cologne. In 1974, he submitted his thesis on the history of structural anthropology. In 1986, he habilitated with a study on the marriage to one’s cross cousin (both writings were published by Suhrkamp). Field studies in the Himalayas with the Sherpa (1965), the Magar (1977-1984), the Naxi in Yunnan (1995-1996) and the Qiang in Sichuan (2000-2001). Guest professorships in England, France and the USA, Professor of Anthropology at the University of Zurich from 1991 to 2008, and Director of the Ethnographic Museum there, emeritus since 2008. Oppitz published numerous books on kinship, mythology, rituals, shamanism, visual anthropology and material culture, most recently:
Morphologie der Schamanentrommel (the morphology of the shaman drum) (2013); a new study on the myth of the lost writing is currently in progress.

Katharina Sykora studied art history at the universities of Würzburg and Heidelberg as well as film studies in Frankfurt / Main. From 1985, she worked as a research associate at the feminist archive and documentation center, Frankfurt / Main and at Kunsthalle Mannheim. From 1994 to 2000, Sykora was a professor of art history with a focus on gender research at the Ruhr-Universität Bochum. Since 2001, she has been a professor at the Institute for Aesthetics & Art History at the Braunschweig University of Art. Since 2013, she has also been head of the DFG graduate course “Das Fotografische Dispositiv” (the photographic dispositif).

Donnerstag, 8. Dezember 2016, 19 Uhr
Der fotografische Blick

Podiumsdiskussion mit Doreen Mende (Kuratorin und Theoretikerin, Berlin / Genf), Michael Oppitz (Prof. em. Ethnologie, Universität Zürich und Leiter des Zürcher Völkerkundemuseums) und Katharina Sykora (Prof. Kunstgeschichte, Hochschule für Bildende Künste Braunschweig), moderiert von Anselm Franke (Leiter Bildende Kunst und Film, Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Berlin)

In deutscher Sprache
Eintritt frei

Mit
Nach Berlin präsentiert der Neue Berliner Kunstverein Werke von Candida Höfer, die die Bandbreite der künstlerischen Sichtweisen der renommierten Fotografin erfahrbar machen – vom Formenreichtum zu Grundformen, vom Blick auf das vielfältige Ganze zur Konzentration auf das abstrakte Detail und von der Statik zum Bewegtbild. Ausgehend von diesem umfangreichen Werk, diskutieren ExpertInnen bildtheoretische Aspekte, die Candida Höfers Arbeiten – insbesondere die jüngsten – auszeichnen.


Anselm Franke, Autor, Kunstkritiker und Kurator, leitet seit Anfang 2013 den Bereich Bildende Kunst, Film, Digitale Medien am Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Berlin. Er war Kurator der Shanghai Biennale (2014/2015) und der Taipei Biennale (2012) sowie Ko-Kurator des Programms Forum Expanded der Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin (2012), der 1. Brüssel Biennale (2008) und der Manifesta 7 in Trentino-Alto Adige / Italien (mit Adam Budak, Hila Peleg, Raqs Media Collective, 2008). Von 2006–2010 war Franke Direktor der Extra City Kunsthal in Antwerpen, von 2001–2006 Ausstellungsleiter der Kunst-Werke – KW Institute for Contemporary Art, Berlin.

Doreen Mende ist Kuratorin und Theoretikerin, sie beschäftigt sich mit geopolitischen Konstellationen, Bildtechnologien, Ökonomie, Display und Wissenslimits. Ausstellungen, Publikationen und Projekte mit KP Brehmer, Candida Höfer, Armin Linke und Behnam Sadighi, außerdem:
Travelling Communiqué (2013/2014), Doppelte Ökonomien (2012/2013), Fehler #5 (2007), Ear Appeal (2006) und das Praxis-geführte PhD The Itinerant (2014). Sie war Research Fellow der Arab Image Foundation, Beirut (2011) und Blog-Resident des Manifesta Journal (2013/2014). Mende ist Gründungsmitglied von General Public und des Harun Farocki Instituts in Berlin sowie seit 2015 Leiterin und Professorin des CCC Research Master und PhD-Forums an der Haute école d'art et de design, Genf.

Michael Oppitz studierte in Berkeley, Bonn und Köln, 1974 legte er seine Dissertation zur Geschichte der strukturalen Anthropologie vor, 1986 Habilitation mit einer Studie zur Heirat mit der Kreuzkusine (beide Schriften erschienen bei Suhrkamp). Feldforschungen im Himalaya bei den Sherpa (1965), den Magar (1977–1984), den Naxi in Yunnan (1995–1996) und den Qiang in Sichuan (2000–2001). Gastprofessuren in England, Frankreich und den USA, von 1991–2008 Professor für Ethnologie an der Universität Zürich und Direktor des dortigen Ethnographischen Museums, seit 2008 emeritiert. Oppitz veröffentlichte zahlreiche Bücher zu Verwandtschaft, Mythologie, Ritual, Schamanismus, visueller Anthropologie und materieller Kultur, zuletzt:
Morphologie der Schamanentrommel (2013); eine neue Studie zum Mythos der verlorenen Schrift ist derzeit in Arbeit.

Katharina Sykora studierte Kunstgeschichte an den Universitäten Würzburg und Heidelberg sowie Filmwissenschaft in Frankfurt/Main. Ab 1985 Tätigkeiten als wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin im Feministischen Archiv und Dokumentationszentrum Frankfurt/Main und an der Kunsthalle Mannheim. Von 1994–2000 war Sykora Professorin für Kunstgeschichte mit dem Schwerpunkt Geschlechterforschung an der Ruhr-Universität Bochum, seit 2001 ist sie Professorin am Institut für Kunstwissenschaft der Hochschule für Bildende Künste Braunschweig. Seit 2013 leitet sie zudem das DFG Graduiertenkolleg „Das Fotografische Dispositiv“.