Monday, October 30, 2017, 9 pm
Gegen-Musik

Screening, followed by a discussion
Venue: Kino Arsenal, Potsdamer Straße 2, 10785 Berlin


So long good-bye (Hörfunk / Radio, Harun Farocki, WDR 3, 1978, 47 min)

Single. Eine Schallplatte wird produziert (Director: Harun Farocki, 1979, OV/EnS, 49 min)

Followed by a discussion with Antje Ehmann (artist and curator, Berlin) and Christine Lang (filmmaker, cultural scientist, and dramaturg, Berlin)


So long good-bye
: In Farock’s film, music plays neither an accompanying, nor a dramatic role, but rather appears as a space for observing production processes, much like how the image functions. So long good-bye (1978) is a radio feature by Harun Farocki for WDR, which documented the 18-hour production of a three-minute disco single at the Hansa studios in Berlin in April 1977, a single which was supposed to replicate the success of Boney M. and Donna Summer in the record shop shelves. Two years later, Farocki returned to the sound studio – now with a camera – to document the production of another piece of music for Single. Eine Schallplatte wird produziert (1979).

Single. Eine Schallplatte wird produziert: Harun Farocki observes and documents the recording of a three-minute-long pop song in a record studio. His interest in work processes is directed at the culture industry, in which music production is understood as a process based on the division of labor.

Admission: ticket (€ 7,50; members Arsenal and n.b.k.: € 5)


The
Harun Farocki Retrospective is a project by Neuer Berliner Kunstverein (n.b.k.) in cooperation with Arsenal - Institut für Film und Videokunst e.V., the Harun Farocki Institut, Harun Farocki GbR, silent green Kulturquartier, Verlag der Buchhandlung Walther König, SAVVY Contemporary and Haus der Kulturen der Welt, as part of the Berlin Art Week, supported by the Senate Department for Culture and Europe.

For more information see
www.harunfarockiretrospektive.org

Montag, 30. Oktober 2017, 21 Uhr
Gegen-Musik

Screening mit anschließendem Gespräch
Ort: Kino Arsenal, Potsdamer Straße 2, 10785 Berlin


So long good-bye (Hörfunk / Radio, Harun Farocki, WDR 3, 1978, 47 min)

Single. Eine Schallplatte wird produziert (Regie: Harun Farocki, 1979, OmE, 49 min)

Anschließend Gespräch mit Antje Ehmann (Künstlerin und Kuratorin, Berlin) und Christine Lang (Filmemacherin, Kulturwissenschaftlerin und Dramaturgin, Berlin)


So long good-bye
: Musik spielt in Farockis Filmen weder eine begleitende noch eine dramatische Rolle, sondern sie taucht ebenso wie das Bild als Beobachtungsraum von Produktionsprozessen auf. So long good-bye (1978) ist ein Radio-Feature von Harun Farocki für den WDR, das die 18-stündige Produktion einer Disco-Single von drei Minuten Länge im April 1977 in den Hansa-Studios in Berlin dokumentierte, welche auf der Erfolgswelle von Boney M. und Donna Summer in die Plattenregale schwappen sollte. Zwei Jahre später geht Farocki erneut – nun mit der Kamera – ins Tonstudio, um die Produktion eines anderen Musikstücks für Single. Eine Schallplatte wird produziert (1979) zu dokumentieren.

Single. Eine Schallplatte wird produziert : Farocki beobachtet und dokumentiert die Einspielung eines dreiminütigen Popsongs in einem Plattenstudio. Sein Interesse an Arbeitsprozessen richtet sich auch auf die Kulturindustrie, in der Musikproduktion als arbeitsteiliger Prozess verstanden wird.

Eintritt: Kinokarte (€ 7,50; Mitglieder Arsenal und n.b.k.: € 5)


Teil der
Harun Farocki Retrospektive einem Projekt des Neuen Berliner Kunstvereins (n.b.k.) in Kooperation mit dem Arsenal – Institut für Film und Videokunst, dem Harun Farocki Institut, der Harun Farocki GbR, dem silent green Kulturquartier, dem Verlag der Buchhandlung Walther König, Savvy Contemporary und dem Haus der Kulturen der Welt im Rahmen der Berlin Art Week, gefördert von der Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa.

Weitere Informationen unter
www.harunfarockiretrospektive.org