Thursday, October 27, 2016, 7 pm
Is Art Useful in the Context of Contemporary Politics?

Panel discussion

With Julieta Aranda (artist, Berlin / New York),
Boris Buden (cultural theorist, author, Berlin),
Fulya Erdemci (curator, author, Istanbul),
moderated by Ingo Arend (author, critic, Berlin)

In English
Free admission

The Neuer Berliner Kunstverein is currently presenting the exhibition
Space Refugee by Halil Altındere, which in the light of European defense against immigrants and at some ironic distance proposes to use the cosmic space as a haven for refugees.

9/11, Fukushima, “Refugee Crisis” or Charlie Hebdo—world events have an influence on contemporary art. The interactions of art and politics, which also show in Halil Altındere’s work, are the starting point for a discussion about the way in which contemporary art refers to global events. The analysis of ethical principles in contemporary art plays as much a role as the question of whether—and if so, how—art influences the perception of political issues among the general public.

Julieta Aranda, born in Mexico City, lives and works as a artist in New York and Berlin. In her practice she deals, amongst other topics, with the politicized subject or the possibility of a politicized subjectivity. Together with artist Anton Vidokle she founded the internet-platform e-flux and regularly publishes the online magazine e-flux journal. Aranda and Vidokle have been implementing the project Time / Bank since 2009, which deals with time as an alternative currency. Exhibitions (selection): Berlin Biennale (2014); dOCUMENTA (13), Kassel (2012); Neuer Berliner Kunstverein (2012); Venice Biennale (2011); Portikus, Frankfurt / Main (2011); 6th Liverpool Biennial (2010); Guggenheim Museum, New York (2009).

Ingo Arend, born in Frankfurt / Main, political theorist and historian, has been working as a writer and critic in Berlin since 1990. From 1996 to 2010, he worked for the weekly newspaper Freitag, at last as editorial director. He is a member of the chair of neue Gesellschaft für bildende Kunst (nGbK) and lives in Berlin.

Boris Buden
is a writer, cultural critic and translator. His essays and articles cover topics related to philosophy, politics and cultural and art criticism. Among his translations into Croatian are some of the most important works of Sigmund Freud. Buden is the author of Find Europe (2015), Zone of Transition: On the End of Post-communism (2009), Translation: Promises of a Concept (with Stefan Nowotny, 2008), The Pit of Babel: Is Culture Translatable? (2004), and others. Buden currently teaches cultural theory at the Faculty of Art and Design, Bauhaus Universität Weimar. He lives in Berlin.

Fulya Erdemci lives and works as a curator and author in Istanbul. She curated, among others, the 13th Istanbul Biennial (2013) as well as the Turkish Pavilion at the 54th Venice Biennale (2011). From 2008 to 2012, she directed Stichting Kunst en Openbare Ruimte (SKOR) in Amsterdam. Among the projects she realized there, were Morality Wall: Between You and I (in cooperation with Witte de With, Rotterdam, 2010) and the international series of research, symposia and publications Actors, Agents and Attendants (2010–2011). Currently, Erdemci is the curator of the contemporary art program of the Cappadox festival, which was launched in Cappadocia in 2015.

Donnerstag, 27. Oktober 2016, 19 Uhr
Is Art Useful in the Context of Contemporary Politics?

Podiumsdiskussion

Mit Julieta Aranda (Künstlerin, Berlin/New York),
Boris Buden (Kulturtheoretiker, Autor, Berlin),
Fulya Erdemci (Kuratorin, Autorin, Istanbul),
moderiert von Ingo Arend (Autor, Kritiker, Berlin)

In englischer Sprache
Eintritt frei

Der Neue Berliner Kunstverein präsentiert aktuell die Ausstellung
Space Refugee von Halil Altındere, die angesichts der Abwehr von MigrantInnen in Europa mit ironischer Distanz den Weltraum als Zufluchtsort für Geflüchtete vorschlägt.

Ob 9/11, Fukushima, „Flüchtlingskrise“ oder Charlie Hebdo – weltpolitische Ereignisse haben einen Einfluss auf die zeitgenössische Kunst. Die Interferenzen von Kunst und Politik, die sich auch in Halil Altınderes Werk zeigen, sind der Ausgangspunkt für eine Diskussion über die Art und Weise, wie die zeitgenössische Kunst auf das globale politische Geschehen Bezug nimmt. Dabei spielt die Analyse ethischer Grundsätze in der zeitgenössischen Kunst genauso eine Rolle wie die Frage, ob – und wenn ja, wie – die Kunst die Wahrnehmung politischer Themen in der Öffentlichkeit beeinflusst.

Julieta Aranda, geboren in Mexiko-Stadt, lebt und arbeitet als Künstlerin in New York und Berlin. In ihrer Praxis beschäftigt sie sich u. a. mit dem politisierten Subjekt beziehungsweise der Möglichkeit einer politisierten Subjektivität. Zusammen mit dem Künstler Anton Vidokle gründete sie die Internetplattform e-flux und gibt regelmäßig das Online-Magazin e-flux Journal heraus. Seit 2010 realisiert Aranda zusammen mit Vidokle das Projekt Time / Bank, in dem mit Zeit als alternativer Währung gehandelt wird. Ausstellungen (Auswahl): Berlin Biennale (2014); dOCUMENTA (13), Kassel (2012); Neuer Berliner Kunstverein (2012); Venedig Biennale (2011); Portikus, Frankfurt/Main (2011); 6. Liverpool Biennial (2010); Guggenheim Museum, New York (2009).

Ingo Arend, geboren in Frankfurt/Main, Politologe und Historiker, arbeitet seit 1990 als Autor und Kritiker in Berlin. Von 1996 bis 2010 war er bei der Wochenzeitung Freitag tätig, zuletzt als Redaktionsleiter. Er ist Mitglied des Präsidiums der neuen Gesellschaft für bildende Kunst (nGbK) und lebt in Berlin.

Boris Buden ist Autor, Kulturtheoretiker und Übersetzer. Seine Texte befassen sich mit Themen aus den Bereichen Philosophie, Politik, Kultur- und Kunstkritik; zu seinen Übersetzungen ins Kroatische zählen zahlreiche wichtige Werke Freuds. Buden ist Autor von Findet Europa (2015), Zone des Übergangs: Vom Ende des Postkommunismus (2009), Übersetzung: Das Versprechen eines Begriffs (mit Stefan Nowotny, 2008), Der Schacht von Babel: Ist Kultur übersetzbar? (2004) u. a. Derzeit lehrt Buden Kulturtheorie an der Bauhaus Universität Weimar, er lebt in Berlin.

Fulya Erdemci lebt und arbeitet als Kuratorin und Autorin in Istanbul. Sie kuratierte u. a. die 13. Istanbul Biennale (2013) sowie den Türkischen Pavillon auf der 54. Venedig Biennale (2011). Von 2008–2012 leitete sie die Stichting Kunst en Openbare Ruimte (SKOR) in Amsterdam. Zu den dort von ihr realisierten Projekten gehörten Morality Wall: Between You and I (in Kooperation mit Witte de With, Rotterdam, 2010) und die internationale Recherche-, Symposien- und Publikationsreihe Actors, Agents and Attendants (2010–2011). Zur Zeit ist Erdemci Kuratorin des Bereichs Zeitgenössische Kunst des Cappadox-Festivals, das 2015 in Kappadokien initiiert wurde.