Thursday, December 10, 2015, 6 pm
Ich will hier nicht klären, warum

Panel discussion with Nevin Aladağ (artist, Berlin), Braco Dimitrijević (artist, Paris), Bjørn Nørgaard (artist, Bissinge/Denmark), moderated by Annelie Lütgens (head of Collection of Prints and Drawings, Berlinische Galerie)

5pm
Introduction to the exhibition by Eva Scharrer (art critic and curator, Berlin)

6pm
Ich will hier nicht klären, warum
Panel discussion with Nevin Aladağ (artist, Berlin), Braco Dimitrijević (artist, Belgrade), Bjørn Nørgaard (artist, Bissinge/Denmark), moderated by Annelie Lütgens (head of Collection Prints and Drawings, Berlinische Galerie)

In German language
Venue: Berlinische Galerie

Nevin Aladağ (b. 1972) lives and works in Berlin. She studied sculpture at the Academy of Fine Arts, Munich. In her installations, video works and performances Aladağ addresses ideological, political and cultural connotations of objects and actions. Here she places special emphasis on everyday objects and actions and explores existing boundaries and concepts of identity. Repeatedly, sound, music and dance become apparent as key elements of her work. Recently her works were shown at, inter alia, Neuer Berliner Kunstverein (2015, 2013); Berlinische Galerie (2015); Kunsthalle Basel (2014); Istanbul Modern (2014); Sharjah Biennial (2013); Pinakothek der Moderne, Munich (2012); ARTER, Istanbul (2012); TANAS, Berlin (2011); Istanbul Biennial (2009).

Braco Dimitrijević (b. 1948) lives and works in Paris. He studied at the Academy of Fine Arts in Zagreb and St. Martins School of Art in London. Dimitrijević in his works questions authoritarian structures and symbols of power as well as the mechanisms of cultural and art history that constitute meaning. For example, he opposes the concept of postmodernism with his self-developed theory of PostHistory, which is meant to dissolve systems of categorization. Recently his works were shown at Neuer Berliner Kunstverein (2015, 2013); Berlinische Galerie (2015); National Museum of Riga (2012); Venice Biennale (2009, 1993, 1990, 1982, 1976); National Museum of Contemporary Art, Bucharest (2008); Musée d’Orsay, Paris (2005); Documenta 9, 6, 5, Kassel (1992, 1977, 1972).

Bjørn Nørgaard (b. 1947) lives and works in Bissinge, Denmark. Since the 1970s, he increasingly focuses on sculptural works. Nørgaard studied at the experimental art school EKS-skolen in Copenhagen and from 1958 to 1994 was a professor at the Royal Academy of Fine Arts in Copenhagen. His multi-media works refer to the current political events and stand in the tradition of the social sculpture by Joseph Beuys. Recently his works were shown at Neuer Berliner Kunstverein (2015, 2013); Berlinische Galerie (2015); Statens Museum for Kunst, Copenhagen (2010, 2005, 1986); The Danish Cultural Institute dARTex, Beijing (2007); Venice Biennale (2002, 1980); Kunsthalle Fridericianum, Kassel (1999), Istanbul Biennial (1995), Biennale of Sydney (1990).

Annelie Lütgens is Head of the graphic arts collection of Berlinische Galerie and co-curator of the exhibition Ich kenne kein Weekend. The Archive and Collection of René Block. From 1996 to 2011, Lütgens worked as a curator at Kunstmuseum Wolfsburg. Since 2011, she directs the graphic collection of Berlinische Galerie. She has curated exhibitions about, among others, Dorothy Iannone, Franz Ackermann, Francis Alÿs and Eberhard Havekost.

Donnerstag, 10. Dezember 2015, 18 Uhr
Ich will hier nicht klären, warum

Podiumsdiskussion mit Nevin Aladağ (Künstlerin, Berlin), Braco Dimitrijević (Künstler, Paris), Bjørn Nørgaard (Künstler, Bissinge/Dänemark), moderiert von Annelie Lütgens (Leiterin Grafische Sammlung, Berlinische Galerie)

17 Uhr
Einführung in die Ausstellung mit Eva Scharrer (Kunstkritikerin und Kuratorin, Berlin)

18 Uhr
Ich will hier nicht klären, warum
Podiumsdiskussion mit Nevin Aladağ (Künstlerin, Berlin), Braco Dimitrijević (Künstler, Belgrad), Bjørn Nørgaard (Künstler, Bissinge/Dänemark), moderiert von Annelie Lütgens (Leiterin Grafische Sammlung, Berlinische Galerie)

In deutscher Sprache
Ort: Berlinische Galerie

Nevin Aladağ (*1972) lebt und arbeitet in Berlin. Sie studierte Bildhauerei an der Akademie der Bildenden Künste München. In ihren Installationen, Videoarbeiten und Performances thematisiert Aladağ ideologische, politische und kulturelle Konnotationen von Gegenständen und Handlungen. Hierbei stellt sie Alltagsgegenstände- und Handlungen in den Vordergrund und ergründet bestehende Grenzen und Identitätskonzeptionen. Wiederholt treten Sound, Musik und Tanz als zentrale Elemente ihrer Arbeiten hervor. Zuletzt waren ihre Arbeiten u. a. zu sehen: Neuer Berliner Kunstverein (2015, 2013); Berlinische Galerie (2015); Kunsthalle Basel (2014); Istanbul Modern (2014); Sharjah Biennale (2013); Pinakothek der Moderne, München (2012); ARTER, Istanbul (2012); TANAS, Berlin (2011); Istanbul Biennale (2009).

Braco Dimitrijević (*1948) lebt und arbeitet in Paris. Er studierte an der Akademie der Bildenden Künste Zagreb und der St. Martins School of Art in London. Dimitrijević hinterfragt in seinen Arbeiten autoritäre Strukturen und Machtsymbole sowie die bedeutungskonstituierenden Mechanismen der Kultur- und Kunstgeschichte. Dem Begriff des Postmodernismus setzt er beispielsweise seine selbstentwickelte Theorie der PostHistory entgegen, die Kategorisierungssysteme aufheben soll. Zuletzt waren seine Arbeiten u. a. zu sehen: Neuer Berliner Kunstverein (2015, 2013); Berlinische Galerie (2015);National Museum of Riga (2012); Venedig Biennale (2009, 1993, 1990, 1982, 1976); National Museum of Contemporary Art, Bukarest (2008); Musée d´Orsay, Paris (2005); Documenta 9, 6, 5, Kassel (1992, 1977, 1972).

Bjørn Nørgaard (*1947) lebt und arbeitet in Bissinge/Dänemark. Seit den 1970er Jahren konzentriert er sich zunehmend auf skulpturale Arbeiten. Nørgaard studierte an der experimentellen Kunstschule Eks-skolen in Kopenhagen und war von 1958–1994 Professor an der Royal Academy of Fine Arts in Kopenhagen. Seine multi-medialen Arbeiten beziehen sich auf das aktuelle politische Geschehen und stehen in der Tradition der sozialen Plastik von Joseph Beuys. Zuletzt waren seine Arbeiten u. a. zu sehen: Neuer Berliner Kunstverein (2015, 2013); Berlinische Galerie (2015); Statens Museum for Kunst, Kopenhagen (2010, 2005, 1986); The Danish Cultural Institute dARTex, Peking (2007); Venedig Biennale (2002, 1980); Kunsthalle Fridericianum, Kassel (1999), Istanbul Biennale (1995), Sydney Biennale (1990).

Annelie Lütgens ist Leiterin der Grafischen Sammlung der Berlinischen Galerie und Ko-Kuratorin der Ausstellung Ich kenne kein Weekend. Aus René Blocks Archiv und Sammlung. Lütgens war von 1996 bis 2011 als Kuratorin am Kunstmuseum Wolfsburg tätig. Seit 2011 leitet sie die Grafische Sammlung der Berlinischen Galerie. Sie kuratierte Ausstellungen u. a. zu Dorothy Iannone, Franz Ackermann, Francis Alÿs und Eberhard Havekost.