Thursday, October 1, 2015, 6 pm
I am not a Curator

5pm: Introduction to the exhibition by Birgit Eusterschulte (art historian, Berlin)
6pm: I am not a Curator
Panel discussion with Sabine Breitwieser (director, Museum der Moderne, Salzburg), Gabriele Knapstein (Curator Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart, Berlin), Jean-Hubert Martin (exhibition maker, Paris), moderated by Kolja Reichert (art critic, Berlin)

In his diverse activities as a gallery owner, collector, head of institutions and biennales as well as initiator and creator of exhibitions, René Block has always seen himself as a curator. The exhibition Ich kenne kein Weekend. Archive and Collection René Block at Neuer Berliner Kunstverein and at Berlinische Galerie is dedicated to his manifold and interdisciplinary work and aims at illustrating his exemplary curatorial concept. The panel discussion I am not a Curator examines various approaches and issues of curatorial practice.

Sabine Breitwieser (b. 1962), since 2013, is Director of Museum der Moderne in Salzburg. In 1988, she founded the Generali Foundation in Vienna, where, until 2007, she worked as director and curator. From 2010 to 2013, Breitwieser was Chief Curator of the Department of Media and Performance Art at the Museum of Modern Art in New York. Apart from theme-based exhibitions she curated a variety of retrospectives and solo exhibitions including Dan Graham, Hans Haacke, VALIE EXPORT, Harun Farocki, Andrea Fraser, Isa Genzken, Isaac Julien, Gordon Matta-Clark, Gustav Metzger, Adrian Piper, Martha Rosler and Allan Sekula. 

Gabriele Knapstein (b. 1963 in Freiburg / Breisgau) is an art historian and curator living in Berlin. She has been involved as a curator in the realization of numerous exhibitions, a.o. she worked for the Institute for Foreign Cultural Relations realizing the two exhibitions Fluxus in Germany 1962–1994 (1995) and QUOBOArt in Berlin 1989–1999 (1998–2000). Since 1999, Gabriele Knapstein works at Hamburger Bahnhof in Berlin, where she conceived and realized the concert series Works of Music by Visual Artists, together with Ingrid Buschmann and Matthias Osterwold.

Jean-Hubert Martin (b. 1944 in Strasburg) lives as an art historian and curator in Paris. With the exhibition Magiciens de la terre (1989) at Centre Pompidou in Paris, Martin attracted great attention as a pioneer of an interdisciplinary and global approach in art. From 2001-2006, Martin was General Director of Stiftung Museum Kunstpalast Dusseldorf and Artistic Director of Padiglione d'Arte Contemporanea in Milan. Previous positions include Director of Musée National des Arts d'Afrique et d'Océanie (1994-1999), Artistic Director of Château d'Orion (1991-1995), Director of Musée National d'Art Moderne - Centre Pompidou in Paris (1987-1990) and Director of Kunsthalle Bern (1982-1985).

Kolja Reichert (b. 1982 in Berlin) is a freelance writer and art critic living in Berlin. In 2012, he was awarded the ADKV - Art Cologne Prize for Art Criticism. Reichert is an editor of Spike Art Quarterly and regularly writes for, a. o. Die Welt, Tagesspiegel, Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung, Monopol and Die Zeit. 


In English language
Venue: Berlinische Galerie

Donnerstag, 1. Oktober 2015, 18 Uhr
I am not a Curator

17 Uhr: Einführung in die Ausstellung mit Birgit Eusterschulte (Kunsthistorikerin, Berlin)
18 Uhr: I am not a Curator
Podiumsdiskussion mit Sabine Breitwieser (Direktorin Museum der Moderne, Salzburg), Gabriele Knapstein (Kuratorin Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart, Berlin), Jean-Hubert Martin (Ausstellungsmacher, Paris), moderiert von Kolja Reichert (Kunstkritiker, Berlin)

In seinen vielseitigen Tätigkeiten als Galerist, Sammler, Leiter von Institutionen und Biennalen und Initiator und Macher von Ausstellungen hat sich René Blcok stets als Kurator verstanden. Die Ausstellung Ich kenne kein Weekend. Aus René Blocks Archiv und Sammlung im Neuen Berliner Kunstverein und in der Berlinischen Galerie widmet sich seinem vielfältigen und interdisziplinären Wirken und zielt darauf, sein beispielhaftes kuratorisches Konzept zu veranschaulichen. Die Podiumsdiskussion I am not a Curator beleuchtet verschiedene Ansätze und Fragestellungen der kuratorischen Praxis.

Sabine Breitwieser (*1962) ist seit 2013 Direktorin des Museums der Moderne in Salzburg. Sie gründete 1988 die Generali Foundation in Wien, an der sie bis 2007 Direktorin und Kuratorin war. Von 2010 bis 2013 war Breitwieser Chefkuratorin der Abteilung Medien und Performancekunst am Museum of Modern Art in New York. Neben thematischen Ausstellungen kuratierte sie eine Vielzahl von Retrospektiven und Einzelausstellungen u. a. mit Dan Graham, Hans Haacke, VALIE EXPORT, Harun Farocki, Andrea Fraser, Isa Genzken, Isaac Julien, Gordon Matta-Clark, Gustav Metzger, Adrian Piper, Martha Rosler und Allan Sekula. 

Gabriele Knapstein (*1963 in Freiburg / Breisgau) lebt als Kunsthistorikerin und Kuratorin in Berlin. Sie war als Kuratorin an der Umsetzung zahlreicher Ausstellungen beteiligt, u. a. wirkte sie für das Institut für Auslandsbeziehungen an der Realisierung der beiden Ausstellungen Fluxus in Deutschland 1962–1994(1995) und QUOBO. Kunst in Berlin 1989–1999 (1998–2000) mit. Seit 1999 ist Gabriele Knapstein am Hamburger Bahnhof in Berlin tätig, wo sie u. a. mit Ingrid Buschmann und Matthias Osterwold die Konzertreihe Musikwerke Bildender Künstlerkonzipiert und realisiert. 

Jean-Hubert Martin (*1944 in Straßburg) lebt als Kunsthistoriker und Ausstellungsmacher in Paris. Mit der Ausstellung Magiciens de la terre (1989) im Pariser Centre Pompidou erzielte Martin große Aufmerksamkeit als Wegbereiter eines interdisziplinären und globalen Ansatzes in der Kunst. Martin war von 2001 bis 2006 Genaraldirektor der Stiftung Museum Kunstpalast Düsseldorf sowie künstlerischer Leiter des Padiglione d´Arte Contemporanea in Mailand. Zuvor war er u. a. Direktor des Musée National des Arts d´Afrique et d´Océanie (1994–1999), Künstlerischer Leiter des Château d´Orion (1991–1995), Direktor des Musée National d´Art Moderne – Centre Pompidou in Paris (1987–1990) sowie Direktor der Kunsthalle Bern (1982–1985). 

Kolja Reichert (*1982 in Berlin) lebt als freier Autor und Kunstkritiker in Berlin. 2012 erhielt er den ADKV – Art Cologne Preis für Kunstkritik. Reichert ist Redakteur der Spike Art Quarterly und schreibt regelmäßig u. a. für Die Welt, Tagespiegel, Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung, Monopol und Die Zeit. 


In englischer Sprache
Ort: Berlinische Galerie