Sunday, January 29, 2017, 8 pm
Jan St. Werner

Concert

Free admission

Jan St. Werner (b. 1969 in Nuremberg) is an artist and musician. He became internationally known in 1993 as the co-founder of the innovative and groundbreaking electro-duo Mouse on Mars, who until today have released more than a dozen albums and gave concerts worldwide. Additionally, in 1995, Werner joined Markus Popp for the project Microstoria and performed as a solo artist under his own name as well as under the pseudonyms of Lithops, Noisemashinetapes and Neuter River. Numerous other influential releases sprang from this. In the mid-2000s, Jan St. Werner was the artistic director of the Amsterdam Studio for Electro-Instrumental Music (STEIM), which is dedicated to the research and development of new instruments for electronic music and digital art. Werner’s activities also extend into the visual arts, in that he creates installations and produces music for them, as well as for the works of other artists, such as Rosa Barba. In 2013, Jan St. Werner released
Blaze Color Burn, which was the beginning of a series of experimental sound recordings entitled Fiepblatter Catalogue (released by Thrill Jockey Records, Chicago), followed by three further conceptual albums until 2016. At Neuer Berliner Kunstverein, Jan St. Werner presents selected material from this series.

Werner is currently a guest lecturer at the Department of Art, Culture and Technology (ACT) at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) and teaches a class in the new field of study “Experiments in the Future of Record Producing” for the New York University Tisch School of the Arts in Berlin.

Sonntag, 29. Januar 2017, 20 Uhr
Jan St. Werner

Konzert

Eintritt frei

Jan St. Werner (*1969 in Nürnberg) ist Künstler und Musiker. Er wurde 1993 als Mitbegründer des innovativen wie Maßstäbe setzenden Elektro-Duos Mouse on Mars international bekannt, das bis heute mehr als ein Dutzend Alben veröffentlichte und weltweit Konzerte gab. Daneben tat Werner sich 1995 mit Markus Popp für das Projekt Microstoria zusammen und trat unter seinem eigenen Namen sowie den Pseudonymen Lithops, Noisemashinetapes und Neuter River als Solokünstler auf; es entstanden zahlreiche weitere einflussreiche Veröffentlichungen. Mitte der 2000er Jahre war Jan St. Werner künstlerischer Leiter des Amsterdamer Studio for Electro-Instrumental Music (STEIM), das sich der Erforschung und Entwicklung neuer Instrumente für elektronische Musik und digitale Kunst widmet. Werners Aktivitäten erstrecken sich auch insofern in die Bildende Kunst, als dass er Installationen schafft und Musik für diese, wie auch die Arbeiten von anderen KünstlerInnen produziert, etwa für Rosa Barba. 2013 brachte Jan St. Werner
Blaze Colour Burn heraus, das den Auftakt einer Serie von experimentellen Sound-Aufnahmen mit dem Titel Fiepblatter Catalogue bildete (erschienen bei Thrill Jockey Records, Chicago), bis 2016 folgten drei weitere konzeptuelle Alben. Im Neuen Berliner Kunstverein präsentiert Jan St. Werner ausgewähltes Material aus dieser Werkreihe.

Zur Zeit ist Werner Gastdozent am Department für Art, Culture and Technology (ACT) des Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) und leitet eine Klasse mit dem neuen Studienfeld „Experiments in the Future of Record Producing“ der New York University Tisch School of the Arts in Berlin.