Tuesday, December 12, 2017, 2 pm
Artists’ Film International (AFI) 2017: Collaboration

Screenings at the n.b.k. Video-Forum on December 12 and 14, 2017,
and an artist talk with Adrian Paci on December 14, 2017


The Video-Forum at Neuer Berliner Kunstverein (n.b.k.) will showcase the AFI 2017 program titled Collaboration on December 12 and 14, 2017. Artists' Film International is an initiative by the Whitechapel Gallery in London and presents works from the fields of film, video and animation on an annual theme, nominated by international partner organizations and screened in the respective art institutions. The participating institutions include: Whitechapel Gallery, London; n.b.k. Video Forum; GAMeC, Bergamo; Ballroom Marfa, Texas; Belgrade Cultural Centre; Fundación Proa, Buenos Aires; Hammer Museum, Los Angeles; Istanbul Modern; Project 88, Mumbai.

In addition to n.b.k. Video-Forum’s presentation of this year's program of Artists' Film International (AFI) there will be an artist talk with Adrian Paci in the exhibition space of n.b.k. on Thursday, December 14, 2017, moderated by Stefano Raimondi, curator of GAMeC – Galleria d’Arte Moderna e Contemporanea di Bergamo.

The works presented at n.b.k. Video-Forum are grouped into the thematic subchapters
All the Insights (Screenings on December 12, 2017) and Within the Frame (Screenings on December 14, 2017).


Screening: All the Insights
Tuesday, December 12, 2017, 2–8 pm

Mikhail Karikis, Ain't Got No Fear, 2016, 10 min, selected by Whitechapel, London
Mikhail Karikis' Ain't Got No Fear shows a juvenile rap gang from the Isle of Grain in the Southeast of England, an area shaped by its industry. The rap song heard in the video is accompanied by the sounds of a nearby power plant.

Tanja Ostojić, Meggie Schneider, Laura Horelli, Nina Lassila, Agnese Luse, Angela Melitopoulos, Eléonore de Montesquiou, Isabell Spengler and Gitte Villesen, Jurmala, 2010–2016, 9 min, selected by Belgrade Cultural Centre
For Jurmala, nine filmmakers of different origins and generations living in Berlin embarked on a journey to the Latvian Baltic seaside resort of the same name equipped with a Super 8 camera. Each artist conceived a soundtrack to a one-minute film fragment.

Mary Reid Kelley, Patrick Kelley, This Is Offal, 2016, 12 min, selected by Hammer Museum, Los Angeles
Mary Reid Kelley’s video works display an idiosyncratic graphic stylization and include aspects of performance and painting. This Is Offal shows a coroner preparing the body of a drowned prostitute for an autopsy. Mary Reid Kelley as the corpse and Patrick Kelley as the doctor explore the role of women, their sexuality and language.

Cengiz Tekin, Just before the Paradise, 2015, 4:20 min, selected by Istanbul Modern
A group of men are standing in the sea, heavy swell characterizes the picture. In Just before the Paradise, Cengiz Tekin addresses the refugee crisis.

Desire Machine Collective, Invocation, 2015, 14:25 min, selected by Project 88, Mumbai
Invocation by Desire Machine Collective follows up the Hindu story of Krishna in the Garden of Assam – the Assam region being of great importance for the Indian textile tradition. A transparent piece of fabric in front of the camera becomes a symbol, the past and present as well as regions of India become interwoven.

Dienstag, 12. Dezember 2017, 14 Uhr
Artists’ Film International (AFI) 2017: Collaboration

Screenings im n.b.k. Video-Forum am 12. und 14. Dezember 2017,
sowie Künstlergespräch mit Adrian Paci am 14. Dezember 2017


Das Video-Forum des Neuen Berliner Kunstvereins (n.b.k.) zeigt am 12. und 14. Dezember unter dem Titel Collaboration das Programm von AFI 2017.  Artists’ Film International ist ein Initiativprojekt der Whitechapel Gallery in London und stellt Arbeiten aus den Bereichen Film, Video und Animation zu einem Jahresthema vor, die von internationalen Partnerorganisationen nominiert und in den jeweiligen Kunstinstitutionen präsentiert werden. Zu den beteiligten Institutionen gehören u. a.: Whitechapel Gallery, London; n.b.k. Video-Forum, GAMeC, Bergamo; Ballroom Marfa, Texas; Belgrade Cultural Centre; Fundación Proa, Buenos Aires; Hammer Museum, Los Angeles; Istanbul Modern; Project 88, Mumbai.

Die im n.b.k. Video-Forum präsentierten Werke sind den thematischen Unterkapiteln
All the Insights (Screening am 12. Dezember 2017) und Within the Frame (Screening am 14. Dezember 2017) zugeordnet.

Am Donnerstag, den 14. Dezember 2017, findet zusätzlich zur Präsentation des diesjährigen Programms von Artists’ Film International (AFI) durch das n.b.k. Video-Forum ein Künstlergespräch mit Adrian Paci im Ausstellungsraum des n.b.k. statt, moderiert von Stefano Raimondi, Kurator der GAMeC – Galleria d'Arte Moderna e Contemporanea di Bergamo.


Screening: All the Insights
Dienstag, 12. Dezember 2017, 14–20 Uhr

Mikhail Karikis, Ain’t Got No Fear, 2016, 10 Min., ausgewählt von Whitechapel, London
Mikhail Karikis’ Ain’t Got No Fear zeigt eine jugendliche Rappergang von der industriell geprägten Isle of Grain in Südostengland. Der im Video zu hörende Rap-Song wird von den Geräuschen eines benachbarten Kraftwerks begleitet.

Tanja Ostojić, Meggie Schneider, Laura Horelli, Nina Lassila, Agnese Luse, Angela Melitopoulos, Eléonore de Montesquiou, Isabell Spengler und Gitte Villesen, Jurmala, 2010–2016, 9 Min., ausgewählt von Belgrade Cultural Centre
Für Jurmala begaben sich neun in Berlin lebende Filmemacherinnen unterschiedlicher Herkunft und Generationen mit einer Super 8-Kamera auf die Reise in den gleichnamigen lettischen Ostsee-Badeort. Jede der Künstlerinnen konzipierte einen Soundtrack zu einem einminütigen Filmfragment.

Mary Reid Kelley, Patrick Kelley, This Is Offal, 2016, 12 Min., ausgewählt vom Hammer Museum, Los Angeles
Mary Reid Kelleys Videoarbeiten zeigen eine eigenwillige grafische Stilisierung und schließen Aspekte von Performance und Malerei mit ein. This Is Offal zeigt einen Gerichtsmediziner, der die Leiche einer ertrunkenen Prostituierten für eine Obduktion vorbereitet. Mary Reid Kelley als Leiche und Patrick Kelley als Arzt untersuchen die Rolle der Frau, ihre Sexualität und Sprache.

Cengiz Tekin,
Just before the Paradise, 2015, 4:20 Min., ausgewählt von Istanbul Modern
Eine Gruppe von Männern steht im Meer, starker Wellengang prägt das Bild. In Just before the Paradise thematisiert Cengiz Tekin die Flüchtlingskrise.

Desire Machine Collective,
Invocation, 2015, 14:25 Min., ausgewählt von Project 88, Mumbai
Invocation von Desire Machine Collective geht der hinduistischen Erzählung von Krishna im Garten von Assam nach – die Region Assam ist für die indische Textiltradition von großer Bedeutung. Ein durchsichtiges Stück Stoff vor der Kamera wird zum Symbol, Vergangenheit und Gegenwart sowie Regionen Indiens werden miteinander verwoben.