Friday, May 22, 2015, 6 pm
The New Intolerance – Where Artistic Freedom Dies, Democracy, Too, is Threatened

An event by the Allianz Cultural Foundation and Neuer Berliner Kunstverein
In cooperation with the journal Monopol
Venue: Allianz Forum Berlin, Pariser Platz, 10117 Berlin
In German language


This year, artists and journalists in Europe have been murdered over caricatures, which afterwards no North American magazine dared to publish. Right-wing populist parties and governments increasingly demand art which is either ‘patriotic’ or corresponds with the ‘customs and traditions’ of their countries: In Hungary, a cultural commissioner is openly combating the artistic work of Jews, Muslims and ‘gays’. In Turkey, a state-run ‘Arts Council’ will, in future, decide which theatre pieces, films, ballets or operas shall receive funding. In Russia, film and television productions are subjected to a strict censorship disguised as an ‘evaluation of morality’. In China, Iran and other regions, art and literature critical of religion or the regime are treated with zero tolerance.
How do authors, artists and curators face the restraints of their freedom? Where do the boundaries of cultural provocation lie? May the Western notion of artistic freedom and satire demand universal validity? To what extent have the financial crisis and political pressure restricted the independence of artists and cultural institutions, or have increased the influence of private patrons and sponsors?

With:
Daniel Birnbaum (Moderna Museet, Stockholm), Chris Dercon (Tate Modern, London), Johannes Ebert (Goethe Institute, Munich), Parastou Forouhar (artist, Offenbach/Main), Veronica Kaup-Hasler (steirischer herbst, Graz), Marina Naprushkina (artist, Berlin), Johan Simons (Ruhrtriennale, Gelsenkirchen / Ruhr area), Dirk Snauweart (Wiels, Brussels), Najem Wali (publicist and author, Berlin), Christina Weiss (former State Minister of Culture, Berlin), Jae-Hyun Yoo (artist and curator, Berlin / Seoul) and other guests. Moderation: Annemie Vanackere (HAU Hebbel am Ufer, Berlin) and Holger Liebs (Monopol, Berlin).

Please register by May 19 here or to:
kulturstiftung@allianz.de

Freitag, 22. Mai 2015, 18 Uhr
Die neue Intoleranz – Wo die künstlerische Freiheit stirbt, ist auch die Demokratie bedroht

Eine Veranstaltung der Allianz Kulturstiftung und des Neuen Berliner Kunstvereins
In Kooperation mit der Zeitschrift Monopol
Ort: Allianz Forum Berlin, Pariser Platz, 10117 Berlin
In deutscher Sprache


In Europa wurden in diesem Jahr KünstlerInnen und JournalistInnen wegen Karikaturen ermordet, die hiernach keine nordamerikanische Zeitung zu publizieren wagte. Rechtspopulistische Parteien und Regierungen fordern immer lauter eine Kunst, die „patriotisch“ sein oder den „Sitten und Gebräuchen“ ihrer Länder entsprechen soll: In Ungarn hetzte ein Kulturbeauftragter der Regierung öffentlich gegen die Kultur von Juden, Moslems und „Schwuchteln“. In der Türkei soll ein staatlicher „Kunstrat“ künftig über die Förderung von Theaterstücken, Kinofilmen, Ballett- oder Operninszenierungen entscheiden. In Russland werden Film- und Fernsehproduktionen einer als „Sittlichkeitsprüfung“ getarnten Zensur unterzogen. In China, dem Iran und anderen Regionen gilt bei religions- oder regimekritischer Literatur und Kunst ohnehin null Toleranz.
Wie begegnen AutorInnen, KünstlerInnen und KuratorInnen der Beschneidung ihrer Freiheiten? Wo liegen die Grenzen künstlerischer Provokation? Darf die westliche Auffassung von künstlerischer Freiheit und Satire universelle Geltung beanspruchen? In welchem Maße haben die Finanzkrise und politischer Druck die Unabhängigkeit von KünstlerInnen und Kultureinrichtungen eingeschränkt oder den Einfluss von privaten MäzenInnen und SponsorInnen erhöht?

Mit:
Daniel Birnbaum (Moderna Museet, Stockholm), Chris Dercon (Tate Modern, London), Johannes Ebert (Goethe-Institut, München), Parastou Forouhar (Künstlerin, Offenbach/Main), Veronica Kaup-Hasler (steirischer herbst, Graz), Marina Naprushkina (Künstlerin, Berlin), Johan Simons (Ruhrtriennale, Gelsenkirchen / Ruhrgebiet), Dirk Snauwaert (Wiels, Brüssel), Najem Wali (Publizist und Schriftsteller, Berlin), Christina Weiss (Kulturstaatsministerin a.D., Berlin), Jae-Hyun Yoo (Künstler und Kurator, Berlin / Seoul) u. a. Gäste. Moderation: Annemie Vanackere (HAU Hebbel am Ufer, Berlin) und Holger Liebs (Monopol, Berlin)

Anmeldung bitte bis zum 19. Mai hier oder unter:
kulturstiftung@allianz.de