Sunday, October 18, 2009, 8 pm
Long Film Night

Clemens von Wedemeyer presents films and videos that deal with the topic of the “unknown”. The program is divided into three parts. It begins in an abstract and silent way with cinema experiments as well as performative videos. In the second part issues of cinematic formulation between the fictional / real and the psychotic / incredible are shown. In the third part an ethnographic documentary can be seen, showing contacts between Europeans and natives of Papua New Guinea in the year 1933.


Experiments and misunderstandings: canvas, body, dissolution
Films by: Viktor Alimpiev, Susanne Bürner, Sebastian Buerkner, Su Friedrich, Annette Gödde, Mike Hoolboom, David Lynch, Babette Mangolte, Hans Richter, Norman Richter, Sylvia Schedelbauer, Peter Tscherkassky and Arnold von Wedemeyer

Real Fiction: First Person or Whatever
Films by: Ulf Aminde, Filipa César, Ján Mančuška, Robert Olawuyi, Ping Pong d’Amour, Stephane Querrec, Roth Stauffenberg, Maya Schweizer / Andrea Neumann, Clemens von Wedemeyer and Amir Yatziv

Special Screening: First Contact, dir.: Bob Connolly / Robin Anderson, 55min, AUS / CND, 1982, Indigenous Languages / Engl. with French subtitles

Clemens von Wedemeyer (b. 1974 in Göttingen, living in Berlin) studied photography and visual arts in Bielefeld and Leipzig. Solo exhibitions (selection): Barbican Centre, London (2009), Centro Galego de Arte Contemporánea, Santiago de Compostela (2008), Kölnischer Kunstverein (2006). Group exhibitions (selection): Shanghai Biennale (2008), “Multiplex: Directions in Art, 1970 to Present”, Museum of Modern Art, New York (2007), Skulptur Projekte Münster (2007). Screenings at: International Film Festival Rotterdam, Cinématèque Française Paris and Filmmuseum Munich. Von Wedemeyer was awarded the Art Prize Böttcherstrasse, the Prize of VG Bildkunst for Experimental Film and the Villa Romana Prize.

Sonntag, 18. Oktober 2009, 20 Uhr
Lange Filmnacht

Clemens von Wedemeyer präsentiert Filme und Videos, die das Thema des "Unbekannten" behandeln. Das Programm ist in drei Teile geteilt. Es beginnt abstrakt und stumm mit Kino-Experimenten wie performativen Videos. Im zweiten Teil werden Probleme der filmischen Ausformulierung zwischen Fiktivem/Realem und Psychotischem/Unglaublichem dargestellt. Im dritten Teil ist ein ethnographischer Dokumentarfilm zu sehen, der Kontakte zwischen Europäern und Bewohnern Papua Neu-Guineas im Jahre 1933 zeigt.

Experimente und Missverständnisse: Leinwand, Körper, Auflösung
Filme von: Viktor Alimpiev, Susanne Bürner, Sebastian Buerkner, Su Friedrich, Annette Gödde, Mike Hoolboom, David Lynch, Babette Mangolte, Hans Richter, Norman Richter, Sylvia Schedelbauer, Peter Tscherkassky und Arnold von Wedemeyer

Real Fiction: First Person or Whatever
Filme von: Ulf Aminde, Filipa César, Ján Mančuška, Robert Olawuyi, Ping Pong d'Amour, Stephane Querrec, Roth Stauffenberg, Maya Schweizer/Andrea Neumann, Clemens von Wedemeyer und Amir Yatziv

Special Screening: First Contact, R: Bob Connolly/Robin Anderson, 55min, AUS/CND, 1982, Indigene Sprachen/Engl. mit franz. Untertiteln

Clemens von Wedemeyer (*1974 in Göttingen, lebt in Berlin) studierte Fotografie und Bildende Kunst in Bielefeld und Leipzig. Einzelausstellungen (Auswahl): Barbican Centre, London (2009), Centro Galego de Arte Contemporánea, Santiago de Compostela (2008), Kölnischer Kunstverein (2006). Gruppenausstellungen (Auswahl): Shanghai Biennale (2008), "Multiplex: Directions in Art, 1970 to Present", Museum of Modern Art, New York (2007), Skulptur Projekte Münster (2007). Vorführungen bei den Internationalen Filmfestspielen in Rotterdam, in der Cinemateque Paris und im Filmmuseum München. Von Wedemeyer erhielt den Kunstpreis Böttcherstraße, den Preis der VG Bildkunst für experimentellen Film sowie den Villa-Romana-Preis.