Friday, October 18, 2013, 6 pm
Global Citizenship / Capacete

6 pm
Global Citizenship
Lecture by Charles Esche (Director Van Abbemuseum, Artistic Director 31st Biennial São Paulo, Eindhoven / São Paulo), presentation and discussion with Gülsen Bal (curator, author, Vienna), Rosa Barba (artist, Berlin), Boris Buden (philosopher, author, Berlin), Gülsün Karamustafa (artist, Istanbul), Dan Perjovschi (artist, Bucharest)
9 pm
Capacete
Presentation, screening, and music performance with Helmut Batista (Director Capacete, Rio de Janeiro), Amilcar Parker (artist, São Paulo), Siri (music performer, Rio de Janeiro)


Charles Esche, in his lecture, portrays the image of the traveling artist and its Neo-Renaissance. The democratization of artistic mobility through residency programs and the biennial boom at the end of the 20th and the beginning of the 21st Century is confronted with yet a more recent phenomenon: oligarchs, who devote themselves to art and its protagonists, and, accordingly, collect and promote it. This creates a paradoxical situation: on the one hand, being an artist still promises individual fulfillment, on the other hand an obscure reserve army of artists emerges, who every day reproduce the promise of global art under precarious conditions. Which possibilities of political emancipation in this global scenario are left for artists today? After the lecture, Gülsen Bal, Rosa Barba, Gülsün Karamustafa and Dan Perjovschi debate this issue from artistic and biographical points of view, and discuss this together with philosopher and cultural theorist Boris Buden.

Helmut Batista, in 1998, founded the residency program Capacete in Rio de Janeiro and later in São Paulo (until 2013), later followed by mobile formats, such as the Summer Academy. Capacete grew into one of the most important platforms for international cultural exchange in Brazil and Latin America. The focus of the program was not so much on the artistic production but on the exchange and initiation of processes. As a conclusion and in cooperation with Portikus, Frankfurt / Main, the film
Ecstatic (2013) was created for the Capacete exhibition there (until 20 October 2013), together with the artist Amilcar Parker, a visual reflection on Brazil today. The film is accompanied by a live-soundtrack by the Brazilian music performer Siri.

In English language

Admission free

Freitag, 18. Oktober 2013, 18 Uhr
Global Citizenship / Capacete

18 Uhr
Global Citizenship
Vortrag von Charles Esche (Direktor Van Abbemuseum, Künstlerischer Leiter 31. Biennale São Paulo, Eindhoven / São Paulo), Diskussion mit Gülsen Bal (Kuratorin, Autorin, Wien), Rosa Barba (Künstlerin, Berlin), Boris Buden (Philosoph, Autor, Berlin / Weimar), Gülsün Karamustafa (Künstlerin, Istanbul), Dan Perjovschi (Künstler, Bukarest)
21 Uhr
Capacete
Präsentation, Screening und Musik-Performance mit Helmut Batista (Direktor Capacete, Rio de Janeiro), Amilcar Parker (Künstler, São Paulo), Siri (Musik-Performer, Rio de Janeiro)


Charles Esche stellt in seinem Vortrag das Bild des reisenden Künstlers und dessen Neo-Renaissance vor. Der Demokratisierung von künstlerischer Mobilität durch Residency-Programme und dem Biennale-Boom am Ende des 20. und zu Beginn des 21. Jahrhunderts steht ein neuers Phänomen entgegen: Oligarchen, die sich der Kunst und ihren ProtagonistInnen verschreiben und entsprechend sammeln und fördern. Dadurch entsteht eine paradoxe Situation: Einerseits verspricht das Künstler-Sein nach wie vor individuelle Verwirklichung, andererseits entsteht eine obskure Reservearmee von KünstlerInnen, die das Versprechen einer Global Art tagtäglich unter prekären Bedingungen reproduzieren. Welche Möglichkeiten der politischen Emanzipation bleiben in diesem globalen Szenario für KünstlerInnen heute? Im Anschluss erörtern Gülsen Bal, Rosa Barba, Gülsün Karamustafa und Dan Perjovschi diese Frage künstlerisch-biografisch und diskutieren gemeinsam mit dem Philosophen und Kulturtheoretiker Boris Buden.

Helmut Batista gründete 1998 das Residency-Programm Capacete in Rio de Janeiro und später in São Paulo (bis 2012), später folgten mobile Formate wie die Sommerakademie. Capacete wurde zu einer der wichtigsten Plattformen für internationalen kulturellen Austausch in Brasilien und Lateinamerika. Der Fokus des Programms lag weniger auf der künstlerischen Produktion als auf dem Austausch und auf dem Initiieren von Prozessen. Zum Abschluss und in Kooperation mit dem Portikus, Frankfurt/Main, ist für die dortige Ausstellung
Capacete (bis 20. Oktober 2013) gemeinsam mit dem Künstler Amilcar Parker der Film Ecstatic (2013) entstanden, eine visuelle Reflexion über Brasilien heute. Begleitet wird der Film von einem Live-Soundtrack des brasilianischen Musik-Performers Siri.

In englische Sprache

Eintritt frei