Thursday, October 1, 2009, 7 pm
Is a Museum a Factory?

Round table on “Video art in institutions” with Sabine Breitwieser (curator, Vienna), Thomas Elsaesser (film historian, Amsterdam) and Hito Steyerl (artist, Berlin), moderated by Bert Rebhandl (film critic, Berlin)

The political film has moved from the factory into the white cube. Why not to the cinema? Or is the museum as a factory now the location of perception? The museum is discussed as a place of production of images, values and lifestyle.

Sabine Breitwieser, since autumn 2010, is Chief Curator of Media and Performance Art at the Museum of Modern Art in New York. She was the founding director of the Generali Foundation, Vienna, which she managed until 2007.

Thomas Elsaesser is a film scholar and since 1991 Professor of Film and Television Studies at the University of Amsterdam. He taught, among others, at the Universities of Cambridge (2006-2007), Stockholm (2005-2006) and Bergen (1993-1999).

Hito Steyerl, Ph.D. in Philosophy, is an artist and professor at the University of the Arts in Berlin.

Bert Rebhandl is a freelance journalist, film critic, non-fiction writer and lecturer at Free University of Berlin.

Donnerstag, 1. Oktober 2009, 19 Uhr
Is a Museum a Factory?

Runder Tisch zu “Video art in institutions” mit Sabine Breitwieser (Kurator, Wien), Thomas Elsaesser (Filmhistoriker, Amsterdam) und Hito Steyerl (Künstlerin, Berlin), moderiert von Bert Rebhandl (Filmkritiker, Berlin)

Der politische Film ist von der Fabrik in den White Cube gezogen. Warum nicht ins Kino? Oder ist das Museum als Fabrik mittlerweile der Ort der Rezeption? Das Museum wird als Ort der Produktion von Bildern, Werten und Lebensstil diskutiert.

Sabine Breitwieser ist seit Herbst 2010 Chefkuratorin für Medien- und Performance-Kunst am Museum of Modern Art, New York. Sie war Gründungsdirektorin der Generali Foundation, Wien, die sie bis 2007 leitete.

Thomas Elsaesser ist Filmwissenschaftler und seit 1991 Professor für Film und Fernsehwissenschaften an der Universität Amsterdam. Er lehrte u.a. an den Universitäten von Cambridge (2006-2007), Stockholm (2005-2006) und Bergen (1993-1999).

Hito Steyerl ist in Philosophie promovierte Künstlerin und Professorin an der Universität der Künste, Berlin.

Bert Rebhandl ist freier Journalist, Filmkritiker, Sachbuchautor und Dozent an der Freien Universität Berlin.