Thursday, April 10, 2014, 7 pm
Berlin > < Moscow > < Beijing

Video presentation with Anatoly Shuravlev (artist, Berlin / Moscow); panel discussion with Anatoly Shuravlev, Oxana Timofeeva (philosopher, member of Chto Delat?, Moscow / Berlin) and Joanna Warsza (curator Public Programme, 10th Manifesta, St. Petersburg, lives in Berlin / Warsaw), moderated by Kathrin Becker (Head of n.b.k. Video-Forum)
In English language


In his recent works, the Russian artist Anatoly Shuravlev takes a critical look at the political and social developments of varying cultures. He reveals parallels and establishes connections between centuries-old traditions, revolutionary innovations in the arts as well as the globalized contemporary culture. At the beginning of the event, Shuravlev presents a video documentation of the creation process of Universe in China (2014), a central piece of his current exhibition at the Urs Meile Gallery in Beijing. For this piece, two Tibetan monks created a mandala out of 100 kg black sand, which spreads out on the floor of the exhibition space in the shape of a map of China. Ensuing from the actual political incidents in Eastern Europe, the event casts an exemplary light on general conditions for artistic production and discusses the complex of artistic und curatorial self-conception in the globalized art field regarding its different moral values and art terms.

Anatoly Shuravlev's (b. 1963 in Moscow, lives in Berlin and Moscow) work comprises photography, painting, video and installation. Recent exhibitions: Neuer Berliner Kunstverein (2014); National Centre for Contemporary Arts, Kaliningrad (2013); National Art Museum of Ukraine, Kiev (2012); CentrePasquArt, Biel (2011); Palazzo Cavalli Franchetti, Venice (2011); Moscow Museum of Modern Art (2009, 2007); Russian Pavillion, 53. Venice Biennale (2009); Ludwig Museum, Budapest (2007); Moscow Biennale of Contemporary Art (2009, 2007, 2005), MoMA PS1, New York (2009).

Oxana Timofeeva (b. in Tomskaya Oblast (Siberia), lives in Moscow and Berlin) is a philosopher, writer and member of the group Chto Delat?, founded in 2003 in St. Petersburg by artists, philosophers, art critics, musicians, and writers. She is a Senior Research Fellow at the Institute of Philosophy, Russian Academy of Sciences in Moscow and currently a Humboldt fellow at the Humboldt University in Berlin. She held lectures at the Leuphana-University Lüneburg (2014) and the Justus-Liebig-University Gießen (2012–2013). Timofeeva is the author of various books,
History of Animals: An Essay on Negativity, Immanence and Freedom (Maastricht, 2012) and Introduction to the Erotic Philosophy of Georges Bataille (in Russian, Moscow, 2009) a. o.

In her curatorial practice, Joanna Warsza (b. 1976 in Poland, lives in Berlin and Warsaw) mainly deals with political and social interrogations of the public space. Warsza is the head of the Public Program of the 10th Manifesta in St. Petersburg (2014). She curated the Georgian Pavillion of the 55th Venice Biennale (2013) and was a member of the curatorial team of the 7th Göteborg Biennal (2013). In 2012 she was the co-curator of the 7th Berlin Biennale. In 2006 she founded the Laura Palmer Foundation (until 2011) and is the editor of various books,
Ministry of Highways: A Guide to the Performative Architecture of Tbilisi (2013), Forget Fear (2012) and Stadium X – A Place That Never Was (2009) a. o.

Donnerstag, 10. April 2014, 19 Uhr
Berlin > < Moskau > < Peking

Videopräsentation mit Anatoly Shuravlev (Künstler, Berlin / Moskau); Podiumsdiskussion mit Anatoly Shuravlev, Oxana Timofeeva (Philosophin, Mitglied von Chto Delat?, Moskau / Berlin) und Joanna Warsza (Kuratorin Public Programme, 10. Manifesta, St. Petersburg, lebt in Berlin / Warschau), moderiert von Kathrin Becker (Leiterin n.b.k. Video-Forum)
In englischer Sprache


Der russische Künstler Anatoly Shuravlev setzt sich in seinen jüngsten Arbeiten kritisch mit politischen und gesellschaftlichen Entwicklungen unterschiedlicher Kulturen auseinander. Dabei deckt er Parallelen auf und stellt Bezüge zwischen jahrhundertealten Traditionen, revolutionären Neuerungen in der Kunst sowie der globalisierten Gegenwartskultur her. Zu Beginn des Abends präsentiert Shuravlev eine Videodokumentation über die Entstehung seiner zentralen Arbeit Universe in China (2014) für seine aktuelle Ausstellung in der Galerie Urs Meile in Peking. Hierfür schufen zwei tibetanische Mönche ein Mandala aus 100 kg schwarzem Sand, das sich in Form einer Karte von China auf dem Boden des Ausstellungsraums erstreckt. Ausgehend von den aktuellen politischen Ereignissen in Osteuropa beleuchtet die Veranstaltung beispielhaft Rahmenbedingungen für die Kunstproduktion und diskutiert den Komplex von künstlerischem und kuratorischem Selbstverständnis im globalisierten Kunstfeld mit seinen unterschiedlichen Wertevorstellungen und Kunstbegriffen.

Anatoly Shuravlevs (*1963 in Moskau, lebt in Berlin und Moskau) Werk umfasst Fotografie, Malerei, Video und Installation. Zuletzt waren seine Arbeiten u. a. zu sehen: Neuer Berliner Kunstverein (2014); National Centre for Contemporary Arts, Kaliningrad (2013); National Art Museum of Ukraine, Kiew (2012); CentrePasquArt, Biel (2011); Palazzo Cavalli Franchetti, Venedig (2011); Moscow Museum of Modern Art (2009, 2007); Russischer Pavillon, 53. Venedig Biennale (2009); Ludwig Museum, Budapest (2007); Moscow Biennale of Contemporary Art (2009, 2007, 2005), MoMA PS1, New York (2009).

Oxana Timofeeva (* in Tomskaya Oblast (Sibirien), lebt in Moskau und Berlin) ist Philosophin und Autorin sowie Mitglied der 2003 in St. Petersburg von KünstlerInnen, PhilosophInnen, KunstkritikerInnen, MusikerInnen und SchriftstellerInnen gegründeten Gruppe Chto Delat?. Sie ist wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin am Philosophischen Institut der Russischen Akademie der Wissenschaften in Moskau und derzeit Humboldt Fellow an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin. Sie hielt Vorträge und Vorselungen an der Leuphana-Universität Lüneburg (2014) und an der Justus-Liebig-Universität Gießen (2012–2013). Timofeeva ist Autorin verschiedener Bücher, u. a.
History of Animals: An Essay on Negativity, Immanence and Freedom (Maastricht, 2012) und der auf Russisch erschienenen Introduction to the Erotic Philosophy of Georges Bataille (Moskau, 2009).

Die Kuratorin Joanna Warsza (*1976 in Polen, lebt in Berlin und Warschau) beschäftigt sich überwiegend mit politischen und sozialen Fragestellungen im öffentlichen Raum. Warsza leitet das Public Programme der 10. Manifesta in St. Petersburg (2014). Sie kuratierte den Georgischen Pavillon auf der 55. Venedig Biennale (2013) und war Teil des KuratorInnen-Teams der 7. Göteborg Biennale (2013). 2012 war sie als Ko-Kuratorin der 7. Berlin Biennale tätig. Ferner gründete sie 2006 die Laura Palmer Foundation (bis 2011) und ist Herausgeberin verschiedener Bücher, u. a.
Ministry of Highways: A Guide to the Performative Architecture of Tbilisi (2013), Forget Fear (2012) und Stadium X – A Place That Never Was (2009).