Friday, March 25, 2011, 7 pm
One Plus One: Art Book Design (Part 1)

Book as Space: Christian Chruxin and the Kasseler Werkschule
Talk with Anita Kühnel (curator Kunstbibliothek, Berlin) and Holger Jost (designer, Karlsruhe)

Book as Discourse: On Postrepresentative History in the Artist Book
Peggy Buth (artist, Berlin) and Dierk Schmidt (artist, Berlin) in conversation with Sophie Goltz (n.b.k. communication and education) and Jan Wenzel (curator, publisher Spector Books, Leipzig)


19:00. Book as Space: Christian Chruxin and the Kasseler Werkschule (Kassel Applied Arts School)

Talk with Anita Kühnel (curator of the Collection of Posters and Advertising Art at Kunstbibliothek (Art Library), editor of The Poetry of the Concrete. Posters and Graphics from the Kassel School (2000), Berlin), and Holger Jost (designer and editor (together with Peter Weibel) of the parts of the sum - encounters with christian chruxin, visual designer 1937-2006 (2008), Karlsruhe)
Berlin based artist-designer Christian Chruxin (1939-2006) in his work relates to typographical methods, to constructive-concrete trends in visual arts and to trends in the performing arts, which accentuate rhythm and form. Among others he is regarded as the inventor of the format “portable gallery” and of the “interactive and permutational poster.” In the talk his design practice and the influence of the Kassel School will be presented. With this, new possibilities of interpreting artist’s books will be opened up.




20:30. Book as Discourse: On Postrepresentative History in the Artist Book

Talk with Peggy Buth (artist, Berlin) and Dierk Schmidt (artist, Berlin)
In 2010, the artist’s books Desire in Representation (Spector Books) by Peggy Buth and The Division of the Earth (Walther König) by Dierk Schmidt were published. Starting point for both books is the artistic research on colonial history and its presence in the world of today. The medium of the book becomes an independent part of the artistic work, by offering possibilities of non-representative modes of narration and depiction and non-linear conceptions of history. As an artistic medium, here the book undergoes a functional redefinition, which will be presented and discussed.

In German language

Freitag, 25. März 2011, 19 Uhr
One Plus One: Kunst Buch Gestaltung (Teil 1)

Buch als Raum: Christian Chruxin und die Kasseler Werkschule
Gespräch mit Anita Kühnel (Kuratorin der Sammlung Plakat- und Reklamekunst der Kunstbibliothek, Berlin) und Holger Jost (Gestalter, Karlsruhe)

Buch als Diskurs: Zur postrepräsentativen Geschichtsvermittlung im Künstlerbuch
Peggy Buth (Künstlerin, Berlin) und Dierk Schmidt (Künstler, Berlin) im Gespräch mit Sophie Goltz (n.b.k. Kommunikation und Bildung) und Jan Wenzel (Kurator, Verleger Spector Books, Leipzig)


19:00 Uhr Buch als Raum: Christian Chruxin und die Kasseler Werkschule

Gespräch mit Anita Kühnel (Kuratorin der Sammlung Plakat- und Reklamekunst der Kunstbibliothek, Herausgeberin von Die Poesie des Konkreten. Plakate und Graphik der Kasseler Schule (2000), Berlin) und Holger Jost (Gestalter, zusammen mit Peter Weibel Herausgeber von die teile der summe. begegnungen mit christian chruxin, visueller gestalter 1937-2006 (2008), Karlsruhe)
Der Berliner Künstler-Grafiker Christian Chruxin (1939-2006) bezieht sich in seinen Arbeiten auf typographische Verfahren, auf konstruktiv-konkrete Strömungen in der Bildenden Kunst und auf rhythmus- und formbetonte Tendenzen in der Darstellenden Kunst. Er gilt u. a. als Erfinder des Formats der „Tragbaren Galerie“ sowie des „interaktiven und permutativen Plakats“. In den Beiträgen wird seine gestalterische Praxis vorgestellt und der Einfluss der Kasseler Werkschule gezeigt. Damit werden neue Möglichkeiten der Interpretation von Künstlerbüchern eröffnet.


20:30 Uhr Buch als Diskurs: Zur postrepräsentativen Geschichtsvermittlung im Künstlerbuch

Gespräch mit Peggy Buth (Künstlerin, Berlin) und Dierk Schmidt (Künstler, Berlin) 
2010 erschienen die Künstlerbücher Desire in Representation (Spector Books) von Peggy Buth und The Division of the Earth (Walther König) von Dierk Schmidt. Ausgangspunkt für beide Bücher ist die künstlerische Forschung zur kolonialen Geschichte und ihrer Präsenz in der Gegenwart. Das Medium Buch wird zum eigenständigen Teil der künstlerischen Arbeit, bietet es doch Möglichkeiten nicht-repräsentativer Erzähl- und Darstellungsweisen sowie nicht-linearer Geschichtsauffassungen. Als künstlerisches Medium erfährt das Buch hier eine funktionale Neubestimmung, die vorgestellt und diskutiert wird.

In deutscher Sprache