Sunday, October 30, 2011, 7 pm
Philosophy of the Subject

Lecture by Marcus Steinweg (Berlin) as part of the series “What is Philosophy?’’

Within the subject, the dimensions of a radical passivity traverse those of a hyperbolic activity. The subject is the site of this intersection. Translated into ontological categories, this means the subject is the place where the future intervenes into the past and the past determines the future. Intervention and determination are strictly compossible, however much they seem to exclude one another. It could also be said that the subject may be impossible (as a subject full of autonomy and self-transparency, etc.) but that it claims a certain subject status within this impossibility. Because what is the subject if not the relation to its own impossibility?

Marcus Steinweg (b. 1971) is a Berlin-based freelance philosopher and author. He studied philosophy, German literature, and classics. He currently teaches at the Hochschule für Bildende Künste Braunschweig. He is coeditor of the magazine
Inaesthetics, which discusses the relation between art and philosophy. Selected publications: MAPS (together with Thomas Hirschhorn, Berlin: Merve, 2011); Aporien der Liebe (Berlin: Merve, 2010); Politik des Subjekts (Zurich: Diaphanes, 2009); Der Ozeanomat: Ereignis und Immanenz (Cologne: Salon, 2002); Krieg der différance (Koblenz: Dietmar Fölbach, 2001).

In German language

The complete series
What is Philosophy? is documented in a DVD-set and available at n.b.k.

Sonntag, 30. Oktober 2011, 19 Uhr
Philosophie des Subjekts

Vortrag von Marcus Steinweg (Berlin) in der Reihe „Was ist Philosophie?“

Im Subjekt kreuzen sich die Dimensionen einer radikalen Passivität und einer hyperbolischen Aktivität. Das Subjekt ist der Schauplatz dieser Kreuzung. In ontotopologische Kategorien übersetzt, heißt dies: Das Subjekt ist der Ort, an dem die Zukunft in die Vergangenheit interveniert und die Vergangenheit die Zukunft determiniert. Intervention und Determination sind streng kompossibel, so sehr sie einander auszuschließen scheinen. Man könnte auch sagen, dass das Subjekt zwar unmöglich ist (als Subjekt voller Autonomie und Selbsttransparenz etc.), dass es aber als diese Unmöglichkeit einen gewissen Subjektstatus behauptet. Denn was ist das Subjekt, wenn nicht der Bezug auf seine Unmöglichkeit?

Marcus Steinweg (*1971) lebt als freier Philosoph und Autor in Berlin. Er studierte Philosophie, Germanistik und Altphilologie. Zurzeit unterrichtet er an der Hochschule für Bildende Künste Braunschweig. Er ist Mitherausgeber der Zeitschrift
Inaesthetics, die sich mit der Beziehung zwischen Kunst und Philosophie auseinandersetzt. Publikationen (Auswahl): MAPS (zusammen mit Thomas Hirschhorn, Berlin: Merve, 2011); Aporien der Liebe (Berlin: Merve, 2010); Politik des Subjekts (Zürich: Diaphanes, 2009); Der Ozeanomat: Ereignis und Immanenz (Köln: Salon, 2002); Krieg der différance (Koblenz: Dietmar Fölbach, 2001).

In deutscher Sprache