Thursday, September 22, 2011, 7 pm
Philosophy's Emptiness

Lecture by Nina Power (London) as part of the series "What is Philosophy?"

When we ask what philosophy is, we have to ask what it is not. Alain Badiou proposes that philosophy has no truth of its own, that it should instead seek to shelter and protect the truth generated by four conditions — art, science, politics and love. But why should philosophy have even this role? Does philosophy’s strength lie in its absolutely generic nature, and are all attempts to make it critical, hermeneutic, foundational and so on doomed to (positive) failure?

Nina Power is a senior lecturer in philosophy at Roehampton University. She has written widely on politics, film, philosophy and, most recently, police and protesting. Her articles have been published in various magazines such as
New Statesman, New Left Review, Cabinet and Radical Philosophy. Selected publications: Mary Wollstonecraft: A Vindication of the Rights of Women (London: Verso, 2010); One-Dimensional Woman (Hampshire: Zero Books, 2009).

In English language

The complete series
What is Philosophy? is documented in a DVD-set and available at n.b.k.

Donnerstag, 22. September 2011, 19 Uhr
Philosophy's Emptiness

Vortrag von Nina Power (London) in der Reihe „Was ist Philosophie?“

Wenn wir fragen, was Philosophie ist, müssen wir ebenso fragen, was sie nicht ist. Alain Badiou schlägt vor, dass die Philosophie keine ihr eigene Wahrheit besitzt, sondern dass sie stattdessen versuchen sollte, die Wahrheit zu beherbergen und zu schützen, die von vier Zuständen produziert wird – Kunst, Wissenschaft, Politik und Liebe. Aber warum sollte die Philosophie überhaupt diese Rolle haben? Dieser Vortrag fragt, ob die Stärke der Philosophie in ihrer absolut allgemeinen Natur liegt und ob daher alle Versuche, sie kritisch, hermeneutisch, grundlegend zu machen, zum (positiven) Scheitern verurteilt sind.

Nina Power ist Privatdozentin für Philosophie an der Roehampton Universität, London. Ihre Themengebiete sind Politik, Film, Philosophie sowie aktuell Polizei und Protestkultur. Ihre Artikel wurden in verschiedenen Magazinen veröffentlicht, u. a.
New Statesman, New Left Review, Cabinet und Radical Philosophy. Publikationen (Auswahl): Mary Wollstonecraft. A Vindication of the Rights of Women (London: Verso, 2010); One-Dimensional Woman (Hampshire: Zero Books, 2009). Auf Deutsch ist erschienen: Die eindimensionale Frau (Merve: Berlin, 2011).

In englischer Sprache

Die komplette Reihe
Was ist Philosophie? ist dokumentiert in einer DVD-Box, erhältlich im n.b.k.