Thursday, March 2, 2017, 2 pm
Recommencement

Screenings

On February 28th and March 2nd 2017 the Video-Forum of the Neuer Berliner Kunstverein (n.b.k.) will show two screenings with works from the video art collection, curated by the students of the Berlin University of the Arts.
The screenings are the results of the seminar
Video – Art – History, held by Kathrin Becker (Head of Video-Forum) and Kristina Paustian (Assistant Video-Forum).

Thursday, March 2nd, 2017, 2–8 pm
Recommencement

Recommencement is dedicated to the loop, the continuity and to new beginnings. Videos are often looped when they are exhibited without being intended to be loops. Having this in mind Recommencement focuses on works that are actually meant to be played as loops and seeks to further explore the medium by showing videos that carry some characteristics of a loop and thereby are working looped as well. Let’s take some time for new beginnings.

Dummy by Peter Friedl represents the classical loop in a screening. The video i? by Shahram Entekhabi deals with a complex of being self observed and being observed by the others through a migrant. In David Krippendor’s There’s No Place Like Home, the infamous scene of a flying house from the Hollywood classic The Wizard of Oz is played in a demeaning and diffuse loop. This effect is exaggerated by the use of the voice of Dorothy as a narrative device, which denies closure to the viewer. The work People by Peter Aerschmann shows an endless loop of people in motion. In addition to the looping movement of the subjects, these principles are also displayed in the horizontal movement of the image. The characteristics of the loop can be observed also in the camera movement of the video work Once upon a time by Corinna Schnitt. The viewer is eagerly awaiting every next turn to see more of a funny and partly tragic spectacle.

Screening:
Peter Friedl,
Dummy, 1997, 2:37 min., PAL, color, sound
Shahram Entekhabi,
i?, 2004, 4:21 min., PAL, color, sound
David Krippendorff,
There's No Place Like Home, 1999, 3:00 min., NTSC, color, sound
Corinna Schnitt,
Once Upon a Time, 2006, 25:11 min., PAL, color, sound
Peter Aerschmann,
People, 2002, 2:02 min., PAL, color, mute
Heike Baranowsky
, PASSAGE I (Schiff), 1998, 3:00 min. (x 2, loop), PAL, color, mute
Gabriele Stellbaum,
The Principle, 2004, 13:00 min., PAL, color, sound
Paul + Marlene Kos,
Lightning, 1976, 1:19 min., NTSC, bw, sound
Bjørn Melhus,
The Oral Thing, 2001, 8:00 min., PAL, color, sound (n.b.k. co-production)

Donnerstag, 2. März 2017, 14 Uhr
Recommencement

Screening-Programm

Am 28. Februar und 2. März 2017 zeigt das Video-Forum des Neuen Berliner Kunstvereins (n.b.k.) zwei von den Studierenden der Universität der Künste zusammengestellte Screeningprogramme mit Arbeiten aus der Videokunstsammlung.
Die Screenings sind das Ergebnis eines praktischen Seminars
Video – Art – History, geleitet von Kathrin Becker (Leiterin Video-Forum) und Kristina Paustian (Assistenz Video-Forum).

Donnerstag, 2. März 2017, 14–20 Uhr
Recommencement

In
Recommencement widmen wir uns der Wiederholung, der Kontinuität und dem Neuanfang. Gerade weil Videoarbeiten in Ausstellungen häufig als Loop gezeigt werden, ohne überhaupt als Loop angelegt zu sein, wird bei Recommencement der Fokus auf künstlerische Arbeiten gelegt, die zum einen klassisch als Loop angelegt wurden und zum anderen den Begriff erweitern, indem sie Charakteristiken des Loops aufgreifen und somit auch als Loop funktionieren würden. Nehmen wir uns deshalb ein wenig Zeit für Neuanfänge.
Der Screening beginnt mit einem klassischen narrativen Loop im Sinne von Wiederholung des Immergleichen, wie es die Arbeit
Dummy von Peter Friedl zeigt. In i? von Shahram Entekhabi geht es um den Komplex der Selbst- und Fremdwahrnehmung eines Migranten, der sich auf der Suche nach seiner Identität in einem geschlossenen Kreislauf wiederfindet. Die Szene des fliegenden Hauses aus dem Hollywood-Klassiker The Wizard of Oz wird in There’s No Place Like Home von David Krippendorff zu einem abgründigem Loop montiert, indem die Stimme des Mädchens Dorothy wie in einem Mantra als unendlicher Aufschub narrativer Schließung fungiert. Die Arbeit People von Peter Aerschmann zeigt eine Endlosschleife von laufenden Menschen, wobei sich das Loop-Prinzip in dieser Arbeit zusätzlich in der horizontalen Bewegung des Bildes zeigt. Der Loop-Charakter kann sich ebenso in der Kamerabewegung zeigen, wie in der Arbeit Once upon a time von Corinna Schnitt, wobei sich mit jeder Rotation nach und nach ein lustiges und teilweise tragisches Spektakel offenbart.

Die gezeigten Arbeiten im Überblick:
Peter Friedl,
Dummy, 1997, 2:37 min., PAL, Farbe
Shahram Entekhabi,
i?, 2004, 4:21 min., PAL, Farbe, Ton
David Krippendorff,
There's No Place Like Home, 1999, 3:00 min., NTSC, Farbe, Ton
Corinna Schnitt,
Once Upon a Time, 2006, 25:11 min., PAL, Farbe, Ton
Peter Aerschmann,
People, 2002, 2:02 min., PAL, Farbe, stumm
Heike Baranowsky
, PASSAGE I (Schiff), 1998, 3:00 min., PAL, Farbe, stumm
Gabriele Stellbaum,
The Principle, 2004, 13:00 min., PAL, Farbe, Ton
Paul + Marlene Kos,
Lightning, 1976, 1:19 min., NTSC, schwarz-weiß, Ton
Bjørn Melhus,
The Oral Thing, 2001, 8:00, PAL, Farbe, Ton (n.b.k.-Koproduktion)