Sunday, March 28, 2010, 7 pm
Voice performance at Kunstraum

Voice: John Giorno, room: Ugo Rondinone

On the occasion of the exhibition Sounds. Radio – Art – New Music the Neue Berliner Kunstverein and Zipp – German-Czech Cultural Projects present a voice-performance of John Giorno, one of the key figures of New York`s Beat Generation.



The founder of performance poetry will put eight of his poems on stage. The stage design will made by the swiss artist Ugo Rondinone. The Poems are from different phases of Giornos artistic career, which have brought him together with artists like Andy Warhol, Allen Ginsberg, William S. Burroughs, Robert Rauschenberg, or Jasper Johns. The text
Lorca, please help me! will premiered.



Ugo Rondinone is first known for his hyper-artificial installations. He transforms exhibition spaces into stage designs, where visitors have became mutes. Rondinone will transfer Giorno`s studio as a supersized photo-wallpaper from New York to Berlin.

The documentation of the performance by John Giorno and Ugo Rondinone is available at n.b.k.

Sonntag, 28. März 2010, 19 Uhr
Stimmperformance im Kunstraum

Stimme: John Giorno, Raum: Ugo Rondinone

Zur Finissage der Ausstellung Sounds. Radio – Kunst – Neue Musik präsentiert der Neue Berliner Kunstverein in Zusammenarbeit mit Zipp – deutsch-tschechische Kulturprojekte eine Stimmperformance von John Giorno, Schlüsselfigur der New Yorker Beat Generation.



Der Begründer der Performance Poetry wird vor einem Bühnenbild des Schweizer Künstlers Ugo Rondinone acht eigene Gedichte live in Szene setzen. Gedichte aus verschiedenen Phasen Giornos künstlerischer Karriere, die ihn mit Künstlern wie Andy Warhol, Allen Ginsberg, William S. Burroughs, Robert Rauschenberg oder Jasper Johns zusammenbrachte. Der Text
Lorca, please help me! wird an diesem Abend uraufgeführt.



Ugo Rondinone ist vor allem für seine hyperartifiziellen Rauminstallationen bekannt. Ausstellungsräume verwandelt er in Bühnenbilder, in denen Besucher zu Statisten werden. Zur Performance verlegt er Giornos New Yorker Atelier mittels überdimensionaler Fotografien in die Räume des n.b.k.

Eine Dokumentation der Performance von John Giorno und Ugo Rondinone ist als DVD im n.b.k. erhältlich.