Thursday, September 29, 2011, 7 pm
Tragedy’s Philosophy: Philosophy's Tragedy

Lecture by Simon Critchley (New York) as part of the series "What is Philosophy?"

Simon Critchley’s thought is that philosophy as a discursive invention, beginning with Plato, but extending across the millennia into the present, is premised on the exclusion of tragedy and the exclusion of a range of experiences we can call tragic. Critchley suggests that this exclusion of tragedy is itself tragic, and this is arguably philosophy’s tragedy. He wants to defend tragedy against philosophy, or in other words, argues that tragedy articulates a philosophical view that challenges the authority of philosophy by giving voice to what is contradictory, constricted, precarious, and limited about us.

Simon Critchley (b. 1960) is a professor of philosophy at the New School for Social Research, New York, and chief philosopher of the International Necronautical Society. He is also a visiting professor at the University of Sydney and the University of Notre Dame, USA. He studied at the University of Essex and Université de Nice Sophia-Antipolis. Selected publications:
Impossible Objects (Cambridge: Polity Press, 2011); On Humour (London: Routledge, 2002); Continental Philosophy: A Very Short Introduction (Oxford University Press, 2001); The Ethics of Deconstruction: Derrida and Levinas (Edinburgh University Press, 1992).

In English language

The complete series
What is Philosophy? is documented in a DVD-set and available at n.b.k.

Donnerstag, 29. September 2011, 19 Uhr
Tragedy’s Philosophy: Philosophy's Tragedy

Vortrag von Simon Critchley (New York) in der Reihe „Was ist Philosophie?“

Simon Critchleys Gedanke besteht darin, dass die Philosophie, als eine diskursive Erfindung, beginnend mit Plato, aber sich von dort über die Jahrtausende bis in die Gegenwart erstreckend, auf dem Ausschluss der Tragödie und dem Ausschluss einer Reihe von Erfahrungen, die wir als tragisch bezeichnen, basiert. Critchley schlägt vor, dass diese Exklusion des Tragischen selbst tragisch ist, und dass man behaupten könnte, dass dies die Tragödie der Philosophie ist. Er möchte die Tragödie gegen die Philosophie verteidigen, oder in anderen Worten, die Tragödie drückt eine philosophische Perspektive aus, die die Autorität der Philosophie anficht, indem sie dem eine Stimme verleiht, was widersprüchlich, was eingeschlossen, was prekär und was beschränkt an uns ist.

Simon Critchley (*1960) ist Professor für Philosophie an der New School for Social Research, New York, und leitender Philosoph der International Necronautical Society. Zudem ist er Gastprofessor an der Universität Sydney und der University of Notre Dame, USA. Er studierte an der University of Essex und der Université de Nice Sophia-Antipolis. Publikationen (Auswahl):
Impossible Objects (Cambridge: Polity Press, 2011); On Humour (London: Routledge, 2002); Continental Philosophy: A Very Short Introduction (Oxford University Press, 2001); The Ethics of Deconstruction: Derrida and Levinas (Edinburgh University Press, 1992). Auf Deutsch erschienen sind: Der Katechismus des Bürgers (Zürich: Diaphanes, 2008); Unendlich fordernd (Zürich: Diaphanes, 2008); Über Humor (Wien: Turia + Kant, 2004); Das Undarstellbare der Politik. Zur Hegemonietheorie Ernesto Laclaus (Wien: Turia + Kant, 1998).

In Englischer Sprache

Die komplette Reihe
Was ist Philosophie? ist dokumentiert in einer DVD-Box, erhältlich im n.b.k.