Sounds.
Radio – Kunst – Neue Musik


gallery thumbnail


n.b.k. Exhibitions Vol. 7 – Sounds.
Radio – Kunst – Neue Musik

Edited by Marius Babias and Katrin Klingan

Reader, 216 pages, with illustrations (mostly in color) and an original score by Rolf Julius, German/English and booklet with 5 radio plays on CD (in German) in slipcase, 19.80 Euro / 15.00 Euro (members), Verlag der Buchhandlung Walther König, Cologne 2010, ISBN 978-3-86560-826-0


During the emergence of the historical avant-garde, the arts formed a mutually fertile synthesis, until a separation and specialization into individual disciplines took place in the 1930s. Despite the dominance of the dialog-centered radio play, radio is a place where this interaction of the arts is explored anew over and over. The exhibition project Sounds. Radio-Art-New Music made it possible to experience radio as an artistic medium. Five radio works that emerged in the framework of the German-Czech radio art project rádio d-cz in 2009 formed the core of the exhibition and are included in the publication as audio CDs. Writers, artists, audio play dramaturges, noise collectors, and musicians engaged with the German-Czech lifeworld for rádio d-cz. In the archive part of the book, they are complemented with descriptions of historical and contemporary reference pieces. An interview recalls the history of the experimental studio in Bratislava in the 1960s to the 1980s, until the boom of “postcommunist sounds” in the 1990s. Select writers complement the tracks with discussions on the history and present of the medium radio in relationship to fine art and new music, interspersed with the original artistic score of Rolf Julius.

With a preface by Marius Babias and Katrin Klingan, an introduction by Gaby Hartl and Frank Kaspar, and texts by Everett Frost, Michael Glasmeier, Petra Maria Meyer, a historical archive and radio plays on CD.

The publication can be purchased at local bookshops, via the website of Buchhandlung Walther König, and at Neuer Berliner Kunstverein. Members of Neuer Berliner Kunstverein can buy the book at n.b.k. for the special price of 15.00 Euro.

Sounds.
Radio – Kunst – Neue Musik.


gallery thumbnail


n.b.k. Ausstellungen Band 7 – Sounds.
Radio – Kunst – Neue Musik.

Herausgegeben von Marius Babias und Katrin Klingan

Textband, 216 Seiten, mit farb. Abb. und Originalpartitur von Rolf Julius, Klappenbroschur, Deutsch/Englisch und Booklet mit 5 Hörstücken auf CD (Deutsch) im Schuber, 19,80 Euro / 15,00 Euro (Mitglieder), Verlag der Buchhandlung Walther König, Köln 2010, ISBN 978-3-86560-826-0


Zur Zeit der historischen Avantgarden bildeten die Künste eine sich gegenseitig befruchtende Synthese, ehe ab den 1930er Jahren eine Separierung und Spezialisierung in einzelne Disziplinen einsetzte. Das Radio ist ein Ort, an dem dieses Zusammenspiel der Künste auch gegen die Dominanz eines dialogzentrierten Hörspiels immer wieder erprobt wird. Das Ausstellungsprojekt Sounds. Radio – Kunst – Neue Musik machte Radio als künstlerisches Medium erfahrbar. Fünf Radioarbeiten, die im Rahmen des deutsch-tschechischen Radiokunstprojekts rádio d-cz in 2009 entstanden, bildeten den Kern der Ausstellung und liegen der Publikation als Hör-CDs bei. AutorInnen, KünstlerInnen, HörspieldramaturgInnen, GeräuschesammlerInnen und MusikerInnen setzten sich für rádio d-cz mit deutsch-tschechischen Lebenswelten auseinander. Im Archivteil des Buches werden diese mit Beschreibungen historischer und zeitgenössischer Referenzstücke ergänzt. In einem Interview wird an die Geschichte des Experimentalstudios in Bratislava in den 1960er bis 1980er Jahren erinnert – bishin zum Boom „postkommunistischer Sounds“ in den 1990er Jahren. Ausgewählte FachautorInnen ergänzen das Hörbare mit Erörterungen zur Geschichte und Gegenwart des Mediums Radio im Verhältnis zur Bildenden Kunst und zur Neuen Musik, unterbrochen von der künstlerischen Originalpartitur von Rolf Julius.

Mit einem Vorwort von Marius Babias und Katrin Klingan, einer Einführung von Gaby Hartl und Frank Kaspar, Texten von Everett Frost, Michael Glasmeier, Petra Maria Meyer u. a., einem historischem Archiv und Hörspielen auf CD.

Zu beziehen über den Buchhandel, die Website der Buchhandlung Walther König oder im Neuen Berliner Kunstverein. Mitglieder des Neuen Berliner Kunstvereins können die Publikation im n.b.k. zum Vorzugspreis von 15,00 Euro erwerben.