Candida Höfer.
Nach Berlin.


gallery thumbnail


n.b.k. Exhibitions Vol. 22 – Candida Höfer. Nach Berlin.

Edited by Marius Babias

112 pages, with color illustrations, soft cover, text in German and English, 19.80 Euro / 15.00 Euro (members), Verlag der Buchhandlung Walther König, Cologne 2017, ISBN 978-3-96098-100-8


Candida Höfer is one of the most renowned German photographers with an international reputation. Her extensive oeuvre has been exhibited in museums worldwide and is represented in important collections. From December 3, 2016 until January 29, 2017, Neuer Berliner Kunstverein (n.b.k.) presented numerous new photographs and projections by the artist in the exhibition Nach Berlin.

The volume now presented documents the exhibition, using the medium book as a scene of presentation and display. It contains reproductions of the photographic works themselves, installation views, and shots of the show’s setup and dismantling. The latter two groups of pictures were taken by the photographer Jens Ziehe, whom Höfer hired for this purpose. She instructed him on the camera settings, perspectives, and fields of view she wanted. Rather than trying to represent the exhibition in an accompanying catalogue, the artist chose to use this publication to broach fundamental questions of pictorial representation and the way different media inform the photographic depiction of reality. The book is thus neither an exhibition catalogue nor an artist’s book (a standalone creation with distinctive artistic features that add to its value in the eyes of bibliophile collectors) but a printed work that grew out of the gallery presentation and reconstructs the exhibition situation in a different format.

The publication can be purchased at local bookshops, via the website of Buchhandlung Walther König, and at Neuer Berliner Kunstverein. Members of Neuer Berliner Kunstverein can buy the book at n.b.k. for the special price of 15.00 Euro.

Candida Höfer.
Nach Berlin.


gallery thumbnail


n.b.k. Ausstellungen Band 22 – Candida Höfer. Nach Berlin.

Herausgegeben von Marius Babias

112 Seiten mit farb. Abb., Klappenbroschur, Text in dt. u. engl. Sprache, 19,80 Euro / 15,00 Euro (Mitglieder), Verlag der Buchhandlung Walther König, Köln 2017, ISBN 978-3-96098-100-8


Candida Höfer ist eine der bekanntesten deutschen Fotografinnen mit internationaler Reputation. Ihr umfangreiches Werk wurde weltweit in Museen ausgestellt und ist in bedeutenden Sammlungen vertreten. Der Neue Berliner Kunstverein (n.b.k.) präsentierte vom 3. Dezember 2016 bis 29. Januar 2017 zahlreiche neue fotografische Arbeiten und Projektionen der Künstlerin in der Ausstellung Nach Berlin.

Die nun erschienene Publikation dokumentiert die Ausstellung und nutzt dabei das Medium Buch als Präsentationsort und Display. Sie enthält Abbildungen von den fotografischen Werken selbst, Ausstellungsansichten sowie Abbildungen vom Auf- und Abbau der Ausstellung. Für die letzteren zwei Gruppen von Abbildungen beauftragte Höfer den Fotografen Jens Ziehe. Vorab teilte sie ihm die gewünschten Einstellungen, Perspektiven und Ausschnitte mit. Nicht der Versuch, die Ausstellung in einem Begleitkatalog zu repräsentieren, sondern grundlegende Fragen nach Bildrepräsentation und dem jeweiligen Medium der Darstellung von Wirklichkeit durch Fotografie stehen für die Künstlerin im Mittelpunkt. Es handelt sich also weder um einen Ausstellungskatalog noch um ein Künstlerbuch, das von der Künstlerin mit individuell-künstlerischen Mitteln bearbeitet und mit einem bibliophilen Mehrwert versehen worden wäre, sondern um ein aus der Ausstellung hervorgegangenes Druckerzeugnis, das die Ausstellungssituation in Buchform nachvollzieht.

Zu beziehen über den Buchhandel, die Website der Buchhandlung Walther König oder im Neuen Berliner Kunstverein. Mitglieder des Neuen Berliner Kunstvereins können die Publikation im n.b.k. zum Vorzugspreis von 15,00 Euro erwerben.