Harun Farocki. Zehn, zwanzig, dreißig, vierzig. Fragment einer Autobiografie. Schriften. Band 1

gallery thumbnail


Edited by Marius Babias and Antje Ehmann

208 pages, with illustrations, soft cover, German, 19.80 Euro / 15.00 Euro (members), Verlag der Buchhandlung Walther König, Cologne 2017, ISBN 978-3-96098-223-4


Part of the edition:
Harun Farocki. Schriften.
Edited by Marius Babias, Antje Ehmann, Tom Holert, Doreen Mende, Volker Pantenburg

Harun Farocki (1944–2014) is one of the most important and internationally influential German filmmakers. His oeuvre comprises more than 100 films and productions: experimental and documentary films; essay, short and feature films. However, his complete works go far beyond this, he has also succeeded internationally as a video and installation artist as well as being a lecturer and media theorist.

To Harun Farocki writing was inextricably linked with his cinematic works; his work on the concept of the image always involved a translation from the image to the text and vice versa. The autobiography from his estate, which has now been published, constitutes a great exception in his oeuvre: Farocki was not able to complete it; he died in July 2014. We here have a work, which has remained unfinished in itself—but precisely this makes this autobiography so fascinating. It portrays his tragic childhood, Farocki’s escape to West Berlin, the fortune of having discovered film, although he wanted to become a writer, his turning to outsiderism, his radicalism of thought, his vision, his power of observation, the growing ability to analyze social structures, the politicization of life. In his autobiography, Farocki adopts the attitude of the filmmaker, he is not only a critical reader of his own life, but also of the current events, which form the backdrop of the entire narrative.

The autobiography is published on the occasion of the
Harun Farocki Retrospective, September 14, 2017 – January 28, 2018, initiated by Neuer Berliner Kunstverein in cooperation with Arsenal – Institute for Film and Video Art, the Harun Farocki Institute, Harun Farocki GbR, Silent Green Kulturquartier, Verlag der Buchhandlung Walther König and Savvy Contemporary as part of the Berlin Art Week, sponsored by the Berlin Senate Department for Culture.

Harun Farocki. Zehn, zwanzig, dreißig, vierzig. Fragment einer Autobiografie. Schriften. Band 1

gallery thumbnail


Herausgegeben von Marius Babias und Antje Ehmann

208 Seiten, mit Abb., Klappenbroschur, 19,80 Euro / 15,00 Euro (Mitglieder), Verlag der Buchhandlung Walther König, Köln 2017, ISBN 978-3-96098-223-4


Teil der Gesamtausgabe:
Harun Farocki. Schriften.
Hrsg. von Marius Babias, Antje Ehmann, Tom Holert, Doreen Mende, Volker Pantenburg

Harun Farocki (1944–2014) gilt als einer der wichtigsten und international einflussreichsten deutschen Filmemacher. Sein OEuvre umfasst mehr als 100 Filme und Produktionen: Experimental- und Dokumentarfilme, Essay-, Kurz- und Spielfilme. Sein Gesamtwerk geht aber weit darüber hinaus, auch im Bereich bildende Kunst als Video- und Installationskünstler war er international erfolgreich, ebenso als Dozent und Medientheoretiker.

Für Harun Farocki war das Schreiben untrennbar mit seinen filmischen Arbeiten verbunden; seine Arbeit am Bildbegriff bedeutete immer auch eine Übersetzungsleistung vom Bild zum Text und umgekehrt. Die nun publizierte Autobiografie aus dem Nachlaß bildet in seinem Schaffen eine große Ausnahme: Farocki konnte sie nicht beenden, er starb im Juli 2014. Wir haben ein Werk vor uns, das in sich unfertig geblieben ist – genau darin liegt jedoch die Faszination, die die Autobiografie ausübt. Geschildert wird die bedrückende Kindheit, Farockis Flucht nach Westberlin, das Glück, den Film entdeckt zu haben, obwohl er Schriftsteller werden wollte, seine Zuwendung zum Außenseitertum, seine Radikalität des Denkens, sein Weitblick, seine Beobachtungsgabe, die wachsende Fähigkeit zur Analyse gesellschaftlicher Strukturen, die Politisierung des Lebens. Farocki nimmt in seiner Autobiografie die Haltung des Filmemachers ein, er ist nicht nur ein kritischer Leser seines Lebens, sondern auch des Zeitgeschehens, das die Hintergrundfolie der Gesamterzählung bildet.

Die Autobiografie erscheint anlässlich der
Harun Farocki Retrospektive, 14. September 2017 – 28. Januar 2018, initiiert vom Neuen Berliner Kunstverein in Kooperation mit dem Arsenal – Institut für Film und Videokunst, dem Harun Farocki Institut, der Harun Farocki GbR, dem Silent Green Kulturquartier, dem Verlag der Buchhandlung Walther König und Savvy Contemporary im Rahmen der Berlin Art Week, gefördert von der Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa.