Thursday, October 10, 2019, 7 pm
Mythos des Marktes (The Myth of the Market) II

Discussion with Arno Brandlhuber (architect, Berlin, Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule Zürich), Katalin Gennburg (politician, Berlin), Guerilla Architects (Berlin), Charlotte Malterre-Barthes (architect and urban designer, TU Berlin / ETH Zürich) Birgit Möhring (general manager Berliner Immobilienmanagement GmbH, Berlin), Philine Schneider (architect and curator, Berlin)

How, of all places, was it possible that Berlin, the city of unlimited open spaces, came to experience an increase in rents and a shortage of affordable housing? After the fall of the Berlin Wall, the merging of the eastern and western parts of the city made spatial resources seem inexhaustible, but investor-friendly urban planning, real estate speculation and massive waves of privatization fostered an urban sell-off policy. For the present and the future, the following questions arise: How can the housing question be dealt with? How can the restored awareness of the social responsibility of property, as it is currently being discussed in politics and civil society, manifest itself?

The exhibition
1989–2019: Politics of Space in the New Berlin outlines the urbanistic and architectural development from the point of view of the supposed “end of history”: How did Berlin become what it is today? Projects realized especially for the exhibition exemplify various urbanistic policies and their consequences for today’s Berlin. They depict partly contradictory processes and narratives that to this day are superimposing and intensifying in Berlin as a constructed city. There is not only one Berlin, but many myths and ideas of what Berlin is supposed to be. The exhibition reflects the perspectives and myths of history, of the market and of creativity.

In the framework of an extensive discourse program, selective glimpses into the history, present and future of the city are supposed to sound out what the urban Berlin consists of today. Politicians, architects, urban theorists, artists and activists will be discussing the politics of space in the New Berlin: What to do about historically amnesiac ambitions? What is the current constitution of urban social movements, how can their relationship to party politics be apprehended in terms of emancipation? What kind of associations, planning approaches and architectures are needed to create a Berlin that is open and based on solidarity?


Arno Brandlhuber is an architect and urban planner in Berlin and has headed Brandlhuber+ since 2006. His work includes architectural and research projects, exhibitions and publications, as well as political interventions. His interest in public policy surrounding architectural and urban production, led to a collaboration with the artist and film director Christopher Roth on the films Legislating Architecture (2016) and The Property Drama (2017). Brandlhuber has been a professor of design and architecture at ETH Zurich since 2017.

Katalin Gennburg is an urban researcher and an active member of the German Left party. She studied philosophy and historical urban studies at TU Berlin and wrote her thesis on post-1990 land privatization in Brandenburg and the wealthy suburbs of Berlin. In the elections for the Berlin House of Representatives in September 2016, she was elected by direct mandate to represent the electoral district 1 of Treptow-Köpenick. In the House of Representatives, she is the Left party’s spokesperson on urban development, tourism, and the Smart City Berlin strategy.

Guerilla Architects is an international collective of architects, urban planners, and artists. Founded in 2012 while sharing a common squatting experience in London, the team focuses on unused and forgotten urban resources. Based in Berlin, Kiel, and Sofia, they use unconventional and subversive methods to reveal how socioeconomic structures are being questioned and threatened in urban public spaces.

Charlotte Malterre-Barthes is an architect, urbanist, and scholar. In 2009 she founded the urban design practice OMNIBUS. From 2014 to 2019 she was program manager of the Master of Advanced Studies in Urban Design program led by Marc Angélil at ETH Zurich, and was a guest professor at TU Berlin from 2018 to 2019. She holds a PhD from ETH Zurich on the effects of the political economy of food on the built environment. She co-authored the books Housing Cairo: The Informal Response (2016), Some Haunted Spaces in Singapore (2018), and Eileen Gray: A House under the Sun (2019). She is a founding member of the Parity Group, a grassroots organization committed to improving gender equality in architecture. She co-curated the XII International Architecture Biennale of São Paulo, held in 2019 under the theme Everyday.

Birgit Möhring has been Managing Director of Berliner Immobilienmanagement GmbH (BIM) since March 2015, where she has worked as an employee since its foundation in 2003. As an authorized signatory and member of the management board, she was responsible for the areas of portfolio management and purchasing for more than ten years and was involved in the establishment and further development of the national subsidiary. In December 2013, she moved to Liegenschaftsfonds Berlin (the state property management fund), where she was managing director until BIM took over its business operations in 2015.

Philine Schneider works as an architect in Berlin at the intersection of curatorial practice, art, and research in urban planning and architecture. In 2011 she co-founded CollageLab in order to develop transdisciplinary research in architecture and urbanism. Within this framework, she conceived exhibitions, competitions, workshops and other event formats. In addition to her work as an architect, she worked from 2011–2015 as a research assistant at Bauhaus Dessau and 2015/2016 at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology in the field of international urban planning. Since 2019 she is a partner at rosa architekten, Berlin.


In German
Free admission

Donnerstag, 10. Oktober 2019, 19 Uhr
Mythos des Marktes II

Diskussion mit Arno Brandlhuber (Architekt, Berlin, ETH Zürich), Katalin Gennburg (Politikerin, Berlin), Guerilla Architects (Berlin), Charlotte Malterre-Barthes (Architektin und Urban Designerin, TU Berlin / ETH Zürich), Birgit Möhring (Geschäftsführerin Berliner Immobilienmanagement GmbH, Berlin), Philine Schneider (Architektin und Kuratorin, Berlin)

Wie konnte es ausgerechnet in Berlin, der Stadt der unbegrenzten Freiräume, zu einem Anstieg von Mieten und zu einem Mangel an bezahlbarem Wohnraum kommen? Nach dem Mauerfall schien durch die Zusammenführung von Ost-und Westteil der Stadt die Raumressource unerschöpflich, doch investorenfreundliche Stadtplanung, Bodenspekulation und massive Privatisierungswellen begünstigten eine Stadtpolitik des Ausverkaufs. Für die Gegenwart und Zukunft stellen sich die Fragen: Wie lässt sich die Wohnungsfrage bearbeiten? Wie kann das erneuerte Bewusstsein für die Sozialpflichtigkeit des Eigentums, wie es aktuell in Politik und Zivilgesellschaft diskutiert wird, manifest werden?

Die Ausstellung 
1989–2019: Politik des Raums im Neuen Berlin skizziert die urbanistische und architektonische Entwicklung Berlins vom vermeintlichen „Ende der Geschichte“ her: Wie ist Berlin zu dem geworden, was es heute ist? Eigens für die Ausstellung realisierte Projekte machen unterschiedliche stadträumliche Politiken und ihre Folgen für das Berlin von heute anschaulich. Sie stellen teils widersprüchliche Prozesse und Narrative dar, die sich bis heute im gebauten Berlin überlagern und verdichten. Das eine Berlin gibt es nicht, dafür viele Mythen und Imaginationen dessen, was Berlin sein soll. Die Ausstellung reflektiert die Perspektiven und Mythen der Geschichte, des Marktes und der Kreativität.

Im Rahmen eines umfangreichen Diskursprogramms sollen selektive Blicke in die Geschichte, Gegenwart und Zukunft der Stadt ausloten, wie das urbane Berlin heute zusammengesetzt ist. Politiker*innen, Architekt*innen, Stadttheoretiker*innen, Künstler*innen und Aktivist*innen diskutieren die Politiken des Raums im Neuen Berlin: Was tun gegen geschichtsvergessene Bestrebungen? In welcher Verfassung sind urbane soziale Bewegungen derzeit, wie lässt sich ihr Verhältnis zu Parteipolitik emanzipatorisch fassen? Welche Zusammenschlüsse, Planungsansätze und Architekturen werden benötigt, um ein solidarisches Berlin der Offenheit zu gestalten?


Arno Brandlhuber lebt als Architekt und Stadtplaner in Berlin und führt seit 2006 das Büro Brandlhuber+. Seine Arbeit umfasst Architektur- und Forschungsprojekte, Ausstellungen und Publikationen sowie politische Interventionen. Im Rahmen seiner Beschäftigung mit Aspekten der Legislative in der Architektur- und Stadtproduktion entstanden gemeinsam mit dem Künstler und Filmregisseur Christopher Roth die Filme Legislating Architecture (2016) und The Property Drama (2017). Seit 2017 ist Brandlhuber Professor für Entwurf und Architektur an der ETH Zürich.

Katalin Gennburg ist Stadtforscherin und in der Partei Die Linke aktiv. Sie studierte Philosophie und Historische Urbanistik an der TU Berlin und schrieb ihre Abschlussarbeit zu Bodenprivatisierungen nach 1990 in Brandenburg und im Berliner Speckgürtel. Bei den Wahlen zum Berliner Abgeordnetenhaus im September 2016 erhielt sie im Wahlkreis 1 in Treptow-Köpenick ein Direktmandat. In der Fraktion Die Linke im Abgeordnetenhaus ist sie Sprecherin für Stadtentwicklung, Tourismus und Smart City.

Guerilla Architects ist ein internationales Kollektiv von Architekt*innen, Stadtplaner*innen und Künstler*innen. Ausgehend von einer gemeinsamen Hausbesetzung 2012 in London konzentriert sich das Team seither auf ungenutzte und vergessene Ressourcen des Städtischen. Mit Sitz in Berlin, Kiel und Sofia zeigen sie durch unkonventionelle und subversive Methoden auf, wo in öffentlichen Räumen bestehende sozioökonomische Strukturen der Stadt infrage gestellt werden und bedroht sind.

Charlotte Malterre-Barthes ist Architektin und arbeitet im Urban Design sowie als Wissenschaftlerin. 2009 gründete sie das Stadtplanungsbüro OMNIBUS, 2014–2015 war sie Leiterin des Master of Advanced Studies Urban Design am Fachbereich von Marc Angélil der ETH Zürich. An die TU Berlin ist sie 2018–2019 als Gastprofessorin berufen. Sie hält einen PhD der ETH zu den Auswirkungen der Ernährungswirtschaftspolitik auf die gebaute Umwelt. Sie ist Ko-Autorin von Housing Cairo: The Informal Response (2016), Some Haunted Spaces in Singapore (2018) and Eileen Gray: A House under the Sun (2019). Sie ist Gründungsmitglied der Parity Group, einer Graswurzelorganisation, die sich der Steigerung der Gendergerechtigkeit im Feld der Architektur widmet. 2019 ist sie Ko-Kuratorin der 12. Internationalen Architekturbiennale in São Paulo.

Birgit Möhring ist seit März 2015 Geschäftsführerin der Berliner Immobilienmanagement GmbH (BIM), wo sie seit dessen Gründung im Jahr 2003 als Mitarbeiterin tätig war. Als Prokuristin und Mitglied der Geschäftsleitung verantwortete sie über zehn Jahre lang u. a. die Bereiche Portfoliomanagement und Einkauf und wirkte am Aufbau und der Weiterentwicklung der Landestochter mit. Im Dezember 2013 wechselte sie zwischenzeitlich zum Berliner Liegenschaftsfonds und war dort bis zur Übernahme der Geschäftsbetriebe des Liegenschaftsfonds durch die BIM 2015 als Geschäftsführerin tätig.

Philine Schneider arbeitet als Architektin in Berlin an der Schnittstelle von kuratorischer Arbeit, Kunst und Forschung in Städtebau und Architektur. 2011 war sie Mitbegründerin der Kooperation CollageLab, die sich mit transdisziplinärer Raumforschung beschäftigt. In diesem Rahmen entstanden Ausstellungen, Auslobungen, Workshops und andere Veranstaltungsformate. Neben ihrer Tätigkeit als Architektin arbeitete sie 2011–2015 als wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin am Bauhaus Dessau und 2015/2016 am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie im Bereich Internationaler Städtebau. Seit 2019 ist sie Partnerin bei rosa architekten, Berlin.


In deutscher Sprache
Eintritt frei