There Is Fiction in the Space Between

gallery thumbnail


n.b.k. Berlin Vol. 11 – There Is Fiction in the Space Between

Edited by Marius Babias and Michaela Richter. With a greeting by Klaus Lederer, a preface by Marius Babias and texts by Eva-Maria Gillich, Emine Sevgi Özdamar, Michaela Richter, and Misal Adnan Yıldız.

152 pages, color illustrations, softcover, German / English, 19,80 Euro / 15,00 Euro (members), Verlag der Buchhandlung Walther König, Cologne 2019, ISBN 978-3-96098-650-8


There Is Fiction in the Space Between presents eleven outstanding positions of the international art scene in Berlin. Using a variety of media, styles and approaches, the artists address current social issues. The works by William Engelen, Fehras Publishing Practices, Nina Fischer & Maroan el Sani, Jean-Pascal Flavien, Eva Grubinger, Hanne Lippard, Antonia Low, Dafna Maimon & Ethan Hayes-Chute, Emeka Ogboh, Peles Empire and Sophie Reinhold cover a wide range of topics and artistic practices. The works introduced here are representative of the working methods of the artists and reflect current debates in the art field. They stand out due to their critical view of the present and examine, for example, architecture, specific places and collective experiences. With research-based projects historical references are made usable for the present and social conditions are depicted. The works presented reflect various aesthetic uses of form as well as transformative processes and provide insights into the diverse art production in Berlin.

The book was published on the occasion of the exhibition
There Is Fiction in the Space Between.

The publication can be purchased at local bookshops, via the website of Buchhandlung Walther König, and at Neuer Berliner Kunstverein. Members of Neuer Berliner Kunstverein can buy the book at n.b.k. for the special price of 15.00 Euro.

There Is Fiction in the Space Between

gallery thumbnail


n.b.k. Berlin Band 11 – There Is Fiction in the Space Between

Herausgegeben von Marius Babias und Michaela Richter. Mit einem Grußwort von Klaus Lederer, einem Vorwort von Marius Babias und Texten von Eva-Maria Gillich, Emine Sevgi Özdamar, Michaela Richter und Misal Adnan Yıldız.

152 Seiten, mit farb. Abb., Klappenbroschur, Deutsch/Englisch, 19,80 Euro / 15,00 Euro (Mitglieder), Verlag der Buchhandlung Walther König, Köln 2019, ISBN 978-3-96098-650-8


There Is Fiction in the Space Between präsentiert elf herausragende Positionen der internationalen Kunstszene Berlins. Mit unterschiedlichen Medien und vielfältigen Ausdrucks- und Herangehensweisen erörtern die Künstler*innen gegenwärtige gesellschaftliche Fragestellungen. Die Arbeiten von William Engelen, Fehras Publishing Practices, Nina Fischer & Maroan el Sani, Jean-Pascal Flavien, Eva Grubinger, Hanne Lippard, Antonia Low, Dafna Maimon & Ethan Hayes-Chute, Emeka Ogboh, Peles Empire und Sophie Reinhold umfassen ein breites Spektrum an Themen und künstlerischen Praktiken. Vorgestellt werden Werke, die repräsentativ für die Arbeitsweisen der Künstler*innen sind und aktuelle Auseinandersetzungen im Kunstfeld widerspiegeln. Sie zeichnen sich durch ihren kritischen Blick auf die Gegenwart aus und untersuchen u. a. Architekturen, spezifische Orte und gemeinschaftliche Erfahrungen. In recherchebasierten Projekten werden historische Verweise für die Jetztzeit fruchtbar gemacht sowie gesellschaftliche Zustände abgebildet. Die präsentierten Arbeiten reflektieren verschiedenartige ästhetische Formsprachen sowie transformative Prozesse und geben Einblicke in die vielseitige Kunstproduktion Berlins.

Die Publikation erschien anlässlich der Ausstellung
There Is Fiction in the Space Between.

Zu beziehen über den Buchhandel, die Website der Buchhandlung Walther König oder im Neuen Berliner Kunstverein. Mitglieder des Neuen Berliner Kunstvereins können die Publikation im n.b.k. zum Vorzugspreis von 15,00 Euro erwerben.