Natascha Sadr Haghighian. passing one loop into another 
Hannah Höch Advancement Award 2020

June 12 – July 31, 2020



Natascha Sadr Haghighian. passing one loop into another, exhibition view Neuer Berliner Kunstverein, 2020 © photo: Jens ZieheNatascha Sadr Haghighian. passing one loop into another, exhibition view Neuer Berliner Kunstverein, 2020 © photo: Jens ZieheNatascha Sadr Haghighian. passing one loop into another, exhibition view Neuer Berliner Kunstverein (detail), 2020 © photo: Jens ZieheNatascha Sadr Haghighian. passing one loop into another, exhibition view Neuer Berliner Kunstverein, 2020 © photo: Jens ZieheNatascha Sadr Haghighian. passing one loop into another, exhibition view Neuer Berliner Kunstverein (detail), 2020 © photo: Jens Ziehe
Curator: Anna Lena Seiser

Natascha Sadr Haghighian develops installations, video and audio works, as well as performative interventions which reveal the infrastructures and conditions of our social order. Taking current and historical events as a point of departure, the artist addresses how our scope of action, structure of the gaze, and ultimately our thinking are formed. She shows the complex interdependencies and the mutual interpenetration of technology, politics, systems of value creation, and the biological, and calls into question our anthropocentric self-understanding.

In 2020 Sadr Haghighian was honored by the State of Berlin with the Hannah Höch Advancement Award for outstanding artistic achievements by mid-career artists. On the occasion of her award, the artist is presenting a series of works in the Showroom of Neuer Berliner Kunstverein (n.b.k.) in which diverse thematic strands are interwoven in the figure of an animal. The central installation,
passing one loop into another (2017) focuses on the Asian tiger mosquito. Originating in the subtropical regions of Southeast Asia, the insect was discovered to be a carrier of pathogens and diseases such as the Zika virus. The tiger mosquito was first sighted in Italy in the early 1990s, a time marked by increasing global warming as well as the ratification of the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade (GATT) on the deregulation of world trade. To protect themselves from the mosquito, the Italians developed a novel alliance with the native Pippistrellus, a microbat that feeds on insects. The installation shows a larger-than-life model of the tiger mosquito enthroned above a pallet loaded with industrial yarn reels. The yarn comes from the town of Prato, northwest of Florence, a center of the globalized textile industry. Above the insect, resound echolocation hunting calls by the nocturnal pipistrelli, lowered to frequencies audible to humans.

The title,
passing one loop into another represents an instructional step for making string figures, a cultural technique used worldwide, in which a looped string is linked with the hands via several, algorithmically describable intermediate steps to form an image or geometric figure.

Natascha Sadr Haghighian represented Germany at the Venice Biennale 2019 and participated in both Documenta 13 (2012) and Documenta 14 (2017). On the occasion of the exhibition at n.b.k., an extensive catalogue will be published by Verlag der Buchhandlung Walther König, Cologne.


Swarm.7 by Diane Barbé

In the context of the exhibition passing one loop into another the Berlin based sound artist Diane Barbé created the interacitve sound piece Swarm.7 for the n.b.k. website – it can be individually activated and listened to here:
www.nbk.org/en/passing_one_loop_into_another.html


Exhibition talks

Thursday, July 16, 2020, 7 pm
Artist Talk with Natascha Sadr Haghighian and Anna Lena Seiser (Head of the n.b.k. Video-Forum)
In German

Thursday, July 30, 2020, 7 pm
Natascha Sadr Haghighian in conversation with Fahim Amir (philosopher and writer, Vienna)
In German

All events take place with a limited number of participants – registration required.
To join the event, please register via our online form.



The exhibition is funded by the cultural affairs department of the Berlin Senate.

Neuer Berliner Kunstverein is funded by the LOTTO-Stiftung Berlin.

Natascha Sadr Haghighian. passing one loop into another 
Hannah-Höch-Förderpreis 2020

12. Juni – 31. Juli 2020



Natascha Sadr Haghighian. passing one loop into another, Ausstellungsansicht Neuer Berliner Kunstverein, 2020 © Foto: Jens ZieheNatascha Sadr Haghighian. passing one loop into another, Ausstellungsansicht Neuer Berliner Kunstverein, 2020 © Foto: Jens ZieheNatascha Sadr Haghighian. passing one loop into another, Ausstellungsansicht Neuer Berliner Kunstverein (Detail), 2020 © Foto: Jens ZieheNatascha Sadr Haghighian. passing one loop into another, Ausstellungsansicht Neuer Berliner Kunstverein, 2020 © Foto: Jens ZieheNatascha Sadr Haghighian. passing one loop into another, Ausstellungsansicht Neuer Berliner Kunstverein (Detail), 2020 © Foto: Jens Ziehe
Kuratorin: Anna Lena Seiser

Natascha Sadr Haghighian entwickelt Installationen, Video- und Audioarbeiten sowie performative Interventionen, die die Infrastrukturen und Bedingtheiten unserer Gesellschaftsordnung offenlegen. Ausgehend von aktuellen wie historischen Ereignissen, widmet sie sich der Frage, wie unsere Handlungsspielräume, Blickstrukturen und letztlich unser Denken formiert sind. Sie zeigt die komplexen Verflechtungen und die gegenseitige Durchdringung von Technologie, Politik, Wertschöpfungssystemen und dem Biologischen auf und stellt ein anthropozentrisches Selbstverständnis infrage.

Sadr Haghighian wird 2020 vom Land Berlin mit dem Hannah-Höch-Förderpreis für herausragende künstlerische Leistungen in der Mitte ihrer Karriere gewürdigt. Anlässlich ihrer Auszeichnung präsentiert die Künstlerin im Showroom des Neuen Berliner Kunstvereins (n.b.k.) eine Reihe von Werken, in denen heterogene thematische Stränge sich in der Figur eines Tieres verknüpfen. In der zentralen Installation
passing one loop into another (2017) steht die asiatische Tigermücke im Mittelpunkt. Das ursprünglich in den südostasiatischen Subtropen beheimatete Insekt wurde als Überträger von Erregern und Krankheiten wie dem Zika-Virus bekannt. In den frühen 1990er Jahren, parallel zur durch das Allgemeine Zoll- und Handelsabkommen (GATT) beschlossenen Deregulierung des Welthandels und einer zunehmenden Erderwärmung, wird die Tigermücke zum ersten Mal in Italien gesichtet. Um sich vor ihr zu schützen, entwickelten die Italiener*innen eine neuartige Allianz mit der heimischen Pippistrellus – einer Zwergfledermaus, die sich von Insekten ernährt. Die Installation zeigt ein überlebensgroßes Modell der Tigermücke, das über einer mit industriellen Garnrollen bestückten Palette thront. Das Garn stammt aus der italienischen Stadt Prato, einem Zentrum der globalisierten Textilindustrie. Über dem Insekt erklingen die biosonaren Jagdgeräusche der Pippistrelli, abgesenkt auf für den Menschen hörbare Frequenzen.

Der Titel
passing one loop into another ist eine Handlungsanweisung im sogenannten „Fadenspiel“ (auf Englisch: „string figures“), einer weltweit verbreiteten Kulturtechnik, bei der ein geschlungener Faden über mehrere, algorithmisch beschreibbare Zwischenschritte mit den Händen zu einem Bild verknüpft wird.

Natascha Sadr Haghighian war Vertreterin Deutschlands auf der Biennale Venedig 2019 und Teilnehmerin der Documenta 13 (2012) und Documenta 14 (2017). Zur Ausstellung erscheint ein umfänglicher Übersichtskatalog im Verlag der Buchhandlung Walther König, Köln.


Swarm.7 von Diane Barbé

Anlässlich der Ausstellung passing one loop into another hat die Berliner Klangkünstlerin Diane Barbé das interaktive Soundstück Swarm.7 für die Homepage des n.b.k. entwickelt – es kann hier individuell aktiviert und angehört werden:
www.nbk.org/passing_one_loop_into_another.html


Ausstellungsgespräche

Donnerstag, 16. Juli 2020, 19 Uhr
Künstlerinnengespräch mit Natascha Sadr Haghighian und Anna Lena Seiser (Leiterin des n.b.k. Video-Forum)
In deutscher Sprache

Donnerstag, 30. Juli 2020, 19 Uhr
Natascha Sadr Haghighian im Gespräch mit Fahim Amir (Philosoph und Autor, Wien)
In deutscher Sprache

Begrenzte Teilnehmer*innenzahl – Anmeldung erforderlich.
Bitte nutzen Sie hierfür unser Online-Formular.



Die Ausstellung wird gefördert durch die Kulturverwaltung des Landes Berlin.

Der Neue Berliner Kunstverein wird gefördert durch die LOTTO-Stiftung Berlin.