Thursday, June 27, 2019, 7 pm
Zum Begriff des Performativen in der zeitgenössischen Kunst (On the Notion of the Performative in Contemporary Art)

Panel discussion with John Bock (artist, Berlin), Gabriele Brandstetter (Professor of Theater Studies with a Focus on Dance Studies, Freie Universität Berlin), Anna-Catharina Gebbers (curator, Nationalgalerie im Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin), moderated by Angela Rosenberg (curator, Berlin)


With his exhibition
Im AntliTZ des SchädelapparaTZ  at Neuer Berliner Kunstverein (June 15 – July 28, 2019), John Bock has developed a new project that interlinks elements of installation, cinema and performance in four different rooms. The central piece of the exhibition is a 4.2-meter-high metal wedge hanging from the ceiling. In the two adjoining rooms, Bock has created two further independent, expansive installations.

The settings serve as a space for action for four dancers and one actor. The performative “lectures” involving the five live actors taking place here are an integral part of the exhibition. They are also at the center of a film that will be shown at n.b.k. from June 25, 2019, onwards. The works presented in the exhibition refer to the lifestyle of the American terrorist and former professor of mathematics Theodore Kaczynski (b. 1942, known as “Unabomber”) and to the Hanover serial killer Fritz Haarmann (b. 1879, d. 1925). In the “Leibraum” (body room), a second room level was installed using a grating floor, thus creating a gloomy-looking space which can only be looked at by the visitors from below. A slit silicone body is at the center, liquid dripping from its hair. The walls of the lower level are lined with metal plates. A further opening leads through a constricting corridor into the “Stube” (parlor), where a claustrophobic scenario unfolds.

In his works, John Bock brings together live actions, drawings, sculptures, installations, film sets and film projections to create a Gesamtkunstwerk. His spatial arrangements, which are characterized by extensive material combinations, can become a place for live actions, which the artist calls “lectures”.

Against this background, John Bock, Gabriele Brandstetter, Anna-Catharina Gebbers and the host Angela Rosenberg discuss various issues that are raised by the performative element in contemporary art: the balance of coincidence and control, the aspect of interaction with the audience, and the significance of scores and notation systems. On the basis of this range of topics, lines of development in performative art practices will be pointed out and John Bock’s oeuvre will be positioned within them.

In German
Free admission


John Bock
is an artist and has been teaching as professor for sculpture at the State Academy of Fine Arts in Karlsruhe since 2004. His work is built on a darkly tinted humor, which expresses itself not least on a linguistic level by means of neologisms, repetitions, onomatopoeia and surprising language combinations. Although his films and live actions elude any clear interpretation, there is a clear will behind Bock’s work to constantly expand the concept of art. His main concern is the dissolution of boundaries in art, whether regarding the abolition of genre boundaries and of static work concepts or regarding the relationship between recipient and artist. Solo exhibitions (selection): Fondazione Prada, Milan (2018); The Contemporary Austin (2017); La Panacée, Montpellier (2017); Berlinische Galerie, Berlin (2017); Museum of the Moving Image, New York (2016); Bundeskunsthalle, Bonn (2013); REDCAT, Los Angeles (2008); Group exhibitions (selection): Fondazione Prada, Milan (2017); Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, New York (2015); Museum Boijmans van Beuningen, Rotterdam (2015).

Gabriele Brandstetter is Professor of Theatre and Dance Studies at Freie Universität Berlin, member of the National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina, and since 2008, co-director of the International Research Center Verflechtungen von Theater-Kulturen (Interweaving Performance Cultures). Her research focuses on the history and aesthetics of dance, theater and literature from the 18th century to the present, virtuosity in art and culture, and the relationship between body, image and movement. In her more recent publications, she addresses political and aesthetic questions of dance, choreography and performance as well as questions of crossing frontiers, migration and decolonizing dance.

Anna-Catharina Gebbers is a Curator for Media and Performance Art at the Nationalgalerie im Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin, where she was responsible for exhibitions by Anne Imhof and Julian Rosefeldt as well as group exhibitions such as moving is in every direction. Environments – Installations – Narrative Spaces (2017) and the exhibition chapter “Making Paradise. Places of Longing from Paul Gauguin to Tita Salina” (in collaboration with Grace Samboh and Enin Supriyanto) for Hello World. Revising a Collection (2018). Her previous projects also include Christoph Schlingensief’s retrospective (KW Institute for Contemporary Art, Berlin and MoMA PS1, New York, together with Klaus Biesenbach and Susanne Pfeffer, 2013–2014), as well as exhibitions with artists such as Kader Attia, Felix Gonzalez-Torres, Thomas Schütte, Santiago Sierra, Milica Tomić.

Angela Rosenberg is a curator researching artistic interventions in museums and collections and currently heads the mentoring program at the KuvA Academy of Fine Arts in Helsinki. In 2018, she was in charge of the curatorial management for Philippe Parreno’s exhibition at Gropius Bau. Together with artists she developed alternative presentation methods for the Humboldt Lab Dahlem, which were shown in 2012–2015 at the Museum of Asian Art and the Ethnological Museum, both part of the Berlin State Museums. For Temporäre Kunsthalle Berlin, a series curated by artists was developed, including John Bock’s spectacular exhibition FischGrätenMelkStand (herring bone parlor), 2010.

Donnerstag, 27. Juni 2019, 19 Uhr
Zum Begriff des Performativen in der zeitgenössischen Kunst

Podiumsdiskussion mit John Bock (Künstler, Berlin), Gabriele Brandstetter (Professorin für Theaterwissenschaft mit Schwerpunkt Tanzwissenschaft, Freie Universität Berlin), Anna-Catharina Gebbers (Kuratorin, Nationalgalerie im Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin), moderiert von Angela Rosenberg (Kuratorin, Berlin)


Mit der Ausstellung
Im AntliTZ des SchädelapparaTZ  im Neuen Berliner Kunstverein (15. Juni – 28. Juli 2019) hat John Bock ein neues Projekt entwickelt, das installative, filmische und performative Elemente in vier verschiedenen Räumen miteinander verzahnt. Zentrales Werk der Ausstellung ist ein 4,2 Meter hoher Metallkeil, der von der Decke hängt. In zwei Nebenräumen hat Bock je eine weitere eigenständige, raumgreifende Installation geschaffen.

Die Settings dienen als Aktionsraum für vier Tänzer und einen Schauspieler. Die hier stattfindenden performativen „Vorträge“ unter Einbeziehung der fünf Live-Akteure sind integraler Bestandteil der Ausstellung bilden zudem den Gegenstand eines Films, der ab 25. Juni 2019 im n.b.k. gezeigt wird. Die in der Ausstellung präsentierten Arbeiten nehmen Bezug auf die Lebensweise des US-amerikanischen Terroristen und ehemaligen Mathematikprofessors Theodore Kaczynski (*1942, genannt „Unabomber“), sowie auf den Hannoveraner Serienmörder Fritz Haarmann (*1879 †1925). In dem düster anmutenden „Leibraum“ wurde mittels eines Gitterrostbodens eine zweite Raumebene eingezogen, die nur von unten einsehbar ist. Im Mittelpunkt steht ein aufgeschlitzter Silikonkörper, an dessen Haaren eine Flüssigkeit herabtropft. Die Wände der unteren Ebene sind mit Metallplatten ausgeschlagen. Eine weitere Öffnung führt durch einen beklemmend engen Flur in die „Stube“, in der sich ein klaustrophobisches Szenario entfaltet.

John Bock verbindet in seinen Arbeiten Live-Aktionen, Zeichnungen, Skulpturen, Installationen, Filmsets und Filmprojektionen zu einem Gesamtkunstwerk. Seine Raumanordnungen, die von umfangreichen Materialkombinationen geprägt sind, können zum Ort für Live-Aktionen werden, die der Künstler als „Vorträge“ oder „Lectures“ bezeichnet.

Vor diesem Hintergrund diskutieren John Bock, Gabriele Brandstetter, Anna-Catharina Gebbers und die Moderatorin Angela Rosenberg zu verschiedenen Fragestellungen, die das Performative in der zeitgenössischen Kunst aufwirft: die Gewichtung von Zufall und Steuerung, der Aspekt der Interaktion mit dem Publikum und der Stellenwert von Partituren und Notationssystemen. Anhand dieser Themenfelder werden Entwicklungslinien in performativen Kunstpraxen aufgezeigt und das Werk von John Bock darin verortet.

In deutscher Sprache
Eintritt frei


John Bock ist Künstler und hat seit 2004 die Professur für Bildhauerei an der Staatlichen Akademie der Bildenden Künste in Karlsruhe inne. Sein Werk stützt sich auf einen dunkel gefärbten Humor, der sich nicht zuletzt auf sprachlicher Ebene durch Wortschöpfungen, Repetitionen, Lautmalerei und überraschende Sprachkombinationen ausdrückt. Wenngleich seine Filme und Live-Aktionen sich einer eindeutigen Interpretation entziehen, steht hinter Bocks Werk ein deutlicher Wille zur stetigen Erweiterung des Kunstbegriffs. Sein Hauptanliegen besteht in der Entgrenzung der Kunst, sei es in Bezug auf die Aufhebung von Gattungsgrenzen und von statischen Werkbegriffen oder im Hinblick auf das Verhältnis von Rezipient*in und Künstler*in. Einzelausstellungen (Auswahl): Fondazione Prada, Mailand (2018); The Contemporary Austin (2017); La Panacée, Montpellier (2017); Berlinische Galerie, Berlin (2017); Museum of the Moving Image, New York (2016); Bundeskunsthalle, Bonn (2013); REDCAT, Los Angeles (2008); Gruppenausstellungen (Auswahl): Fondazione Prada, Mailand (2017); Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, New York (2015); Museum Boijmans van Beuningen, Rotterdam (2015).

Gabriele Brandstetter ist Professorin für Theater- und Tanzwissenschaft an der Freien Universität Berlin, Mitglied der Nationalen Akademie der Wissenschaften Leopoldina, sowie seit 2008 Ko-Direktorin des Internationalen Kollegs Verflechtungen von Theater-Kulturen. Ihre Forschungsschwerpunkte sind Geschichte und Ästhetik von Tanz, Theater und Literatur vom 18. Jahrhundert bis zur Gegenwart, Virtuosität in Kunst und Kultur sowie die Beziehung von Körper, Bild und Bewegung. In ihren jüngeren Publikationen beschäftigt sie sich mit politischen und ästhetischen Fragen zu Tanz, Choreografie und Performance sowie mit Fragen von Grenzüberschreitungen, Migration und Decolonizing Dance.

Anna-Catharina Gebbers ist Kuratorin für Medien- und Performancekunst an der Nationalgalerie im Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin, wo sie Ausstellungen von Anne Imhof und Julian Rosefeldt verantwortete sowie Gruppenausstellungen wie moving is in every direction. Environments – Installationen – Narrative Räume (2017) und das Ausstellungskapitel „Making Paradise. Places of Longing from Paul Gauguin to Tita Salina“ (in Zusammenarbeit mit Grace Samboh und Enin Supriyanto) für Hello World. Revision einer Sammlung (2018). Zu ihren bisherigen Projekten zählen außerdem Christoph Schlingensiefs Retrospektive (KW Institute for Contemporary Art, Berlin und MoMA PS1, New York, zusammen mit Klaus Biesenbach und Susanne Pfeffer, 2013–2014) sowie Ausstellungen mit Künstler*innen wie Kader Attia, Felix Gonzalez-Torres, Thomas Schütte, Santiago Sierra, Milica Tomić.

Angela Rosenberg forscht als Kuratorin zu künstlerischen Interventionen in Museen und Sammlungen und leitet derzeit das Mentorenprogramm an der KuvA Academy of Fine Arts in Helsinki. 2018 hatte sie für die Ausstellung von Philippe Parreno im Gropius Bau das kuratorische Management inne. Zusammen mit Künstler*innen entwickelte sie für das Humboldt Lab Dahlem alternative Präsentationsmethoden, die 2012–2015 im Museum für Asiatische Kunst und im Ethnologischen Museum der Staatlichen Museen zu Berlin zu sehen waren. Für die Temporäre Kunsthalle Berlin entstand eine von Künstler*innen kuratierte Serie, darunter John Bocks spektakuläre Ausstellung FischGrätenMelkStand, 2010.