Thursday, September 17, 2020, 5 pm
Design and Ideology

Conversation between Alexander Alberro (Virginia Bloedel Wright ‘51 Professor for Art History, Barnard College / Columbia University, New York), Dan Graham (artist and writer, New York), Caitlin MacBride (artist, New York), Cameron Rowland (artist, New York), moderated by John Miller


Presentation online, in English


Design is seen as something that is objective, built, and physically manifested in the world, while ideology is assumed to be subjectively, mentally, and immaterially constituted. This panel discussion on the occasion of the exhibition
Lost in America will focus on the similarities and interconnections of these two fields. Alexander Alberro, Dan Graham, Caitlin MacBride, and Cameron Rowland will join John Miller to discuss the influence ideology has on the production of goods in the United States and how the country’s manufacturing power has led to certain ideologies such as Fordism, American exceptionalism, and isolationism. The discussion will also address how the dialectic between design and ideology is being shaped by the Information Age and a global climate crisis that is becoming ever more acute.

Donnerstag, 17. September 2020, 17 Uhr
Design and Ideology

Gespräch zwischen Alexander Alberro (Virginia Bloedel Wright ‘51 Professor für Kunstgeschichte, Barnard College / Columbia University, New York), Dan Graham (Künstler und Autor, New York), Caitlin MacBride (Künstlerin, New York), Cameron Rowland (Künstler, New York), moderiert von John Miller
Online-Präsentation, in englischer Sprache



Design gilt als etwas, das sich gegenständlich, gebaut und physisch in der Welt manifestiert, während Ideologie als subjektiv, mental und immateriell konstituiert angenommen wird. Die Paneldiskussion anlässlich der Ausstellung
Lost in America nimmt die Gemeinsamkeiten und die gegenseitige Durchdringung beider Felder in den Blick. Alexander Alberro, Dan Graham, Caitlin MacBride und Cameron Rowland sprechen mit John Miller darüber, welchen Einfluss Ideologie auf die Warenproduktion in den USA hat und wie die Produktionskraft der Vereinigten Staaten von Amerika zu bestimmten Ideologien wie etwa Fordismus, amerikanischem Exzeptionalismus oder Isolationismus geführt hat. Nicht zuletzt geht es dabei auch um die Frage, wie sich die Dialektik zwischen Design und Ideologie im Informationszeitalter sowie während einer sich immer weiter verschärfenden Klimakrise gestaltet.