Friday, October 30, 2020, 5 pm
Falling Apart Together

Online-screening with works by Vito Acconci, Robert Ashley, Paul Garrin, Niklas Goldbach, Les Levine, Bjørn Melhus, Martha Rosler, Ira Schneider, Corinna Schnitt, and Robert Wilson from the collection of the n.b.k. Video-Forum, selected by Anna Lena Seiser (Head of the n.b.k. Video-Forum)

On the occasion of the current exhibition Lost in America, n.b.k. presents a screening program in two parts, comprising works from the n.b.k. Video-Forum collection, the oldest and one of the largest video art collections in Germany. Under the title Falling Apart Together, the selection brings together video works from the early 1970s up to recent productions.

The works on display individually question North-American myths, media icons and historical events. They rise questions about the interconnection of the imaginary, bodies and architecture and the shaping of the self as a the subject in a socially ascribed role.

While the first part of the screening, starting October 30 and featuring works by Vito Acconci, Bjørn Melhus, Robert Ashley, Niklas Goldbach, and Ira Schneider, focuses on landscape and myth, the second part from November 13 on shows works by Martha Rosler, Corinna Schnitt, Robert Wilson, Paul Garrin, and Les Levine, which put body and subject to the fore.

In English. We recommend to use headphones.



Part 1, October 30, 2020 – January 17, 2021

Vito Acconci, Face of the Earth, 1974, 22:16 min

Bjørn Melhus,
Auto Center Drive, 2003, 28:07 min

Robert Ashley,
Perfect Lives: The Bar, 1984, 26:40 min

Niklas Goldbach,
Land of the Sun, 2015, 12:30 min

Ira Schneider,
The 11th (Downtown Manhattan) Greenwich Village Halloween Parade, 1984, 13:53 min

Total length: 103:44 min




Part 2 – on show from November 13, 2020

Martha Rosler,
Vital Statistics of a Citizen, Simply Obtained, 1977, 39:16 min

Corinna Schnitt,
Living a Beautiful Life, 2003, 13:21 min

Robert Wilson,
Deafman Glance, 1981, 27:00 min

Paul Garrin,
Free Society, 1988, 4:08 min

Les Levine,
I Am an Artist, 1979, 16:37 min

Total length: 100:22 min

Freitag, 30. Oktober 2020, 17 Uhr
Falling Apart Together

Online-Screening mit Werken von Vito Acconci, Robert Ashley, Paul Garrin, Niklas Goldbach, Les Levine, Bjørn Melhus, Martha Rosler, Ira Schneider, Corinna Schnitt und Robert Wilson aus der Sammlung des n.b.k. Video-Forums, ausgewählt von Anna Lena Seiser (Leiterin n.b.k. Video-Forum)

Anlässlich der aktuellen Ausstellung Lost in America präsentiert der n.b.k. in einem zweiteiligen Screening-Programm Werke aus den Beständen des n.b.k. Video-Forums, der ältesten und einer der größten Videokunstsammlungen in Deutschland. Die Auswahl vereint Videokunst von den frühen 1970er Jahren bis zu jüngeren Arbeiten unter dem Titel Falling Apart Together.

In je eigener Weise befragen die Werke US-amerikanische Mythen, mediale Ikonen und historische Ereignisse. Sie werfen Fragen auf nach den vielfältigen Verbindungen von Imaginärem, Körpern und Architekturen und der Prägung des Selbst als Subjekt in einer gesellschaftlich zugeschriebenen Rolle.

Während der erste Screening-Block ab dem 30. Oktober mit Werken von Vito Acconci, Bjørn Melhus, Robert Ashley, Niklas Goldbach und Ira Schneider den Fokus auf Landschaft und Mythos legt, stellt das zweite Screening ab dem 13. November mit Werken von Martha Rosler, Corinna Schnitt, Robert Wilson, Paul Garrin und Les Levine Körper und Subjekt in den Vordergrund.

In englischer Sprache. Die Nutzung von Kopfhörern wird empfohlen.



Teil 1, 30. Oktober 2020 – 17. Januar 2021

Vito Acconci, Face of the Earth, 1974, 22:16 min

Bjørn Melhus,
Auto Center Drive, 2003, 28:07 min

Robert Ashley,
Perfect Lives: The Bar, 1984, 26:40 min

Niklas Goldbach,
Land of the Sun, 2015, 12:30 min

Ira Schneider,
The 11th (Downtown Manhattan) Greenwich Village Halloween Parade, 1984, 13:53 min

Gesamtlänge: 103:44 min




Teil 2 – ab 13. November 2020 zu sehen

Martha Rosler,
Vital Statistics of a Citizen, Simply Obtained, 1977, 39:16 min

Corinna Schnitt,
Living a Beautiful Life, 2003, 13:21 min

Robert Wilson,
Deafman Glance, 1981, 27:00 min

Paul Garrin,
Free Society, 1988, 4:08 min

Les Levine,
I Am an Artist, 1979, 16:37 min

Gesamtlänge: 100:22 min