Friday, December 14, 2018, 10 am
Leo Goldsmith: Underground Futures – Toward a Subterranean Video Art

Keynote Lecture on the occasion of the Videoart at Midnight Festival '18, symposium: Future Continuous Presenst(s) – “Video Art” through Time (December 12–14, 2018)

In English
Free admission, registration requested*

The Earth’s subterranean layer has long been an object of fascination to artists, archaeologists, and technologists as a meeting point of past and future. This lecture addresses contemporary video art’s habitation of the underground—as a space of enclosure and exclusivity, and of capitalist extraction—redefining it as one of radical inclusivity and commonality, and as a site through which to explore the material histories and futures of media.

Leo Goldsmith
is a writer, curator, and teacher based in Amsterdam and Brooklyn. His writing has appeared in Artforum, art-agenda, Cinema Scope, and The Brooklyn Rail, where he was film editor from 2011 to 2018. He is currently writing a book about the filmmaker Peter Watkins with Rachael Rakes. Goldsmith has lectured on media and film at New York University, Brooklyn College, Harvard University, and The New School.

The international symposium
Future Continuous Presenst(s) on the occasion of the Videoart at Midnight Festival '18, in cooperation with Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart - Berlin and Neuer Berliner Kunstverein (n.b.k.), tracks the history, present, and future of all that is commonly called video art.

*Please register via email at org@videoart-at-midnight.de

Freitag, 14. Dezember 2018, 10 Uhr
Leo Goldsmith: Underground Futures – Toward a Subterranean Video Art

Keynote Lecture im Rahmen des Videoart at Midnight Festival '18, Symposium: Future Continuous Presenst(s) – “Video Art” through Time (12.–14. Dezember 2018)


In englischer Sprache
Eintritt frei, Anmeldung erbeten*

Künstler*innen, Archäolog*innen und Technolog*innen hegen seit jeher eine Faszination für die unterirdischen Schichten der Welt, in denen Vergangenheit und Zukunft aufeinandertreffen. Der Vortrag befasst sich mit der Verortung zeitgenössischer Videokunst im Untergrund – als einem Raum der Abgeschlossenheit und Exklusivität sowie kapitalistischer Prägung, der zu einem Ort radikaler Inklusivität und Gemeinschaft umgedeutet wird; und einem Möglichkeitsraum, durch den sich die Gegenstandsgeschichten und Zukünfte von Medien erforschen lassen.

Leo Goldsmith ist Autor, Kurator und Dozent, er lebt in Amsterdam und Brooklyn. Seine Texte erscheinen in
Artforum, art-agenda, Cinema Scope sowie The Brooklyn Rail, dessen Filmredakteur er von 2011 bis 2018 war. Momentan arbeitet er mit Rachael Rakes an einem Buch über den Filmemacher Peter Watkins. Goldsmith hat Film und Medien an der New York University, am Brooklyn College, an der Harvard University und The New School unterrichtet.

Das internationale Symposium
Future Continuous Presenst(s) im Rahmen des Videoart at Midnight Festival '18 untersucht in Kooperation mit dem Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart - Berlin und dem Neuen Berliner Kunstverein (n.b.k.) die Geschichte, Gegenwart und Zukunft der Videokunst.

*Anmeldung per E-Mail an org@videoart-at-midnight.de