Thursday, November 29, 2018, 7 pm
Institutionskritik und die Erfindung der Neo-Avantgarde (Institutional Critique and the Invention of the Neo-Avant-Garde)

Panel discussion with Isi Fiszman (founding member A 37 90 89), Kasper König (project co-ordinator A 37 90 89), Barbara Vanderlinden (curator and author, Brussels), moderated by Eva-Maria Gillich (project manager n.b.k.)

In English language
Free admission

Founded in Antwerp in 1969 by a progressive group of collectors, gallery owners as well as art mediators and supervised by Kasper König, the project space A 37 90 89 developed a diverse curatorial practice that tested alternative models of art production and art mediation beyond the institutions. The artists and mediators involved in Antwerp are today among the outstanding representatives of the neo-avant-garde. They formulated the radical changes of the way contemporary art is presented and received, which resulted from the political and artistic upheaval of the 1960s and 1970s, and expressed these at the project space A 37 90 89 in an emblematic way.

On occasion of the exhibition project
A 37 90 89 – The Invention of the Neo-Avant-Garde  at Neuer Berliner Kunstverein, Isi Fiszman, Kasper König, and Barbara Vanderlinden talk about art practices critical of institutions since the 1960s.


Prof. Kasper König ranks among Germany’s most important curators. In 1977, together with Klaus Bußmann, he initiated
Skulptur Projekte Münster. From 2000 until 2012, he was director of Museum Ludwig in Cologne; in 2014, he curated the Manifesta 10 in St. Petersburg. As an exhibition maker, König organized numerous major exhibitions, for example Westkunst (Kölner Messehallen, 1981), von hier aus (Messe Düsseldorf, 1984) and Der zerbrochene Spiegel (Kunsthalle Wien, Deichtorhallen Hamburg, 1993).

Isi Fiszman worked in Brussels as a merchant, printer and art collector. Active in the student movement and close to the left, he repeatedly supported politically engaged artistic projects and initiatives. In 1968 he founded the Vrije Aktie Groep Antwerp together with Marcel Broodthaers, Panamarenko a. o., which realized performances and protests on social and ecological issues. In 1969 he was one of the founding members of A 37 90 89 and substantially helped to finance the project.

Barbara Vanderlinden is a curator, art critic and art historian. As a professor, she founded the Exhibition Laboratory (2015) at the University of Arts Helsinki; previously, she was a visiting professor and initiator of the International Curatorial Program at the Gwangju Biennial (2001), and teached at CCS Bard, New York, and the San Francisco Art Institute (2005–2007). She was the founder and artistic director of the Brussels Biennial (2008) and curator of the Taipei Biennial (2004) as well as Manifesta 2, Luxembourg (1998). In 2018 the exhibition
A 37 90 89: Beyond the Museum, curated by Vanderlinden, opened at the Museum of Contemporary Art in Antwerp.

Donnerstag, 29. November 2018, 19 Uhr
Institutionskritik und die Erfindung der Neo-Avantgarde

Podiumsdiskussion mit Isi Fiszman (Gründungsmitglied A 37 90 89), Kasper König (Projektkoordinator A 37 90 89), Barbara Vanderlinden (Kuratorin und Autorin, Brüssel), moderiert von Eva-Maria Gillich (Projektleiterin n.b.k.)

In englischer Sprache
Eintritt frei

1969 in Antwerpen von einer progressiven Gruppe von Sammler*innen, Galerist*innen und Vermittler*innen gegründet und von Kasper König organisatorisch betreut, entfaltete der Projektraum A 37 90 89 eine vielfältige kuratorische Praxis, die alternative Modelle der Kunstproduktion und Kunstvermittlung jenseits der Institutionen erprobte. Die in Antwerpen beteiligten Künstler*innen und Vermittler*innen zählen heute zu den herausragenden Vertreter*innen der Neo-Avantgarde. Sie formulierten die radikalen Veränderungen in Präsentations- und Rezeptionsweisen zeitgenössischer Kunst, die aus der politischen und künstlerischen Umbruchsituation der 1960er und 1970er Jahre resultierten und brachten diese im Projektraum A 37 90 89 sinnbildlich zum Ausdruck.

Anlässlich des Ausstellungsprojekt
A 37 90 89 – Die Erfindung der Neo-Avantgarde im Neuen Berliner Kunstverein (n.b.k.) sprechen Isi Fiszman, Kasper König und Barbara Vanderlinden über institutionskritische Praktiken im Kunstfeld seit den 1960er Jahren.


Prof. Kasper König zählt zu Deutschlands wichtigsten Kuratoren. 1977 initiierte er gemeinsam mit Klaus Bußmann die
Skulptur Projekte Münster. 2000–2012 war er Direktor des Museum Ludwig in Köln; 2014 kuratiert er die Manifesta 10 in St. Petersburg. Als Ausstellungsmacher realisierte König zahlreiche Großausstellungen, u. a. Westkunst (Kölner Messehallen, 1981), von hier aus (Messe Düsseldorf, 1984) und Der zerbrochene Spiegel (Kunsthalle Wien, Deichtorhallen Hamburg, 1993).

Isi Fiszman war in Brüssel als Kaufmann, Drucker sowie Kunstsammler tätig. In der Studentenbewegung aktiv und der Linken nahestehend, unterstützte er immer wieder politisch engagierte künstlerische Projekte und Initiativen. 1968 gründete er zusammen mit Marcel Broodthaers, Panamarenko u. a. die Vrije Aktie Groep Antwerp, die Performances und Protestaktionen zu sozialen und ökologischen Fragestellungen realisierte. 1969 gehörte er zu den Gründungsmitgliedern von A 37 90 89 und finanzierte das Vorhaben wesentlich mit.

Barbara Vanderlinden ist Kuratorin, Kunstkritikerin und Kunsthistorikerin. Als Professorin gründete sie an der Kunsthochschule Helsinki das Exhibition Laboratory (2015), zuvor war sie Gastprofessorin und Initiatorin des International Curatorial Program im Rahmen der Gwangju Biennale (2001) und lehrte u. a. am CCS Bard, New York, und am San Francisco Art Institute (2005–2007). Sie war Gründerin und künstlerische Leiterin der Brüssel Biennale (2008) sowie Kuratorin der Taipeh Biennale (2004) und der Manifesta 2, Luxemburg (1998). 2018 eröffnete im Museum of Contemporary Art in Antwerpen die von ihr kuratierte Ausstellung
A 37 90 89: Beyond the Museum.