Thursday, September 26, 2019, 7 pm
Mythos der Geschichte (The Myth of History)

Discussion with Adrian von Buttlar (art historian, Technische Universität Berlin), Michael S. Falser (art historian, Heidelberg University), Verena Hartbaum (architectural theorist, University of Stuttgart), Daniel Poller (artist, Berlin)

During the post-reunification period, Berlin provided space, was in a state of flux and, according to the political vision, was to become a cosmopolitan city again. These ambitions of becoming a global city often came along with a national rhetoric, which imagined Berlin as Germany’s figurehead in the world. This idea on the one hand led to the comprehensive overwriting of GDR modernism, and on the other to a style of architecture supposedly characteristic of Berlin, with a historicizing and reconstructive way of building. With the completion of major projects such as the Humboldt Forum, the construction of luxury apartments with historic-looking facades or the projected reconstruction of the Karstadt department store on Hermannplatz, the debate on revisionist tendencies remains virulent.

The exhibition
1989–2019: Politics of Space in the New Berlin outlines the urbanistic and architectural development from the point of view of the supposed “end of history”: How did Berlin become what it is today? Projects realized especially for the exhibition exemplify various urbanistic policies and their consequences for today’s Berlin. They depict partly contradictory processes and narratives that to this day are superimposing and intensifying in Berlin as a constructed city. There is not only one Berlin, but many myths and ideas of what Berlin is supposed to be. The exhibition reflects the perspectives and myths of history, of the market and of creativity.

In the framework of an extensive discourse program, selective glimpses into the history, present and future of the city are supposed to sound out what the urban Berlin consists of today. Politicians, architects, urban theorists, artists and activists will be discussing the politics of space in the New Berlin: What to do about historically amnesiac ambitions? What is the current constitution of urban social movements, how can their relationship to party politics be apprehended in terms of emancipation? What kind of associations, planning approaches and architectures are needed to create a Berlin that is open and based on solidarity?


Adrian von Buttlar is a professor emeritus in art history at the Institute for Art Studies and Historical Urban Studies at the Technical University of Berlin (TU Berlin). From 1996 to 2009 he was chairman of the Berlin State Monument Council, and since 2011 he has been a member of the scientific advisory board of the Wüstenrot Foundation’s historical preservation program. In addition to the history of garden art and architecture, his research and publications have a particular focus on historical preservation and related policy of post-war modernism.

Michael Falser is the former project director of the excellence cluster on Asia and Europe in a Global Context at the University of Heidelberg. He teaches and conducts research on modern architectural history, historical preservation, and cultural heritage policy with a focus on Europe and Asia. In his book Zwischen Identität und Authentizität: Zur politischen Geschichte der Denkmalpflege in Deutschland (Between Identity and Authenticity: On the Political History of Monument Preservation in Germany, 2008), he addressed the myth of Berlin-style architecture and the overwriting of East German mondernist architecture following German reunification.

Verena Hartbaum is an academic staff member at the Institute for the Foundations of Modern Architecture and Design at the University of Stuttgart and is currently working on her doctorate at the Technical University of Munich on the relationship between architecture and consensus. Her research interests include retrospective building in Berlin, a topic she addressed in the books Retrospektiv Bauen in Berlin (2017) and Der Walter-Benjamin-Platz in the Disko book series (2013, reissued in ARCH+ 235, 2019). For the book series Schriftenreihe für Architektur und Kulturtheorie, she co-edited the book Bayern, München. 100 Jahre Freistaat — Eine Raumverfälschung (On architecture in Bavaria) (2019) and Germania, Venezia: Die deutschen Beiträge zur Architekturbiennale Venedig seit 1991—Eine Oral History (on German submissions to the Venice Architecture Biennale) (2016). In 2015 she was involved in the conception of ARCH+ 221: Tausendundeine Theorie (Thousand and One Theories).

Daniel Poller is a visual artist living in Berlin. The construction of history and its erasure or overwriting by images is a central motif in his artistic practice. He is currently working on a long-term project on the transformation of Potsdam’s inner city. In his recent feature “Frankfurter Kopien” (Frankfurt Copies) in ARCH+ 235, he takes a critical look at the reconstruction of Frankfurt’s old town.


In German
Free admission

Donnerstag, 26. September 2019, 19 Uhr
Mythos der Geschichte

Diskussion mit Adrian von Buttlar (Kunsthistoriker, Technische Universität Berlin), Michael S. Falser (Kunsthistoriker, Universität Heidelberg), Verena Hartbaum (Architekturtheoretikerin, Universität Stuttgart), Daniel Poller (Künstler, Berlin)

Das Berlin der Post-Wende-Zeit bot Raum, war im Wandel begriffen und sollte, so die politische Vision, wieder zur Weltstadt werden. Diese Global-City-Ambitionen verbanden sich nicht selten mit einer Rhetorik des Nationalen, die Berlin als deutsches Aushängeschild in der Welt imaginierte. Diese Vorstellung mündete einerseits in einer flächendeckenden Überschreibung der DDR-Moderne, andererseits in einer vermeintlich Berlinischen Architektur mit einer historisierenden und rekonstruierenden Bauweise. Mit der Fertigstellung von Großprojekten wie dem Humboldt Forum, dem Bau von Luxuswohnungen mit historisch anmutenden Fassaden oder der geplanten Rekonstruktion des Karstadt-Gebäudes am Hermannplatz bleibt die Debatte um revisionistische Tendenzen virulent.

Die Ausstellung 
1989–2019: Politik des Raums im Neuen Berlin skizziert die urbanistische und architektonische Entwicklung Berlins vom vermeintlichen „Ende der Geschichte“ her: Wie ist Berlin zu dem geworden, was es heute ist? Eigens für die Ausstellung realisierte Projekte machen unterschiedliche stadträumliche Politiken und ihre Folgen für das Berlin von heute anschaulich. Sie stellen teils widersprüchliche Prozesse und Narrative dar, die sich bis heute im gebauten Berlin überlagern und verdichten. Das eine Berlin gibt es nicht, dafür viele Mythen und Imaginationen dessen, was Berlin sein soll. Die Ausstellung reflektiert die Perspektiven und Mythen der Geschichte, des Marktes und der Kreativität.

Im Rahmen eines umfangreichen Diskursprogramms sollen selektive Blicke in die Geschichte, Gegenwart und Zukunft der Stadt ausloten, wie das urbane Berlin heute zusammengesetzt ist. Politiker*innen, Architekt*innen, Stadttheoretiker*innen, Künstler*innen und Aktivist*innen diskutieren die Politiken des Raums im Neuen Berlin: Was tun gegen geschichtsvergessene Bestrebungen? In welcher Verfassung sind urbane soziale Bewegungen derzeit, wie lässt sich ihr Verhältnis zu Parteipolitik emanzipatorisch fassen? Welche Zusammenschlüsse, Planungsansätze und Architekturen werden benötigt, um ein solidarisches Berlin der Offenheit zu gestalten?


Adrian von Buttlar
ist emeritierter Professor für Kunstgeschichte am Institut für Kunstwissenschaft und Historische Urbanistik der TU Berlin. Von 1996–2009 war er Vorsitzender des Landesdenkmalrates Berlin, seit 2011 ist er Wissenschaftlicher Beirat im Denkmalprogramm der Wüstenrot Stiftung. Neben der Geschichte der Gartenkunst und der Architektur bilden Denkmalpflege und Denkmalpolitik – namentlich der Nachkriegsmoderne – einen Schwerpunkt seiner Forschungen und Publikationen.

Michael Falser war Projektleiter im Exzellenzcluster „Asia and Europe in a Global Context“ der Universität Heidelberg. Er lehrt und forscht zu moderner Architekturgeschichte, Denkmalpflege und Kulturerbepolitik mit Schwerpunkt Europa und Asien. In seiner Publikation Zwischen Identität und Authentizität – Zur politischen Geschichte der Denkmalpflege in Deutschland (2008) setzte er sich mit dem Mythos der Berlinischen Architektur und der Überschreibung der architektonischen Ost-Moderne nach der Wiedervereinigung auseinander.

Verena Hartbaum ist Akademische Mitarbeiterin am Institut für Grundlagen moderner Architektur und Entwerfen der Universität Stuttgart und promoviert an der TU München zum Verhältnis von Architektur und Konsens. Sie forscht u. a. zum Thema des retrospektiven Bauens in Berlin und publizierte dazu Retrospektiv Bauen in Berlin (2017) und Der Walter-Benjamin-Platz in der Heftserie Disko (2013, wiederveröffentlicht in ARCH+ 235, 2019). In der Schriftenreihe für Architektur und Kulturtheorie ist sie Mitherausgeberin von Bayern, München. 100 Jahre Freistaat – Eine Raumverfälschung (2019) und Germania, Venezia: Die deutschen Beiträge zur Architekturbiennale Venedig seit 1991 – Eine Oral History (2016). 2015 war sie an der Konzeption von ARCH+ 221: Tausendundeine Theorie beteiligt.

Daniel Poller ist bildender Künstler und lebt in Berlin. Die Konstruktion von Geschichte sowie deren Auslöschung beziehungsweise Überschreibung durch Bilder ist ein zentrales Motiv seiner künstlerischen Praxis. Aktuell arbeitet er u. a. an einem Langzeitprojekt zur Transformation der Potsdamer Innenstadt. Zuletzt veröffentlichte er in ARCH+ 235 eine Arbeit mit dem Titel Frankfurter Kopien, welche einen kritischen Blick auf die Rekonstruktion der Frankfurter Altstadt wirft.


In deutscher Sprache
Eintritt frei