Wednesday, October 2, 2019, 7 pm
Mythos der Kreativität (The Myth of Creativity)

Discussion with Florian Hertweck (architect, University of Luxemburg), MetroZones – Center for Urban Affairs (Berlin), Nina Scholz (journalist and author, Berlin), Schroeter & Berger (designers, Berlin)

Today, Berlin is regarded as creative, smart and innovative. By taking a detour via subculture, art and creativity, the city has at last become a global city. For Berlin knows how to stage itself as a haven for artists, creatives, and start-ups. This staging of Berlin as a laboratory for innovation and creativity is part of a “culturalization of the urban sphere” (Andreas Reckwitz), in which urban creativity and culture are specifically mobilized and exploited as a resource. As is so often the case, the revolution devours its own children: The myth of the creative Berlin in turn leads to displacement and exclusion, to institutionalization and commodification. How much truth lies in the narrative of the creative Berlin? Which positive and negative urban impulses have evolved from the scene? And how can independent creative spaces be preserved and newly built in order to contribute to the promotion of a city for everyone?

The exhibition
1989–2019: Politics of Space in the New Berlin outlines the urbanistic and architectural development from the point of view of the supposed “end of history”: How did Berlin become what it is today? Projects realized especially for the exhibition exemplify various urbanistic policies and their consequences for today’s Berlin. They depict partly contradictory processes and narratives that to this day are superimposing and intensifying in Berlin as a constructed city. There is not only one Berlin, but many myths and ideas of what Berlin is supposed to be. The exhibition reflects the perspectives and myths of history, of the market and of creativity.

In the framework of an extensive discourse program, selective glimpses into the history, present and future of the city are supposed to sound out what the urban Berlin consists of today. Politicians, architects, urban theorists, artists and activists will be discussing the politics of space in the New Berlin: What to do about historically amnesiac ambitions? What is the current constitution of urban social movements, how can their relationship to party politics be apprehended in terms of emancipation? What kind of associations, planning approaches and architectures are needed to create a Berlin that is open and based on solidarity?


Florian Hertweck is an architect and professor at the University of Luxembourg, where he heads the master’s degree program in Architecture, European Urbanisation and Globalisation. He has examined the urban transformation of Berlin after 1989 in a number of publications. In 2018, together with Andrea Rumpf, he curated the Luxembourg pavilion for the Architecture Biennale in Venice and co-edited ARCH+ 231: The Property Issue —Von der Bodenfrage und neuen Gemeingütern (On the land question and new commons).

metroZones Center for Urban Affairs was founded in Berlin in 2007 as an independent association for critical urban research. Situated at the juncture of art, science, and politics, the team’s projects combine research and knowledge production with cultural and curatorial practices, as well as political interventions. These are implemented through transnational, interdisciplinary, and institutional collaborations. The goal of metroZones is to address and politicize urban issues, daily life, and conflicts.

Nina Scholz is a journalist based in Berlin. She oversees audience development for the radio stations Deutschlandfunk and Deutschlandfunk Kultur and writes for taz, Freitag, the Sunday magazine of Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung, analyse & kritik, and other media about digital capitalism, alternatives, and resistance. Her book Nerds, Geeks und Piraten. Digital Natives in Kultur und Politik (Nerds, Geeks, and Pirates: Digital Natives in Culture and Politics) was published in 2014.

Schroeter & Berger is a design office founded in 2005 by Maximilian Sauerbier and Sebastian Helm while both were students at the Bauhaus University in Weimar. Their designs incorporate stylistic devices and design maxims from modernism, constructivism, and the Russian avant-garde, visual poetry, New Objectivity, and the clear typography of Switzerland. In addition to commissioned works, they realize socially relevant projects in the form of conceptual, interdisciplinary, and cross-media visual and auditory works. Their work has been presented internationally at festivals, on radio and television, and in museums and galleries.


In German
Free admission

Mittwoch, 2. Oktober 2019, 19 Uhr
Mythos der Kreativität

Diskussion mit Florian Hertweck (Architekt, Universität Luxemburg), MetroZones – Zentrum für städtische Angelegenheiten (Berlin), Nina Scholz (Journalistin und Autorin, Berlin), Schroeter & Berger (Gestalter, Berlin)

Berlin gilt heute als kreativ, smart und innovativ. Über die Umwege von Subkultur, Kunst und Kreativität ist die Stadt doch noch zur Global City geworden. Denn in Berlin weiß man sich als Hort der Künstler*innen, Kulturschaffenden und Start-Ups zu inszenieren. Diese Inszenierung Berlins als Innovations- und Kreativlabor ist dabei Teil einer „Kulturalisierung des Urbanen“ (Andreas Reckwitz), in der städtische Kreativität und Kultur gezielt mobilisiert und als Ressource verwertet werden. Wie so oft frisst die Revolution ihre Kinder: Der Mythos des kreativen Berlin führt seinerseits zu Verdrängung und Exklusion, zu Institutionalisierung und Kommodifizierung. Was ist dran an der Erzählung vom kreativen Berlin? Welche positiven und negativen urbanen Impulse hat die Szene entfaltet? Und wie können unabhängige kreative Räume erhalten und neu gebildet werden und zur Förderung einer Stadt für alle beitragen?

Die Ausstellung 
1989–2019: Politik des Raums im Neuen Berlin skizziert die urbanistische und architektonische Entwicklung Berlins vom vermeintlichen „Ende der Geschichte“ her: Wie ist Berlin zu dem geworden, was es heute ist? Eigens für die Ausstellung realisierte Projekte machen unterschiedliche stadträumliche Politiken und ihre Folgen für das Berlin von heute anschaulich. Sie stellen teils widersprüchliche Prozesse und Narrative dar, die sich bis heute im gebauten Berlin überlagern und verdichten. Das eine Berlin gibt es nicht, dafür viele Mythen und Imaginationen dessen, was Berlin sein soll. Die Ausstellung reflektiert die Perspektiven und Mythen der Geschichte, des Marktes und der Kreativität.

Im Rahmen eines umfangreichen Diskursprogramms sollen selektive Blicke in die Geschichte, Gegenwart und Zukunft der Stadt ausloten, wie das urbane Berlin heute zusammengesetzt ist. Politiker*innen, Architekt*innen, Stadttheoretiker*innen, Künstler*innen und Aktivist*innen diskutieren die Politiken des Raums im Neuen Berlin: Was tun gegen geschichtsvergessene Bestrebungen? In welcher Verfassung sind urbane soziale Bewegungen derzeit, wie lässt sich ihr Verhältnis zu Parteipolitik emanzipatorisch fassen? Welche Zusammenschlüsse, Planungsansätze und Architekturen werden benötigt, um ein solidarisches Berlin der Offenheit zu gestalten?


Florian Hertweck ist Architekt und Professor an der Universität Luxembourg, wo er dem Masterprogramm „Architecture, European Urbanisation and Globalisation“ vorsteht. In verschiedenen Publikationen beschäftigte er sich mit der urbanen Transformation Berlins nach 1989. 2018 kuratierte er mit Andrea Rumpf den luxemburgischen Pavillon für die Architekturbiennale in Venedig und gab in diesem Rahmen ARCH+ 231: The Property Issue – Von der Bodenfrage und neuen Gemeingütern mit heraus.

metroZones – Zentrum für städtische Angelegenheiten hat sich 2007 in Berlin als unabhängige Vereinigung für kritische Großstadtforschung gegründet. An den Schnittstellen zwischen Kunst, Wissenschaft und Politik kombiniert das Team in seinen Projekten Ansätze der Forschung und Wissensproduktion mit kulturellen und kuratorischen Praktiken sowie politischen Interventionen. Dabei arbeitet metroZones in transnationalen, disziplinüberschreitenden und institutionellen Kooperationen. Ziel ist die öffentliche Thematisierung – und Politisierung – urbaner Belange, Alltagswelten und Konflikte.

Nina Scholz lebt als Journalistin in Berlin. Sie betreut bei Deutschlandfunk und Deutschlandfunk Kultur das „Audience Development“ mit und schreibt für taz, Freitag, Frankfurter Allgemeine Sonntagszeitung, analyse & kritik und andere Medien über Digitalen Kapitalismus, Alternativen und Widerstand. 2014 erschien ihr Buch Nerds, Geeks und Piraten. Digital Natives in Kultur und Politik.

Schroeter & Berger ist ein Gestaltungsbüro, das 2005 von Maximilian Sauerbier und Sebastian Helm an der Bauhaus-Universität in Weimar gegründet wurde. In ihre Entwürfe lassen sie die Stilmittel und Gestaltungsmaximen der Moderne, des Konstruktivismus und der russischen Avantgarde, der visuellen Poesie, der Neuen Sachlichkeit sowie der klaren Typografie der Schweiz einfließen. Neben Auftragsarbeiten realisieren sie konzeptuell, interdisziplinär und crossmedial visuelle und auditive Arbeiten, die sie als gesellschaftsbezogene Vorhaben verstehen. Ihre Arbeiten werden international auf Festivals, in Radio und Fernsehen, in Museen und Galerien präsentiert.


In deutscher Sprache
Eintritt frei