Thursday, September 19, 2019, 7 pm
Mythos des Marktes (The Myth of the Market) I

Discussion with Daniela Brahm (artist, ExRotaprint, Berlin), Andrej Holm (sociologist, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin), Karin Lenhart-Roth (political scientist, Hochschule Hannover), Florine Schüschke (urban researcher, Berlin), Steffen Zillich (politician, Berlin)

How, of all places, was it possible that Berlin, the city of unlimited open spaces, came to experience an increase in rents and a shortage of affordable housing? After the fall of the Berlin Wall, the merging of the eastern and western parts of the city made spatial resources seem inexhaustible, but investor-friendly urban planning, real estate speculation and massive waves of privatization fostered an urban sell-off policy. For the present and the future, the following questions arise: How can the housing question be dealt with? How can the restored awareness of the social responsibility of property, as it is currently being discussed in politics and civil society, manifest itself?

The exhibition
1989–2019: Politics of Space in the New Berlin outlines the urbanistic and architectural development from the point of view of the supposed “end of history”: How did Berlin become what it is today? Projects realized especially for the exhibition exemplify various urbanistic policies and their consequences for today’s Berlin. They depict partly contradictory processes and narratives that to this day are superimposing and intensifying in Berlin as a constructed city. There is not only one Berlin, but many myths and ideas of what Berlin is supposed to be. The exhibition reflects the perspectives and myths of history, of the market and of creativity.

In the framework of an extensive discourse program, selective glimpses into the history, present and future of the city are supposed to sound out what the urban Berlin consists of today. Politicians, architects, urban theorists, artists and activists will be discussing the politics of space in the New Berlin: What to do about historically amnesiac ambitions? What is the current constitution of urban social movements, how can their relationship to party politics be apprehended in terms of emancipation? What kind of associations, planning approaches and architectures are needed to create a Berlin that is open and based on solidarity?


Daniela Brahm is a visual artist and a producer of usable space based in Berlin. From 1988 to 1995 she studied at Berlin University of the Arts (HdK) and has since exhibited her work in Germany and abroad. In 2004, together with the artist Les Schliesser, she initiated the project ExRotaprint on the site of the former Rotaprint factory in Berlin-Wedding. As co-founder and managing partner of ExRotaprint gGmbH, she has been part of its planning team since 2007. Brahm is active in the Stadt Neudenken (Rethink the City) initiative in Berlin and is a member of the Runder Tisch zur Neuausrichtung der Berliner Liegenschaftspolitik (Round Table for the Realignment of Berlin Real Estate Policy). In 2018/2019 she was a visiting professor for spatial strategies at Weissensee Academy of Art in Berlin.

Andrej Holm is a sociologist with a focus on urban and regional sociology and works at Humboldt University in Berlin. In numerous publications, he has addressed urban politics in neoliberalism and associated processes of revaluation and repression, a topic in which urban social movements play an elementary role. In addition to his activist and academic activities, Holm was state secretary of the Berlin Senate’s Department for Urban Development and Housing for a short time in 2016/2017, which he still advises today as a member of the advisory board for the city’s Urban Development Concept on Housing.

Karin Lenhart-Roth is a political scientist and professor at Hanover University of Applied Sciences and Arts in the Department of Social Work, where, in addition to social and human rights policy, she focuses on municipal and urban policy issues. A particular focus of her work is discrimination and inequality and approaches to political self-empowerment. She received her doctorate in 2000 from the Free University of Berlin (FU) with her dissertation on Berlin’s post-reunification urban development policy.

Florine Schüschke studied architecture at the Berlin University of the Arts (UdK). Her interest lies in the city and in the social and political conditions that enable non-profit-oriented urban development.

Steffen Zillich has been active in the German Left party (Die Linke) since 1996, and since 1991 (with some interruptions) he has been a member of the Berlin House of Representatives. In addition to the fight for civil rights and against right-wing extremism, his political focus is mainly on budgetary policy issues. Zillich is a member of the Berlin Senate’s main committee, where he continuously deals with the state’s real estate policy. Since 2015 he has also been a member of the supervisory board of the Berlin property fund.


In German
Free admission

Donnerstag, 19. September 2019, 19 Uhr
Mythos des Marktes I

Diskussion mit Daniela Brahm (Künstlerin, ExRotaprint, Berlin), Andrej Holm (Soziologe, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin), Karin Lenhart-Roth (Politikwissenschaftlerin, Hochschule Hannover), Florine Schüschke (Stadtforscherin, Berlin), Steffen Zillich (Politiker, Berlin)

Wie konnte es ausgerechnet in Berlin, der Stadt der unbegrenzten Freiräume, zu einem Anstieg von Mieten und zu einem Mangel an bezahlbarem Wohnraum kommen? Nach dem Mauerfall schien durch die Zusammenführung von Ost-und Westteil der Stadt die Raumressource unerschöpflich, doch investorenfreundliche Stadtplanung, Bodenspekulation und massive Privatisierungswellen begünstigten eine Stadtpolitik des Ausverkaufs. Für die Gegenwart und Zukunft stellen sich die Fragen: Wie lässt sich die Wohnungsfrage bearbeiten? Wie kann das erneuerte Bewusstsein für die Sozialpflichtigkeit des Eigentums, wie es aktuell in Politik und Zivilgesellschaft diskutiert wird, manifest werden?

Die Ausstellung 
1989–2019: Politik des Raums im Neuen Berlin skizziert die urbanistische und architektonische Entwicklung Berlins vom vermeintlichen „Ende der Geschichte“ her: Wie ist Berlin zu dem geworden, was es heute ist? Eigens für die Ausstellung realisierte Projekte machen unterschiedliche stadträumliche Politiken und ihre Folgen für das Berlin von heute anschaulich. Sie stellen teils widersprüchliche Prozesse und Narrative dar, die sich bis heute im gebauten Berlin überlagern und verdichten. Das eine Berlin gibt es nicht, dafür viele Mythen und Imaginationen dessen, was Berlin sein soll. Die Ausstellung reflektiert die Perspektiven und Mythen der Geschichte, des Marktes und der Kreativität.

Im Rahmen eines umfangreichen Diskursprogramms sollen selektive Blicke in die Geschichte, Gegenwart und Zukunft der Stadt ausloten, wie das urbane Berlin heute zusammengesetzt ist. Politiker*innen, Architekt*innen, Stadttheoretiker*innen, Künstler*innen und Aktivist*innen diskutieren die Politiken des Raums im Neuen Berlin: Was tun gegen geschichtsvergessene Bestrebungen? In welcher Verfassung sind urbane soziale Bewegungen derzeit, wie lässt sich ihr Verhältnis zu Parteipolitik emanzipatorisch fassen? Welche Zusammenschlüsse, Planungsansätze und Architekturen werden benötigt, um ein solidarisches Berlin der Offenheit zu gestalten?


Daniela Brahm ist bildende Künstlerin und Raumproduzentin in Berlin. 1988–1995 Studium an der Hochschule der Künste Berlin, seitdem Ausstellungstätigkeit im In- und Ausland. 2004 initiierte sie zusammen mit dem Künstler Les Schliesser das Projekt ExRotaprint auf dem Gelände der ehemaligen Rotaprint-Fabrik in Berlin-Wedding. Als Mitbegründerin und Gesellschafterin der ExRotaprint gGmbH ist sie seit 2007 Teil des dortigen Planungsteams. Brahm ist aktiv in der Initiative Stadt Neudenken und Mitglied am Runden Tisch zur Neuausrichtung der Berliner Liegenschaftspolitik. 2018/2019 ist sie Gastprofessorin für Raumstrategien an der Weißensee Kunsthochschule Berlin.

Andrej Holm ist als Soziologe mit dem Schwerpunkt Stadt- und Regionalsoziologie an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin tätig. In zahlreichen Publikationen setzt er sich mit urbanen Politiken im Neoliberalismus und den damit verbundenen Aufwertungs- und Verdrängungsprozessen auseinander. Eine elementare Rolle spielt dabei die Bezugnahme auf städtische soziale Bewegungen. Neben seinen aktivistischen und wissenschaftlichen Tätigkeiten war Holm 2016/2017 kurzzeitig Staatssekretär der Senatsverwaltung für Stadtentwicklung und Wohnen, die er heute noch als Mitglied des Begleitkreises zum Stadtentwicklungsplan Wohnen berät.

Karin Lenhart-Roth ist Politikwissenschaftlerin und Professorin an der Hochschule Hannover in der Abteilung Soziale Arbeit, wo sie sich neben Sozial- und Menschenrechtspolitik mit kommunal- und stadtpolitischen Fragen beschäftigt. Ihr besonderes Augenmerk liegt auf Diskriminierungs- und Ungleichheitsverhältnissen sowie Ansätzen zur politischen Selbstermächtigung. Sie promovierte im Jahr 2000 mit einer Dissertation zur Stadtentwicklungspolitik Berlins nach der Wende an der FU Berlin.

Florine Schüschke studierte Architektur an der Universität der Künste Berlin. Ihr Interesse gilt der Stadt und den sozialen und politischen Bedingungen, die eine profitferne Stadtentwicklung ermöglichen.

Steffen Zillich ist seit 1996 in der Partei Die Linke aktiv, seit 1991 ist er mit Unterbrechungen Mitglied des Berliner Abgeordnetenhauses. Sein politischer Schwerpunkt liegt neben dem Kampf um Bürgerrechte und gegen Rechtsextremismus vor allem im Bereich haushaltspolitischer Themen. Zillich ist Mitglied im Hauptausschuss des Berliner Senats und befasst sich dort kontinuierlich mit der Liegenschaftspolitik des Landes. Seit 2015 ist er darüber hinaus im Aufsichtsrat des Berliner Liegenschaftsfonds.


In deutscher Sprache
Eintritt frei