Sunday, August 12, 2018, 8 pm
Peaches

Peaches, 2018 © Neuer Berliner Kunstverein / Jens Ziehe
Performance

Peaches (b. 1966 in Toronto) is a feminist musician, producer, director, and performance artist living and working in Berlin. She is regarded an electropunk icon and has spent two decades forging a bold, sexually progressive path through popular culture that’s opened the doors for countless others to follow. In 2000, after moving to Berlin, she first catapulted to international stardom with her debut The Teaches of Peaches, an album which upended stereotypes and embraced taboos as it introduced the world to Peaches’ raunchily explosive persona. Four more critically acclaimed albums followed (Fatherfucker, 2003; Impeach My Bush, 2006; I Feel Cream, 2009; Rub, 2015), in addition to collaborations with Iggy Pop, Joan Jett, Josh Homme, Beth Ditto, Feist, Chilly Gonzales, Kim Gordon, Daft Punk, Jean-Michel Jarre, Yoko Ono, and others. Her music has been honored with the prestigious Polaris Heritage Prize (2015) and been featured in cultural watermarks like Lost In Translation, The Handmaid’s Tale, and Broad City.

Peaches’ solo performances as well as her worldwide tours are characterized by her extensive stage shows, in which elaborately designed costumes and props are used. In keeping with her songs and by employing acts that are as confrontational as they are glamorous, a body affirming and queer attitude is proclaimed, sexual self-determination is emphasized and social norms are questioned. An equally prolific visual and performance artist, Peaches has directed over twenty of her own videos and participated in modern art events such as the Venice Biennale. In 2010, she unveiled
Peaches Does Herself, an electro-rock opera and loosely autobiographical narrative later morphing into a film of the same title (2012). Peaches continued her foray into theater with a one-woman production of Jesus Christ Superstar, redubbed Peaches Christ Superstar, presented at HAU Hebbel am Ufer in 2010. In 2016, together with Keith Hennessy, she conceived the workshop Critical Joy at mumok – Museum of Modern Art in Vienna, from which originated a series of experimental group performances. In her performance at Neuer Berliner Kunstverein (n.b.k.), Peaches refers to the artistic work of VALIE EXPORT and her feminist exploration of body politics.

Free admission

Sonntag, 12. August 2018, 20 Uhr
Peaches

Peaches, 2018 © Neuer Berliner Kunstverein / Jens Ziehe
Performance

Peaches (*1966 in Toronto) lebt und arbeitet als feministische Musikerin, Produzentin, Regisseurin und Performancekünstlerin in Berlin. Sie gilt als Ikone des Elektropunk und beschreitet seit zwei Jahrzehnten einen mutigen, sexuell progressiven Weg durch die Populärkultur, der unzähligen Nachfolger*innen die Türen geöffnet hat. 2000 erlangte Peaches nach ihrem Umzug nach Berlin internationale Berühmtheit mit ihrem Debüt The Teaches of Peaches, einem Album, das mit Stereotypen aufräumte und Tabus brach, während es Peaches explosive Persönlichkeit präsentierte. Vier weitere von der Kritik gefeierte Alben folgten (Fatherfucker, 2003; Impeach My Bush, 2006; I Feel Cream, 2009; Rub, 2015) neben zahlreichen Kooperationen mit Stars wie Iggy Pop, Joan Jett, Josh Homme, Beth Ditto, Feist, Chilly Gonzales, Kim Gordon, Daft Punk, Jean-Michel Jarre oder Yoko Ono. Die Musik von Peaches wurde 2015 mit dem renommierten Polaris Heritage Prize ausgezeichnet und fand Eingang in beispielhafte Filmproduktionen wie Lost In Translation, The Handmaid’s Tale und Broad City.

Kennzeichnend für die Solo-Auftritte von Peaches ebenso wie für ihre Tourneen weltweit sind umfangreiche Bühnenshows, bei denen aufwendig designte Kostüme und Requisiten zum Einsatz kommen. Ihren Songs entsprechend werden hier mit ebenso kämpferischen wie glamourösen Acts eine körperbejahende und queere Haltung eingenommen, sexuelle Selbstbestimmtheit betont und gesellschaftliche Normen hinterfragt. Als eine gleichermaßen mit visuellen wie performativen Mitteln arbeitende Künstlerin hat Peaches mehr als zwanzig ihrer eigenen Videos inszeniert und an Kunstausstellungen wie der Venedig Biennale teilgenommen. Im Jahr 2010 präsentierte sie
Peaches Does Herself, eine Elektro-Rock-Oper und lose autobiografische Erzählung, die 2012 unter dem gleichen Titel verfilmt wurde. Mit ihrer auf der Rockoper Jesus Christ Superstar basierenden One-Woman-Show Peaches Christ Superstar, die 2010 im HAU Hebbel am Ufer zu sehen war, setzte Peaches ihren Vorstoß ins Theater fort. 2016 konzipierte sie gemeinsam mit Keith Hennessy am mumok – Museum moderner Kunst in Wien den Workshop Critical Joy, aus dem eine Reihe von experimentellen Gruppenperformances hervorging. Im Neuen Berliner Kunstverein (n.b.k.) präsentiert Peaches eine experimentelle Performance ihrer Arbeiten.

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung durch die Botschaft von Kanada.

Eintritt frei
Begrenztes Platzangebot – limitierter Einlass

Aus organisatorischen Gründen bleibt die Ausstellung VALIE EXPORT. Forschung – Archiv – Werk am Sonntag, den 12. August 2018, geschlossen