Saturday, August 6, 2022, 7 pm
Screening and lecture on Nan Goldin: Memory Lost, followed by a Summer Bar with ODE Aperitif

As part of the n.b.k. Billboard project Nan Goldin. The Crowd, Paternò

n.b.k. presents a screening of Nan Goldin’s digital slideshow Memory Lost (2019–2021), considered by the artist as one of her most radical and ambitious works yet. The photographs form an intense narrative, relating the darkest hours of a life dominated by drug addiction, and revealing the complexity of memory. This selection also includes the image The Crowd, Paternò (2004), which the artist specially adapted for the n.b.k. Billboard series. Accompanying it is a sound piece composed by Soundwalk Collective (Stephan Crasneanscki and Simone Merli).

Prior to the screening, the n.b.k. Billboard series and its current edition will be introduced in a tour, and Dr. Patrizia Munforte (photo historian and collection curator Fotomuseum Winterthur) will give a lecture about the work of Nan Goldin. Following the presentation of
Memory Lost, n.b.k. hosts a Summer Bar in the courtyard.

Program

7 pm
Walk and Introduction

About the n.b.k Billboard project 
Nan Goldin. The Crowd, Paternò, with Lidiya Anastasova (curator)
In German

Meeting point: Main entrance of n.b.k. (Chausseestraße 128/129, 10115 Berlin)
 
7:45 pm
Lecture

By Dr. Patrizia Munforte (historian of photography and curator of the collection at Fotomuseum Winterthur)
In German

Patrizia Munforte has been the curator of the Fotomuseum Winterthur photography collection since April 2022. She holds a PhD in the history of photography and studied art history, film studies, and contemporary German literature at the universities of Basel and Zurich. From 2008 to 2020, she was a research associate and teacher at the Center for Studies in the Theory and History of Photography, University of Zurich. She worked from 2017 to 2018 on the archival of photographic glass plates at the Swiss National Museum, Department of Historical Photography. In 2019 she moved to Fotomuseum Winterthur as a research associate, where she was responsible for the educational programs
Photographic Flux and From Print to Pixel.

8:30 pm
Screening

Nan Goldin, 
Memory Lost (2019–2021), digital slideshow, 24 min., music by Mica Levi, CJ Calderwood, and Soundwalk Collective.
 
9 pm
Summer Bar with ODE Aperitif
In the yard of n.b.k.

Samstag, 6. August 2022, 19 Uhr
Screening und Vortrag zu Nan Goldin: Memory Lost, mit anschließender Sommerbar mit ODE Aperitif

Im Rahmen des n.b.k. Billboard-Projekts Nan Goldin. The Crowd, Paternò

Der n.b.k. präsentiert ein Screening von Nan Goldins digitaler Diashow Memory Lost (2019–2021), die von der Künstlerin als eines ihrer radikalsten Werke erachtet wird. Atmosphärisch dicht bilden die Fotografien ein Narrativ über die dunkelsten Stunden eines von der Drogensucht beherrschten Lebens und über die Komplexität menschlicher Erinnerung. Diesem Werk entspringt die Arbeit The Crowd, Paternò (2004), welche die Künstlerin eigens für die Reihe n.b.k. Billboard adaptiert und mit einem Soundstück begleitet hat, das in Kollaboration mit Soundwalk Collective (Stephan Crasneanscki und Simone Merli) entstanden ist.

Vor dem Screening werden die n.b.k. Billboard-Reihe und ihre aktuelle Ausgabe in einem Rundgang vorgestellt, zudem führt Dr. Patrizia Munforte (Fotohistorikerin und Sammlungskuratorin Fotomuseum Winterthur) in das Werk von Nan Goldin ein. Im Anschluss an die Präsentation von
Memory Lost lädt der n.b.k. zur Sommerbar im Hof ein.

Programm

19 Uhr
Spaziergang und Einführung
 
Zum n.b.k. Billboard-Projekt 
Nan Goldin. The Crowd, Paternò, mit Lidiya Anastasova (Kuratorin)
In deutscher Sprache

Treffpunkt: Haupteingang n.b.k. (Chausseestraße 128/129, 10115 Berlin)
 
19:45 Uhr
Vortrag
Von Dr. Patrizia Munforte (Fotohistorikerin und Sammlungskuratorin Fotomuseum Winterthur)
In deutscher Sprache

Patrizia Munforte ist promovierte Fotohistorikerin und seit April 2022 Sammlungskuratorin am Fotomuseum Winterthur. Sie studierte Kunstgeschichte, Filmwissenschaft und Neuere Deutsche Literaturwissenschaft an den Universitäten Basel und Zürich. Von 2008 bis 2020 war sie als wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin und Dozentin am Center for Studies in the Theory and History of Photography der Universität Zürich tätig. Nachdem sie von 2017 bis 2018 an einem Inventarisierungsprojekt fotografischer Glasplatten am Schweizerischen Nationalmuseum, Abteilung Historische Fotografie, mitgearbeitet hatte, wechselte sie 2019 zum Fotomuseum Winterthur, wo sie als wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin für die Vermittlungsprojekte
Photographic Flux und From Print to Pixel verantwortlich war.
 
20:30 Uhr
Screening

Nan Goldin,
 Memory Lost (2019–2021), digitale Diashow, 24 min., Musik von Mica Levi, CJ Calderwood und Soundwalk Collective.
 
21 Uhr
Sommer-Bar mit ODE Aperitif
Im Hof des n.b.k.